IRACDA Participating Institutions

Alabama | Arizona | California | Georgia | Kansas | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | Pennsylvania | Texas | Virginia

ALABAMA

Lisa M. Schwiebert
University of Alabama at Birmingham
MCLM 955, UAB
1918 University Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35294-0005
Tel: 205-934-3970
Fax: 205-975-9028
Email: lschwieb@uab.edu
http://www.uab.edu/meritprogram/program-overview Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: Oakwood University
Coordinator: Kenneth LaiHing
Tel: 256-726-8463
Email: laihing@oakwood.edu

Partner Institution: Stillman College
Coordinator: Mary Jane Krotzer
Tel: 205-366-8929
Email: mkrotzer@stillman.edu

ARIZONA

Nicholas J. Strausfeld
University of Arizona, Tucson
Center for Insect Science
1007 E. Lowell St., Room 225
Tucson, AZ 85721-0106
Tel: 520-621-9310
Fax: 520-621-2590
Email: flybrain@neurobio.arizona.edu
http://cis.arl.arizona.edu/Pert/pert-home Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: Pima Community College
Coordinator: Hema Bandaranayake
Tel: 520-206-6682
Email: habandaranayake@pima.edu

CALIFORNIA

Michael Carey, Co-Director
University of California, Los Angeles
David Geffen School of Medicine
Department of Biological Chemistry
351A Biomedical Sciences Research Building
615 Charles E. Young Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Tel: 310-206-7859
Email: mcarey@mednet.ucla.edu

Tracy Johnson, Co-Director
University of California, Los Angeles
Department of Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology
5159 Terasaki Life Sciences Building
610 Charles E. Young Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Tel: 310-206-2416
Email: tljohnson@ucla.edu
https://ceils.ucla.edu/uplift Link to external Web site

Erin Sanders O'Leary, Coordinator
University of California, Los Angeles
Center for Education Innovation and Learning in the Sciences (CEILS)
251 Hershey Hall
612 Charles E. Young Drive South
Los Angeles, CA 90095-7246
Tel: 310-825-1783
Email: erins@ceils.ucla.edu
https://ceils.ucla.edu/uplift Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: California State University, Los Angeles
Coordinator: Katrina Yamazaki
Tel: 323-343-2086
Email: kyamaza@calstatela.edu

JoAnn Trejo
University of California, San Diego
Department of Pharmacology
9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0636
La Jolla, CA 92093-0636
Email: joanntrejo@ucsd.edu
http://iracda.ucsd.edu/SD_IRACDA.html Link to external Web site

Partner Institutions: San Diego State University and San Diego City College
Coordinator: Stacy Ochoa
Tel: 619-594-1152
Email: sochoamikrut@ucsd.edu

Holly A. Ingraham
University of California, San Francisco 
Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology 
1550 Rock Hall Room 284F
Campus Mail Box 2611
San Francisco, CA 94143-0523
Tel: 415-514-4852
Fax: 415-514-0844 
Email: holly.ingraham@ucsf.edu
http://iracda.ucsf.edu Link to external Web site

Coordinator: Anne Sufka
Tel: 415-514-9434
Email: anne.sufka@ucsf.edu

Partner Institution: San Francisco State University
Co-Director: Raymond Esquerra
Tel: 415-338-3444
Email: esquerra@sfsu.edu

Coordinator: Jennifer Breckler
Tel: 415-338-2340
Email: jbreck@sfsu.edu

GEORGIA

Douglas C. Eaton
Emory University School of Medicine
Department of Physiology
Atlanta, GA 30322-3110
Tel: 404-727-7410
Fax: 404-727-2648
Email: deaton@emory.edu
http://www.physiology.emory.edu/FIRST Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: Clark Atlanta University
Coordinator: Joann Powell
Tel: 404-880-6794
Email: jpowell@cau.edu

Partner Institution: Morehouse College
Coordinator: Duane Jackson
Tel: 404-681-7564
Email: duane.jackson@morehouse.edu

Partner Institution: Morehouse School of Medicine
Coordinator: Ward Kirlin
Tel: 404-752-1709
Email: wkirlin@msm.edu

Partner Institution: Spelman College
Coordinator: Albert Thompson
Tel: 404-270-5750
Email: athompso@spelman.edu

Co-Coordinator: Mark Lee
Tel: 404-270-5718
Email: marklee@spelman.edu

KANSAS

Roberto N. De Guzman
University of Kansas, Lawrence
Department of Molecular Biosciences
1567 Irving Hill Road
Lawrence, KS 66045
Tel: 785-864-4923
Fax: 785-864-5321
Email: rdguzman@ku.edu
https://iracda.ku.edu Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: Haskell Indian Nations University
Coordinator: Bridgett Chapin
Tel: 785-832-6696
Email: bchapin@haskell.edu

MARYLAND

Leslie Tung, Co-Director
Johns Hopkins University
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Traylor Building, Rm. 703
720 Rutland Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21205-2109
Tel: 410-955-7453
Email: ltung@jhu.edu

Sridevi V. Sarma, Co-investigator
Johns Hopkins University
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Hackerman Hall, Rm. 315
3400 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21218-2625
Tel: 410-516-4381
Email: ssarma2@johnshopkins.edu

Partner Institution: Morgan State University
Lisa D. Brown, Co-Director
Department of Biology
School of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences
1700 East Cold Spring Lane
Baltimore, MD 21251-0001
Tel: 443-885-3631
Email: lisa.brown@morgan.edu

Partner Institution: Coppin State University
Hany F. Sobhi, Co-Director
Department of Natural Sciences
2500 W. North Ave.
Baltimore, MD 21216-3698
Tel: 410-951-4113
Email: hsobhi@coppin.edu

MASSACHUSETTS

Claire Moore
Tufts University
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
136 Harrison Ave.
Boston, MA 02111
Tel: 617-636-6935
Fax: 617-636-0337
Email: claire.moore@tufts.edu

Partner Institution: Bunker Hill Community College
Coordinator: Robert Steeper
Tel: 617-228-3322
Email: rsteeper@bhcc.mass.edu

Partner Institution: Pine Manor College
Coordinator: Susan Bear
Tel: 617-731-7144
Email: bearsusan@pmc.edu
Partner Institution: University of Massachusetts, Boston
Coordinator: Brian White
Tel: 617-287-6630
Email: brian.white@umb.edu

MICHIGAN

M. Bishr Omary, Co-Director
University of Michigan Medical School
Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology
7744 Medical Sciences II
1137 E. Catherine St.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5622
Tel: 734-764-4376
Email: mbishr@umich.edu

David Sept, Co-Director
University of Michigan College of Engineering
Department of Biomedical Engineering
1101 Beal Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2110
Tel: 734-615-9587
Email: dsept@umich.edu
http://iracda.umich.edu Link to external Web site

Heather A. MacFarland, Program Administrator
University of Michigan Medical School
Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology
6811 Medical Sciences II
1137 E. Catherine St.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5622
Tel: 734-647-9393
Email: hmacfarl@med.umich.edu

Partner Institution: Henry Ford College
Coordinator: Janice Gilliland
Tel: 313-845-9740
Email: jlgilliland@hfcc.edu

Partner Institution: Wayne County Community College District
Coordinator: Curtis Greene
Tel: 313-943-4000, ext. 4092
Email: cgreene1@wcccd.edu

MINNESOTA

Carrie M. Wilmot
University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Biophysics
140 Gortner Lab of Biochemistry
1470 Gortner Ave.
St Paul, MN 55108
Tel: 612-624-2406
Fax: 612-625-5780
Email: wilmo004@umn.edu
https://cbs.umn.edu/info/postdocs/about/TREM Link to external Web site

Sarah L. Dittrich
Program Administrator
University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Biophysics
6-160 Jackson Hall
321 Church St. SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Tel: 612-625-5179
Email: sdittric@umn.edu

Partner Institution: Minneapolis College
Coordinator: Rehka Ganaganur
Tel: 612-659-6004
Email: Ganaganur.Rekha@minneapolis.edu

Partner Institution: Normandale Community College
Coordinator: Debra Carlson
Tel: 952-358-8441
Email: debra.carlson@normandale.edu

Partner Institution: North Hennepin Community College
Coordinator: Tinna Ross
Tel: 763-488-0271
Email: tross@nhcc.edu

NEW JERSEY

Martha Soto, Co-Director
Rutgers - Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
675 Hoes Lane, Room 231
Piscataway, NJ 08854-5635
Tel: 732-235-4424
Fax: 732-235-4825
Email: sotomc@rwjms.rutgers.edu
http://rwjms.umdnj.edu/research/postdoc/inspire Link to external Web site

Gary Brewer, Co-Director
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
675 Hoes Lane West, Room 736
Piscataway, NJ 08854-5635
Tel: 732-235-3473
Fax: 732-235-5223
Email: brewerga@rwjms.rutgers.edu

Partner Institution: Medgar Evers College of CUNY
Coordinator: Edward Catapane
Tel: 718-270-6203
Email: catapane@mec.cuny.edu

Partner Institution: New Jersey City University
Coordinator: Cindy Arrigo
Tel: 201-200-2341
Email: carrigo@njcu.edu

Partner Institution:  William Patterson University
Coordinator: Emily Monroe
Tel: 973-720-2792
Email: MONROEE@wpunj.edu

NEW MEXICO

Angela Wandinger-Ness
University of New Mexico
Department of Pathology
School of Medicine
MSC 08-640
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Tel: 505-272-1459
Fax: 505-272-5186
Email: wness@unm.edu
http://hsc.unm.edu/research/brep/postdoctoral/asert/index.html Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: Central New Mexico Community College
Coordinator: Clarissa Sorenson-Unruh
Email: csorensen@cnm.edu

Partner Institution: New Mexico State University
Coordinator: Susan Ceppi-Bussmann
Tel: 575-646-4820
Email: suceppib@nmsu.edu

Partner Institution: Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute
Coordinator: Christopher Harrington
Tel: 505-346-2364
Email: christopher.harringt@bie.edu

NEW YORK

Dianne Cox
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Ave.
Bronx, NY 10451
Tel: 718-430-4005
Fax: 718-430-8996
Email: dianne.cox@einstein.yu.edu
http://www.einstein.yu.edu/research/bettr-iracda Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: Hostos Community College, CUNY
Coordinator: Nelson Nunez Rodriguez
Tel: 718-518-4137
Email: nnrodriguez@hostos.cuny.edu
Partnering Institution: Lehman College
Coordinator: Stephen Redenti
Tel: 718-960-2236
Email: stephen.redenti@lehman.cuny.edu

Jorge Benach
Stony Brook University
130 Life Sciences
Stony Brook, NY 11794
Tel: 631-632-4225
Fax: 631-632-4294
Email: jorge.benach@stonybrook.edu
http://www.stonybrook.edu/commcms/iracda Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: Brooklyn College 
Coordinator: Louise Hainline
Tel: 718-951-5610
Email: louiseh@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Partner Institution: SUNY Old Westbury
Coordinator: Duncan A. Quarless, Jr.
Tel: 516-876-2734 or 2706
Email: quarlessD@oldwestbury.edu

Partner Institution: Suffolk County Community College
Coordinator:  Candice J. Foley
Tel: 631-451-4302
Email: foleyc@sunysuffolk.edu

Steve Dewhurst, Co-Director
University of Rochester
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
School of Medicine and Dentistry
601 Elmwood Ave., Box 672
Rochester, NY 14642-0672
Tel: 585-275-3216
Fax: 585-473-9573
Email: stephen_dewhurst@urmc.rochester.edu

Coordinator: Scott R. Smith
Tel: 585-475-6573 (voice to ASL interpreter only)
Email: srsnts@rit.edu
http://deafpostdoc.urmc.edu Link to external Web site

Richard Doolittle, Co-Director
Rochester Institute of Technology
College of Health Science and Technology
1 Lomb Memorial Drive
Rochester, NY 14623-5603
Tel: 585-475-5972
Fax: 585-475-4460
Email: richard.doolittle@rit.edu

Partner Institution: National Technical Institute for the Deaf
Coordinator: Scott R. Smith
Tel: 585-475-6573 (voice to ASL interpreter only)
Email: srsnts@rit.edu

NORTH CAROLINA

Linda Dykstra, Co-Director
Donald Lysle, Co-Director
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Behavioral Neuroscience Program; Department of Psychology and Neuroscience
235 E. Cameron Ave.
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3720
Tel: 919-537-3748
Email: ldykstra@unc.edu
dlysle@email.unc.edu
http://spire.unc.edu Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: North Carolina A&T State University
Coordinator: Mary Smith (Biology)
Tel: 336-285-2160
Email: smithma@ncat.edu

Partner Institution: North Carolina Central University
Coordinator: Greg Cole
Tel: 919-530-6034
Email: gcole@nccu.edu

Partner Institution: Johnson C. Smith University
Coordinator: Tim Champion
Tel: 704-378-1155
Email: tchampion@jcsu.edu

Partner Institution: University of North Carolina at Pembroke
Coordinator: Robert Poage
Tel: 910-522-5745
Email: bob.poage@uncp.edu

Allyn C. Howlett
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Department of Physiology and Pharmacology
One Medical Center Blvd.
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
Tel: 336-716-8545
Fax: 336-713-1545
Email: ahowlett@wakehealth.edu
http://www.wakehealth.edu/PhysPharm/Training-Grants/PRIME-Program/PRIME-Program.htm Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: Winston-Salem State University
School of Health Sciences
Coordinator: Teresa Conner-Kerr
Tel: 336-750-2193
Email: connerkerrt@wssu.edu

College of Arts and Sciences
Coordinator: Azeez Aileru
Tel: 336-761-5899
Email: aaileru@wssu.edu

PENNSYLVANIA

Janis K. Burkhardt
University of Pennsylvania
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
3615 Civic Center Blvd. ARC 816D
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Tel: 267-426-5410
Email: jburkhar@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/pennport Link to external Web site

JohnPatrick Rogers, Program Administrator
Tel: 215-898-3396
Email: johnpatrick.rogers@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Partner Institution: Delaware County Community College
Coordinator: Mark Schwartz
Tel: 610-355-7150
Email: mschwartz9@dccc.edu

Partner Institution: Lincoln University
Coordinator: Karen Baskerville
Tel: 484-365-7507
Email: kbaskerville@lincoln.edu

Partner Institution: Rutgers University at Camden
Coordinator: Daniel Shain
Tel: 856-225-6144
Email: dshain@camden.rutgers.edu

TEXAS

Gayle R. Slaughter
Baylor College of Medicine
Department of Cell Biology
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77030-3498
Tel: 713-798-6644
Fax: 713-798-6325
Email: gayles@bcm.edu
https://www.bcm.edu/education/schools/graduate-school-of-biomedical-sciences/programs/diversity/iracda Link to external Web site

Participating Institution: Prairie View A&M University
Coordinator: Gloria Regisford
Tel: 936-261-3165
Email: gcregisford@pvamu.edu

Participating Institution: St. Thomas University
Coordinator: John Palasota
Tel: 713-525-6918
Email: japalaso@stthom.edu

Participating Institution: University of Houston Downtown
Coordinator: Jerry Johnson
Tel: 713-221-2720
Email: johnsonj@uhd.edu

Jenny Brodbelt
University of Texas at Austin
1 University Station A5300
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Austin, TX 78712
Tel: 512-471-0028
Fax: 512-471-8696
Email: jbrodbelt@cm.utexas.edu
http://core.cm.utexas.edu Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: Southwestern University
Coordinator: Emily Niemeyer
Tel: 512-863-1721
Email: niemeyee@southwestern.edu

Partner Institution: St. Edward's University
Coordinator: Eamonn Healy
Tel: 512-448-8467
Email: healy@stedwards.edu

James D. Lechleiter, Co-Director
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Department of Cellular and Structural Biology
School of Medicine
8403 Floyd Curl Drive, Mail Code 8253
San Antonio, TX 78229-3904
Tel: 210-562-4043
Fax: 210-562-4146
Email: lechleiter@uthscsa.edu

Linda M. Mcmanus, Co-Director
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Department of Pathology
School of Medicine
7703 Floyd Curl Drive, Mail Code 7750
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
Tel: 210-567-4071
Fax: 210-567-2303
Email: mcmanus@thscsa.edu

Babatunde O. Oyajobi, Co-Director
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Department of Cellular and Structural Biology
School of Medicine
7703 Floyd Curl Drive, Mail Code 7762
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
Tel: 210-567-0909
Fax: 210-567-3803
Email: oyajobi@uthscsa.edu
https://opa.uthscsa.edu/home-saber Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: Our Lady of the Lake University
Coordinator: James S. Hall
Tel: 210-434-6711
Email: jhall@ollusa.edu

Partner Institution: St. Mary's University
Coordinator: Timothy D. Raabe
Tel: 210-431-4321
Email: traabe@stmarytx.edu

VIRGINIA

Joyce A. Lloyd, Co-Director
Virginia Commonwealth University
Department of Human and Molecular Genetics
401 College St.
Goodwin Research Lab
Richmond, VA 23298-0035
Tel: 804-628-2182
Email: joyce.lloyd@vcuhealth.org

Jerry Strauss, Co-Director
Virginia Commonwealth University
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
1101 East Marshall Street
Sanger Hall
Richmond, VA 23298-0034
Tel: 804-628-5598
Email: jerome.strauss@vcuhealth.org
https://healthdisparities.vcu.edu/researchtraining/researchtrainingprograms/postdoctoral-programs/ Link to external Web site

Partner Institution: Virginia State University
Coordinator: Leslie Whiteman
Tel: 804-524-5722
Email: lwhiteman@vsu.edu

Partner Institution: Virginia Union University
Coordinator: Anthony Madu
Tel: 804-257-5614
Email: amadu@vuu.edu