PREP Participating Institutions



Alabama | Arizona | California | Georgia | Iowa | Illinois | Indiana | Kansas | Louisiana | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | Ohio | Rhode Island | Pennsylvania | South Carolina | Tennessee |​ Texas | Virginia | Washington

Alabama

​Cristin Gavin, Ph.D.
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Email: dcbullard@uab.educfgavin@uab.edu
http://www.uab.edu/prep

Arizona

Margaret M. Briehl, Ph.D.
University of Arizona
Email: mmbriehl@pathology.arizona.edu
http://pathology.arizona.edu/uaprep

California

Daniel A. Starr, Ph.D.
University of California, Davis
Email: dastarr@ucdavis.edu
http://prep.ucdavis.edu

William Sullivan, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Cruz
Email: wtsulliv@ucsc.edu
http://stemdiv.ucsc.edu/prep

Georgia

S. Mark Tompkins, Ph.D.
Erin Dolan, Ph.D.
University of Georgia
Email: smt@uga.edueldolan@uga.edu
http://prep.uga.edu

Iowa

Avotunde Dokun, M.D., Ph.D., FACE
Michael Wright, Ph.D.
University of Iowa
Email: ayotunde-dokun@uiowa.edu; michael-e-wright@uiowa.edu
http://www.medicine.uiowa.edu/prep

Illinois

John Disterhoft, Ph.D.
Northwestern University
Email: jdisterhoft@northwestern.edu
http://www.nuin.northwestern.edu/postbac-program/

Nancy Schwartz, Ph.D.
University of Chicago
Email: n-schwartz@uchicago.edu
http://bsdprep.uchicago.edu

Karen Colley, Ph.D.
University of Illinois at Chicago
Email: pbrcprep@uic.edu
https://pbrc-prep.uic.edu

Indiana

Rafael E. Bahamonde, Ph.D., FACSM, FISBS
Indiana University School of Medicine
Email: rbahamon@iupui.edu
http://iprep.iupui.edu

Susan Mendrysa, Ph.D.
Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine
Email: mendrysa@purdue.edu

Kansas

V. Gustavo Blanco, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Kansas, Lawrence
Email: gblanco@kumc.edu
http://www2.ku.edu/~prep

Louisiana

Lisa M. Harrison-Bernard, Ph.D.
Louisiana State University Health New Orleans
Email: PREP@lsuhsc.edu
http://www.medschool.lsuhsc.edu/prep

Maryland

Katherine L. Wilson, Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Email: klwilson@jhmi.edu
http://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/graduateprograms/prep.cfm

Greg Carey, Ph.D.
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Email: gcarey@som.umaryland.edu
http://lifesciences.umaryland.edu/STAR-PREP

Massachusetts

Sheila M. Thomas, Ph.D.
Harvard University
Email: sthomas@fas.harvard.edu
https://gsas.harvard.edu/diversity/research-scholar-initiative

Henry H. Wortis, M.D.
Tufts University
Email: sackler-school@tufts.edu
https://sackler.tufts.edu/academics/PREP

Sandra L. Petersen, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Email: spetersen@vasci.umass.edu
https://umassprep.org/

Brian Lewis, Ph.D.
Kate Lapane, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Email: prep@umassmed.edu
https://www.umassmed.edu/gsbs/academics/prep/program-overview/

Andrew Henderson, Ph.D.
Boston University Medical Campus
Email: andrew.henderson@bmc.org
https://www.bumc.bu.edu/gms/dei/undergraduate-summer-and-youth-programs/bu-prep/​​

Michigan

William D. Atchison, Ph.D.
Michigan State University
Email: atchiso1@msu.edu

Benjamin Allen, Ph.D.
University of Michigan Medical School
Email: m-prep@umich.edu
http://www.med.umich.edu/prep

Minnesota

Jim Maher, Ph.D.
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
Email: maher@mayo.edu
http://www.mayo.edu

Missouri

John D. David, Ph.D.
University of Missouri, Columbia
Email: davidj@missouri.edu
http://www.prepscholars.missouri.edu

New Mexico

Kelly Miller, Ph.D.
University of New Mexico
Email: kbmiller@unm.edu
http://prep.unm.edu

New York

Myles Akabas, M.D., Ph.D.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Email: myles.akabas@einstein.yu.edu
http://www.einstein.yu.edu/education/phd/prep-program

Eric Sobie, Ph.D.
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Email: eric.sobie@mssm.edu
http://www.mssm.edu/gradschool/prep

Jacques Robert, Ph.D.
University of Rochester, Medical Center
Email: Jacques_robert@urmc.rochester.edu
https://www.urmc.rochester.edu/education/graduate/prep-program.aspx​

North Carolina

Jeanette Cook, Ph.D.​​​
Donita Robinson, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: prep@unc.edu
http://med.unc.edu/prep

Ohio

Paul N. MacDonald, Ph.D.
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Email: paul.macdonald@case.edu
http://case.edu/medicine/prep

Candice Askwith, Ph.D.
Ohio State University
Email: discovery.prep@osumc.edu
http://www.go.osu.edu/prep

Alison Weiss, Ph.D.
Carolyn Price, Ph.D.
University of Cincinnati
Email: weissaa@ucmail.uc.edupricecm@ucmail.uc.edu
https://med.uc.edu/education/graduate-education/PREP

Pennsylvania

Kelly Jordan-Sciutto, Ph.D.
Arnaldo J. Diaz Vazquez, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
​Email: jordank@upenn.edudiaza@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/prep

Rhode Island

Carlos Aizenman, Ph.D.
Andrew G. Campbell, Ph.D.
Medeva Ghee, Ph.D.​
Brown University
​Email: Carlos_Aizenman@brown.edu; A​ndrew_Campbell@brown.edu; Medeva_Ghee@brown.edu
https://www.brown.edu/academics/gradschool/academics-research/post-baccalaureate-research-education-program-prep

South Carolina

Bert E. Ely, Ph.D.
University of South Carolina
Email: ely@sc.edu
http://biomedical.med.sc.edu/prep1.asp

Laura M. Kasman, Ph.D.
Medical University of South Carolina
Email: Prep@musc.edu
https://education.musc.edu/colleges/graduate-studies/academics/prep

Tennessee

Joey Barnett, Ph.D.
Linda Sealy, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Email: joey.barnett@vanderbilt.edu; linda.sealy@vanderbilt.edu

Texas

Fred A. Pereira, Ph.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
Email: fpereira@bcm.edu
https://www.bcm.edu/education/schools/graduate-school-of-biomedical-sciences/programs/diversity/bcm-prep

Nicquet Blake, Ph.D.
University of Texas Health Sciences Center - San Antonio
Email: blaken@uthscsa.edu
https://www.uthscsa.edu/academics/biomedical-sciences/prep

Gracie Vargas, Ph.D.
University of Texas Medical Branch - Galveston
Email: grvargas@utmb.edu
https://gsbs.utmb.edu/prep/prep-home

Virginia

Joyce A. Lloyd, Ph.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University
Email: joyce.lloyd@vcuhealth.org
Website: https://healthdisparities.vcu.edu

Edward J. Smith, Ph.D.
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Email: esmith@vt.edu
Website: http://www.apsc.vt.edu/

Washington

Gabriele Varani, Ph.D.
University of Washington
Email: varani@chem.washington.edu
https://depts.washington.edu/uwprep