Institutional Research and Academic Career Development Awards (IRACDA) Participating Institutions

​​​​​​​

Alabama

  • University of Alabama at Birmingham

    Lisa M. Schwiebert
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    LHL G03K, UAB
    1720 University Blvd.
    Birmingham, AL 35294-0013
    Tel: 205-934-3970
    Fax: 205-975-9028
    Email: lschwieb@uab.edu
    http://www.uab.edu/meritprogram

    Partner Institution: Lawson State Community College
    Coordinator: Tracy Wilson
    Tel: 205-929-3461
    Email: twilson@lawsonstate.edu

    Partner Institution: Oakwood University
    Coordinator: Kenneth LaiHing
    Tel: 256-726-8463
    Email: laihing@oakwood.edu

    Partner Institution: Stillman College
    Coordinator: Moses Darpolor
    Tel: 205-349-4240
    Email: mdarpolor@stillman.edu

    Partner Institution: University of Montevallo
    Coordinator: Houston Byrd
    Tel: 205-665-6484
    Email: byrdh@montevallo.edu

California

  • University of California, Los Angeles

    Michael Carey, Co-Director
    University of California, Los Angeles
    Professor and Vice Chair
    Department of Biological Chemistry
    David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
    Tel: 310-206-7859
    Email: mcarey@mednet.ucla.edu
    https://www.biomedpostdoc.ucla.edu/pages/uplift

    Claudio Villanueva, Ph.D., Co-Director
    University of California, Los Angeles
    Associate Professor
    Department of Integrative Biology & Physiology
    UCLA College, Division of Life Sciences
    Tel: 310-825-4369
    Email: cvillanueva@ucla.edu

    Lynn Talton, Ph.D., Coordinator
    University of California, Los Angeles
    Director, Office of Postdoc Affairs in Biosciences
    Geffen Hall #300, David Geffen School of Medicine
    Tel: 310-825-1391
    Email: LTalton@mednet.ucla.edu​

    Partner Institution: California State University, Los Angeles
    Coordinator: Katrina Yamazaki
    Associate Professor
    Department of Biological Sciences
    College of Natural and Social Sciences
    ​Tel: 323-343-2086
    Email: kyamaza@calstatela.edu

  • University of California, San Diego

    JoAnn Trejo, Ph.D., MBA
    University of California, San Diego
    Professor and Vice Chair, Department of Pharmacology
    Assistant Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences Faculty Affairs
    9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0636
    La Jolla, CA 92093
    Tel: 858-246-0150
    Email: joanntrejo@ucsd.edu

    San Diego IRACDA Scholars Program: http://iracda.ucsd.edu/wordpress/
    SD IRACDA Education Coordinator: ofc-iracda-sd@health.ucsd.edu

    Partner Institutions:
    San Diego State University
    Cathie Atkins, Ph.D., Co-Director
    Associate Dean for the College of Sciences
    Email: catkins@sdsu.edu

    San Diego City College
    Randy Barnes, Ph.D., Co-Director
    Dean School of Engineering, Technologies, Mathematics, Sciences, & Nursing
    Email: rbarnes@sdccd​.edu

  • University of California, San Francisco 

    Holly A. Ingraham
    University of California, San Francisco
    Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology
    1550 Rock Hall Room 284F
    Campus Mail Box 2611
    San Francisco, CA 94143-0523
    Tel: 415-514-4852
    Fax: 415-514-0844
    Email: holly.ingraham@ucsf.edu
    http://iracda.ucsf.edu

    Coordinator: Anne Sufka
    Tel: 415-514-9434
    Email: anne.sufka@ucsf.edu

    Partner Institution: San Francisco State University
    Co-Director: Raymond Esquerra
    Tel: 415-338-3444
    Email: esquerra@sfsu.edu

    Coordinator: Jennifer Breckler
    Tel: 415-338-2340
    Email: jbreck@sfsu.edu

  • University of California, Santa Cruz

    Camilla Forsberg, co-PI
    University of California at Santa Cruz
    Co-director, Institute for the Biology of Stem Cells (IBSC)
    Professor, Department of Biomolecular Engineering
    Santa Cruz, CA 95064
    Email: cforsber@ucsc.edu
    Program Email: ibsc@ucsc.edu

    Lindsay Hinck, co-PI
    University of California at Santa Cruz
    Co-director, Institute for the Biology of Stem Cells (IBSC)
    Professor, Department of Molecular, Cell & Developmental Biology
    Santa Cruz, CA 95064
    Email: lhinck@ucsc.edu

    Catharina Casper-Lindley, program director
    University of California at Santa Cruz
    Institute for the Biology of Stem Cells (IBSC)
    Biomedical Sciences Building, Room 444
    Mail stop SOE2
    Santa Cruz, CA 95064
    Tel: 831-459-1399
    Email: lindley@ucsc.edu

    Program website: https://stemcell.soe.ucsc.edu/training/IRACDA

    Partner Institution: California State University at Monterey Bay
    Aparna Sreenivasan, co-PI
    California State University at Monterey Bay
    Associate Professor, Department of Biology and Chemistry
    Chapman Science Academic Center, E307
    100 Campus Center Drive
    Seaside, CA 93955
    Phone: (831) 582-3210
    Email: asreenivasan@csumb.edu

Georgia

Illinois

Kansas

  • University of Kansas, Lawrence

    Roberto N. De Guzman
    University of Kansas, Lawrence
    Department of Molecular Biosciences
    1567 Irving Hill Rd.
    Lawrence, KS 66045
    Tel: 785-864-4923
    Fax: 785-864-5321
    Email: rdguzman@ku.edu
    https://iracda.ku.edu

    Partner Institution: Haskell Indian Nations University
    Coordinator: Bridgett Chapin
    Tel: 785-832-6696
    Email: bchapin@haskell.edu

Maryland

  • Johns Hopkins University

    ​​

    Leslie Tung, Co-Director
    Johns Hopkins University
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Traylor Building, Rm. 703
    720 Rutland Ave.
    Baltimore, MD 21205-2109
    Tel: 410-955-7453
    Email: ltung@jhu.edu

    Sridevi V. Sarma, Co-investigator
    Johns Hopkins University
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    Hackerman Hall, Rm. 315
    3400 N. Charles St.
    Baltimore, MD 21218-2625
    Tel: 410-516-4381
    Email: ssarma2@johnshopkins.edu

    Partner Institution: Morgan State University
    Lisa D. Brown, Co-Director
    Department of Biology
    School of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences
    1700 East Cold Spring Lane
    Baltimore, MD 21251-0001
    Tel: 443-885-3631
    Email: lisa.brown@morgan.edu

    Partner Institution: Coppin State University
    Hany F. Sobhi, Co-Director
    Department of Natural Sciences
    2500 W. North Ave.
    Baltimore, MD 21216-3698
    Tel: 410-951-4113
    Email: hsobhi@coppin.edu

Massachusetts

Michigan

  • University of Michigan

    David Sept, Co-Director
    University of Michigan College of Engineering
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    1101 Beal Ave.
    Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2110
    Tel: 734-615-9587
    Email: dsept@umich.edu
    http://iracda.umich.edu

    Susan V. Brooks, Co-Director
    University of Michigan Medical School
    Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology
    2029 Biomedical Science Research Building
    109 Zina Pitcher Pl
    Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2200
    Tel: 734-936-2147
    Email: svbrooks@umich.edu

    Heather A. MacFarland, Program Administrator
    University of Michigan Medical School
    Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology
    6811 Medical Sciences II
    1137 E. Catherine St.
    Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5622
    Tel: 734-647-9393
    Email: hmacfarl@med.umich.edu

    Patricia Metzler, Co-Program Administrator
    University of Michigan College of Engineering
    Department of Biomedical Engineering
    2200 Bonisteel
    Gerstacker 1131
    Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2110
    Tel: 734-763-7540
    Email: metzlerp@umich.edu

    Partner Institution: Henry Ford College
    Coordinator: Janice Gilliland
    Tel: 313-845-9740
    Email: jlgilliland@hfcc.edu

    Partner Institution: Wayne County Community College District
    Coordinator: Curtis Greene
    Tel: 313-943-4000, ext. 4092
    Email: cgreene1@wcccd.edu

Minnesota

  • University of Minnesota Twin Cities

    Carrie M. Wilmot
    University of Minnesota Twin Cities
    Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Biophysics
    140 Gortner Lab of Biochemistry
    1470 Gortner Ave.
    St. Paul, MN 55108
    Tel: 612-624-2406
    Fax: 612-625-5780
    Email: wilmo004@umn.edu
    https://cbs.umn.edu/info/postdocs/about/TREM

    Sarah L. Dittrich
    Program Administrator
    University of Minnesota Twin Cities
    Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Biophysics
    6-160 Jackson Hall
    321 Church St SE
    Minneapolis, MN 55455
    Tel: 612-625-5179
    Email: sdittric@umn.edu

    Partner Institution: Minneapolis College
    Coordinator: Rehka Ganaganur
    Tel: 612-659-6004
    Email: Ganaganur.Rekha@minneapolis.edu

    Partner Institution: Normandale Community College
    Coordinator: Debra Carlson
    Tel: 952-358-8441
    Email: debra.carlson@normandale.edu

    Partner Institution: North Hennepin Community College
    Coordinator: Tinna Ross
    Tel: 763-488-0271
    Email: tross@nhcc.edu

New Jersey

  • Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

    Martha Soto, Co-Director
    Rutgers - Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
    Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
    675 Hoes Lane, Room 231
    Piscataway, NJ 08854-5635
    Tel: 732-235-4424
    Fax: 732-235-4825
    Email: sotomc@rwjms.rutgers.edu
    https://rwjms.rutgers.edu/research/inspire/home​

    Gary Brewer, Co-Director
    Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
    Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences
    Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
    Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
    675 Hoes Lane West, Room 736
    Piscataway, NJ 08854-5635
    Tel: 732-235-3473
    Fax: 732-235-5223
    Email: brewerga@rwjms.rutgers.edu

    Partner Institution: Medgar Evers College of CUNY
    Coordinator: Edward Catapane
    Tel: 718-270-6203
    Email: catapane@mec.cuny.edu

    Partner Institution: New Jersey City University
    Coordinator: Cindy Arrigo
    Tel: 201-200-2341
    Email: carrigo@njcu.edu

    Partner Institution: William Patterson University
    Coordinator: Emily Monroe
    Tel: 973-720-2792
    Email: MonroeE@wpunj.edu

New Mexico

  • University of New Mexico

    Angela Wandinger-Ness, PI and Research Director
    University of New Mexico
    Department of Pathology
    School of Medicine
    MSC 08-640
    1 University of New Mexico
    Albuquerque, NM 87131
    Tel: 505-272-1459
    Email: awandinger-ness@salud.unm.edu
    http://hsc.unm.edu/research/brep/postdoctoral/asert/index.html

    Sherry Rogers, Education Director
    University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
    School of Medicine
    Department of Cell Biology and Physiology
    Albuquerque NM, 87131
    Email: srogers@salud.unm.edu

    Partner Institution: Central New Mexico Community College
    Coordinator: Karen Strunk Riley
    Tel: 505-224-4000 Ext:50928
    Email: kstrunk@cnm.edu

    Partner Institution: New Mexico State University
    Coordinator: Michèle Shuster
    Tel: 575-636-3916
    Email: mshuster@nmsu.edu

    Partner Institution: Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute
    Coordinator: William Schaedla
    Tel: 505-792-4556
    Email: william.schaedla@bie.edu

New York

North Carolina

  • University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

    Linda Dykstra, Co-Director
    Donald Lysle, Co-Director
    University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
    Behavioral Neuroscience Program; Department of Psychology and Neuroscience
    235 E. Cameron Ave.
    Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3720
    Tel: 919-537-3748
    Email: ldykstra@unc.edu
    Email: dlysle@email.unc.edu
    http://spire.unc.edu

    Partner Institution: North Carolina A&T State University
    Coordinator: Mary Smith (Biology)
    Tel: 336-285-2160
    Email: smithma@ncat.edu

    Partner Institution: North Carolina Central University
    Coordinator: Greg Cole
    Tel: 919-530-6034
    Email: gcole@nccu.edu

    Partner Institution: Johnson C. Smith University
    Coordinator: Tim Champion
    Tel: 704-378-1155
    Email: tchampion@jcsu.edu

    Partner Institution: University of North Carolina at Pembroke
    Coordinator: Robert Poage
    Tel: 910-522-5745
    Email: bob.poage@uncp.edu

Pennsylvania

Texas

  • UT Health San Antonio

    James D. Lechleiter, Co-Director
    UT Health San Antonio
    Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy
    School of Medicine
    8403 Floyd Curl Drive, Mail Code 8253
    San Antonio, TX 78229-3904
    Tel: 210-562-4043
    Fax: 210-562-4146
    Email: lechleiter@uthscsa.edu

    Linda M. Mcmanus, Co-Director
    UT Health San Antonio
    Department of Pathology
    School of Medicine
    7703 Floyd Curl Drive, Mail Code 7750
    San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
    Tel: 210-567-4071
    Fax: 210-567-2303
    Email: mcmanus@thscsa.edu

    Babatunde O. Oyajobi, Co-Director
    UT Health San Antonio
    Department of Cellular and Structural Biology
    School of Medicine
    7703 Floyd Curl Drive, Mail Code 7762
    San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
    Tel: 210-567-0909
    Fax: 210-567-3803
    Email: oyajobi@uthscsa.edu
    https://www.uthscsa.edu/

    Alicia Bibbs, Program Administrator
    UT Health San Antonio
    Tel: 210-450-8041
    Email: bibbs@uthscsa.edu
    https://opa.uthscsa.edu/saber/teach

    Partner Institution: Our Lady of the Lake University
    Coordinator: James S. Hall
    Tel: 210-434-6711
    Email: jhall@ollusa.edu

    Partner Institution: St. Mary's University
    Coordinator: Ahmad Galaleldeen
    Tel: 210-436-3502
    Email: agalaleldeen@stmarytx.edu

Virginia