Institutional Research and Academic Career Development Awards (IRACDA) Participating Institutions

​​​​​​​

Alabama

  • University of Alabama at Birmingham

    Lisa M. Schwiebert
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    LHL G03K, UAB
    1720 @nd Ave. South
    Birmingham, AL 35294-0013
    Tel: 205-934-3970
    Fax: 205-975-9028
    Email: lschwieb@uab.edu
    http://www.uab.edu/meritprogram Link to external Web site

    Partner Institution: Lawson State Community College
    Coordinator: Tracy Wilson
    Tel: 205-929-3461
    Email: twilson@lawsonstate.edu

    Partner Institution: Oakwood University
    Coordinator: Kenneth LaiHing
    Tel: 256-726-8463
    Email: laihing@oakwood.edu

    Partner Institution: Stillman College
    Coordinator: Mary Jane Krotzer
    Tel: 205-366-8929
    Email: mkrotzer@stillman.edu

    Partner Institution: University of Montevallo
    Coordinator: Houston Byrd
    Tel: 205-665-6484
    Email: byrdh@montevallo.edu​

Arizona

California

  • University of California, Los Angeles

    Michael Carey, Ph.D.
    University of California, Los Angeles
    Professor and Vice Chair, Dept. of Biological Chemistry
    David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
    Email: mcarey@mednet.ucla.edu
    Director: JCCC Epigenomics, RNA and Gene Regulation (ERGR) program
    http://www.cancer.ucla.edu/research/research-programs/gene-regulation Link to external web site

    Gene Regulation, Epigenomics and Transcriptomics (GREaT) Home Area, Molecular Biology IDP
    http://www.generegulation.ucla.edu Link to external web site

    UCLA IRACDA Program, UPLIFT
    https://ceils.ucla.edu/uplift/ Link to external web site

    Tracy Johnson, Co-Director
    University of California, Los Angeles
    Department of Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology
    5159 Terasaki Life Sciences Building
    610 Charles E. Young Drive
    Los Angeles, CA 90095
    Tel: 310-206-2416
    Email: tljohnson@ucla.edu
    https://ceils.ucla.edu/uplift Link to external web site

    Erin Sanders O’Leary, Coordinator
    University of California, Los Angeles
    Center for Education Innovation and Learning in the Sciences (CEILS)
    251 Hershey Hall
    612 Charles E. Young Dr. South
    Los Angeles, CA 90095-7246
    Tel: 310-825-1783
    Email: erins@ceils.ucla.edu

    Partner Institution: California State University, Los Angeles
    Coordinator: Katrina Yamazaki
    Tel: 323-343-2086
    Email: kyamaza@calstatela.edu


  • University of California, San Diego

    JoAnn Trejo, Ph.D., MBA
    University of California, San Diego
    Professor and Vice Chair, Department of Pharmacology
    Assistant Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences Faculty Affairs
    9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0636
    La Jolla, CA 92093
    Tel: 858-246-0150
    Email: joanntrejo@ucsd.edu
    http://iracda.ucsd.edu Link to external web site

    Partner Institutions: San Diego State University and San Diego City College
    Coordinator: Stacy Ochoa
    Tel: 619-594-1152
    Email: sochoamikrut@ucsd.edu


  • University of California, San Francisco 

    Holly A. Ingraham
    University of California, San Francisco
    Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology
    1550 Rock Hall Room 284F
    Campus Mail Box 2611
    San Francisco, CA 94143-0523
    Tel: 415-514-4852
    Fax: 415-514-0844
    Email: holly.ingraham@ucsf.edu
    http://iracda.ucsf.edu Link to external web site

    Coordinator: Anne Sufka
    Tel: 415-514-9434
    Email: anne.sufka@ucsf.edu

    Partner Institution: San Francisco State University
    Co-Director: Raymond Esquerra
    Tel: 415-338-3444
    Email: esquerra@sfsu.edu

    Coordinator: Jennifer Breckler
    Tel: 415-338-2340
    Email: jbreck@sfsu.edu


Georgia

Kansas

  • University of Kansas, Lawrence

    Roberto N. De Guzman
    University of Kansas, Lawrence
    Department of Molecular Biosciences
    1567 Irving Hill Rd.
    Lawrence, KS 66045
    Tel: 785-864-4923
    Fax: 785-864-5321
    Email: rdguzman@ku.edu
    https://iracda.ku.edu Link to external web site

    Partner Institution: Haskell Indian Nations University
    Coordinator: Bridgett Chapin
    Tel: 785-832-6696
    Email: bchapin@haskell.edu


Maryland

  • Johns Hopkins University

    ​​

    Leslie Tung, Co-Director
    Johns Hopkins University
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Traylor Building, Rm. 703
    720 Rutland Ave.
    Baltimore, MD 21205-2109
    Tel: 410-955-7453
    Email: ltung@jhu.edu

    Sridevi V. Sarma, Co-investigator
    Johns Hopkins University
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Hackerman Hall, Rm. 315
    3400 N. Charles St.
    Baltimore, MD 21218-2625
    Tel: 410-516-4381
    Email: ssarma2@johnshopkins.edu

    Partner Institution: Morgan State University
    Lisa D. Brown, Co-Director
    Department of Biology
    School of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences
    1700 East Cold Spring Lane
    Baltimore, MD 21251-0001
    Tel: 443-885-3631
    Email: lisa.brown@morgan.edu

    Partner Institution: Coppin State University
    Hany F. Sobhi, Co-Director
    Department of Natural Sciences
    2500 W. North Ave.
    Baltimore, MD 21216-3698
    Tel: 410-951-4113
    Email: hsobhi@coppin.edu

Massachusetts

Michigan

  • University of Michigan

    David Sept, Co-Director
    University of Michigan College of Engineering
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    1101 Beal Ave.
    Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2110
    Tel: 734-615-9587
    Email: dsept@umich.edu
    http://iracda.umich.edu Link to external web site

    Susan V. Brooks, Co-Director
    University of Michigan Medical School
    Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology
    2029 Biomedical Science Research Building
    109 Zina Pitcher Pl
    Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2200
    Tel: 734-936-2147
    Email: svbrooks@umich.edu

    Heather A. MacFarland, Program Administrator
    University of Michigan Medical School
    Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology
    6811 Medical Sciences II
    1137 E. Catherine St.
    Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5622
    Tel: 734-647-9393
    Email: hmacfarl@med.umich.edu

    Patricia Metzler, Co-Program Administrator
    University of Michigan College of Engineering
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    2200 Bonisteel
    Gerstacker 1131
    Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2110
    Tel: 734-763-7540
    Email: metzlerp@umich.edu

    Partner Institution: Henry Ford College
    Coordinator: Janice Gilliland
    Tel: 313-845-9740
    Email: jlgilliland@hfcc.edu

    Partner Institution: Wayne County Community College District
    Coordinator: Curtis Greene
    Tel: 313-943-4000, ext. 4092
    Email: cgreene1@wcccd.edu


Minnesota

  • University of Minnesota Twin Cities

    Carrie M. Wilmot
    University of Minnesota Twin Cities
    Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Biophysics
    140 Gortner Lab of Biochemistry
    1470 Gortner Ave.
    St. Paul, MN 55108
    Tel: 612-624-2406
    Fax: 612-625-5780
    Email: wilmo004@umn.edu
    https://cbs.umn.edu/info/postdocs/about/TREM Link to external web site

    Sarah L. Dittrich
    Program Administrator
    University of Minnesota Twin Cities
    Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Biophysics
    6-160 Jackson Hall
    321 Church St SE
    Minneapolis, MN 55455
    Tel: 612-625-5179
    Email: sdittric@umn.edu

    Partner Institution: Minneapolis College
    Coordinator: Rehka Ganaganur
    Tel: 612-659-6004
    Email: Ganaganur.Rekha@minneapolis.edu

    Partner Institution: Normandale Community College
    Coordinator: Debra Carlson
    Tel: 952-358-8441
    Email: debra.carlson@normandale.edu

    Partner Institution: North Hennepin Community College
    Coordinator: Tinna Ross
    Tel: 763-488-0271
    Email: tross@nhcc.edu


New Jersey

  • Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

    Martha Soto, Co-Director
    Rutgers - Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
    Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
    675 Hoes Lane, Room 231
    Piscataway, NJ 08854-5635
    Tel: 732-235-4424
    Fax: 732-235-4825
    Email: sotomc@rwjms.rutgers.edu
    http://rwjms.umdnj.edu/research/postdoc/inspire Link to external web site

    Gary Brewer, Co-Director
    Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
    Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences
    Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
    Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
    675 Hoes Lane West, Room 736
    Piscataway, NJ 08854-5635
    Tel: 732-235-3473
    Fax: 732-235-5223
    Email: brewerga@rwjms.rutgers.edu

    Partner Institution: Medgar Evers College of CUNY
    Coordinator: Edward Catapane
    Tel: 718-270-6203
    Email: catapane@mec.cuny.edu

    Partner Institution: New Jersey City University
    Coordinator: Cindy Arrigo
    Tel: 201-200-2341
    Email: carrigo@njcu.edu

    Partner Institution: William Patterson University
    Coordinator: Emily Monroe
    Tel: 973-720-2792
    Email: MonroeE@wpunj.edu


New Mexico

  • University of New Mexico

    Angela Wandinger-Ness, PI and Research Director
    University of New Mexico
    Department of Pathology
    School of Medicine
    MSC 08-640
    1 University of New Mexico
    Albuquerque, NM 87131
    Tel: 505-272-1459
    Email: awandinger-ness@salud.unm.edu
    http://hsc.unm.edu/research/brep/postdoctoral/asert/index.html Link to external web site

    Sherry Rogers, Education Director
    University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
    School of Medicine
    Department of Cell Biology and Physiology
    Albuquerque NM, 87131
    Email: srogers@salud.unm.edu

    Partner Institution: Central New Mexico Community College
    Coordinator: Karen Strunk Riley
    Tel: 505-224-4000 Ext:50928
    Email: kstrunk@cnm.edu

    Partner Institution: New Mexico State University
    Coordinator: Michèle Shuster
    Tel: 575-636-3916
    Email: mshuster@nmsu.edu

    Partner Institution: Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute
    Coordinator: William Schaedla
    Tel: 505-792-4556
    Email: william.schaedla@BIE.EDU


New York

North Carolina

  • University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

    Linda Dykstra, Co-Director
    Donald Lysle, Co-Director
    University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
    Behavioral Neuroscience Program; Department of Psychology and Neuroscience
    235 E. Cameron Ave.
    Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3720
    Tel: 919-537-3748
    Email: ldykstra@unc.edu
    dlysle@email.unc.edu
    http://spire.unc.edu Link to external web site

    Partner Institution: North Carolina A&T State University
    Coordinator: Mary Smith (Biology)
    Tel: 336-285-2160
    Email: smithma@ncat.edu

    Partner Institution: North Carolina Central University
    Coordinator: Greg Cole
    Tel: 919-530-6034
    Email: gcole@nccu.edu

    Partner Institution: Johnson C. Smith University
    Coordinator: Tim Champion
    Tel: 704-378-1155
    Email: tchampion@jcsu.edu

    Partner Institution: University of North Carolina at Pembroke
    Coordinator: Robert Poage
    Tel: 910-522-5745
    Email: bob.poage@uncp.edu


  • Wake Forest University Health Sciences

    Allyn C. Howlett
    Wake Forest University Health Sciences
    Department of Physiology and Pharmacology
    One Medical Center Blvd.
    Winston-Salem, NC 27157
    Tel: 336-716-8545
    Fax: 336-716-8501
    Email: ahowlett@wakehealth.edu
    https://school.wakehealth.edu/Departments/Physiology-and-Pharmacology/PRIME-Program​ Link to external web site

    Partner Institution: Winston-Salem State University
    School of Health Sciences

    Coordinator: Judy Foxworth
    Tel: 336-750-2197
    Email: foxworthj​@wssu.edu

    College of Arts and Sciences Business and Education
    Coordinator: Jill Harp Keith
    Tel: 336-750-2213
    Email: harpj​@wssu.edu

    ​​​

Pennsylvania

Texas

  • University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

    James D. Lechleiter, Co-Director
    University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
    Department of Cellular and Structural Biology
    School of Medicine
    8403 Floyd Curl Drive, Mail Code 8253
    San Antonio, TX 78229-3904
    Tel: 210-562-4043
    Fax: 210-562-4146
    Email: lechleiter@uthscsa.edu

    Linda M. Mcmanus, Co-Director
    University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
    Department of Pathology
    School of Medicine
    7703 Floyd Curl Drive, Mail Code 7750
    San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
    Tel: 210-567-4071
    Fax: 210-567-2303
    Email: mcmanus@thscsa.edu

    Babatunde O. Oyajobi, Co-Director
    University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
    Department of Cellular and Structural Biology
    School of Medicine
    7703 Floyd Curl Drive, Mail Code 7762
    San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
    Tel: 210-567-0909
    Fax: 210-567-3803
    Email: oyajobi@uthscsa.edu
    https://opa.uthscsa.edu/saber/home Link to external web site

    Partner Institution: Our Lady of the Lake University
    Coordinator: James S. Hall
    Tel: 210-434-6711
    Email: jhall@ollusa.edu

    Partner Institution: St. Mary's University
    Coordinator: Timothy D. Raabe
    Tel: 210-431-4321
    Email: traabe@stmarytx.edu


Virginia