PREP Participating Institutions

Alabama | Arizona | California | Connecticut | Georgia | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Louisiana | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | Ohio | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | Tennessee | Texas | Virginia | Washington

Alabama

David A. Schneider, Ph.D.
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Email: dschneid@uab.edu
http://www.uab.edu/prep

Arizona

Margaret M. Briehl, Ph.D.
University of Arizona
Email: mmbriehl@pathology.arizona.edu
http://pathology.arizona.edu/uaprep

California

Daniel A. Starr, Ph.D.
University of California, Davis
Email: dastarr@ucdavis.edu
http://prep.ucdavis.edu

William Sullivan, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Cruz
Email: wtsulliv@ucsc.edu
http://stemdiv.ucsc.edu/prep

Connecticut

Michelle Nearon, Ph.D.
Yale University
Email: michelle.nearon@yale.edu
https://gsas.yale.edu/diversity/prospective-students/post-baccalaureate-research-education-programs

Georgia

S. Mark Tompkins, Ph.D.
University of Georgia
Email: smt@uga.edu
http://prep.uga.edu

Illinois

John Disterhoft, Ph.D.
Northwestern University
Email: jdisterhoft@northwestern.edu
http://www.nuin.northwestern.edu/postbac-program/

Nancy Schwartz, Ph.D.
University of Chicago
Email: n-schwartz@uchicago.edu
http://bsdprep.uchicago.edu

Karen Colley, Ph.D.
University of Illinois at Chicago
Email: pbrcprep@uic.edu
https://pbrc-prep.uic.edu

Indiana

Rafael E. Bahamonde, Ph.D., FACSM, FISBS
Indiana University School of Medicine
Email: rbahamon@iupui.edu
http://iprep.iupui.edu

Susan Mendrysa, Ph.D.
Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine
Email: mendrysa@purdue.edu
https://vet.purdue.edu/prep/index.php

Iowa

Avotunde Dokun, M.D., Ph.D., FACE
University of Iowa
Email: ayotunde-dokun@uiowa.edu
http://www.medicine.uiowa.edu/prep

Kansas

V. Gustavo Blanco, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Kansas, Lawrence
Email: gblanco@kumc.edu
https://prep.ku.edu/

Louisiana

Lisa M. Harrison-Bernard, Ph.D.
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
Email: lharris@lsuhsc.edu
http://www.medschool.lsuhsc.edu/prep

Maryland

Katherine L. Wilson, Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Email: klwilson@jhmi.edu
https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/som/opportunities-high-school-undergraduate-postbac-students/prep.html

Greg Carey, Ph.D.
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Email: gcarey@som.umaryland.edu
http://lifesciences.umaryland.edu/STAR-PREP

Massachusetts

Andrew Henderson, Ph.D.
Boston University Medical Campus
Email: andrew.henderson@bmc.org
https://www.bumc.bu.edu/gms/dei/undergraduate-summer-and-youth-programs/bu-prep/

Sheila M. Thomas, Ph.D.
Harvard University
Email: sthomas@fas.harvard.edu
https://gsas.harvard.edu/diversity/research-scholar-initiative

Henry H. Wortis, M.D.
Tufts University
Email: henry-wortis@tufts.edu
https://gsbs.tufts.edu/academics/PREP

Sandra L. Petersen, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Email: spetersen@vasci.umass.edu
https://umassprep.org/

Brian Lewis, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Email: brian.lewis@umassmed.edu
https://www.umassmed.edu/gsbs/academics/prep/program-overview/

Michigan

William D. Atchison, Ph.D.
Michigan State University
Email: atchiso1@msu.edu

Benjamin Allen, Ph.D.
University of Michigan at Ann Arbor
Email: benallen@umich.edu
https://medicine.umich.edu/medschool/education/non-degree-programs/postbac-research-education-program-um-prep

Minnesota

Jim Maher, Ph.D.
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
Email: maher@mayo.edu
https://college.mayo.edu/academics/biomedical-research-training/post-baccalaureate-research-education-program-prep/

Missouri

John D. David, Ph.D.
University of Missouri, Columbia
Email: davidj@missouri.edu
http://www.prepscholars.missouri.edu

New Mexico

Kelly Miller, Ph.D.
University of New Mexico
Email: kbmiller@unm.edu
http://prep.unm.edu

New York

Myles Akabas, M.D., Ph.D.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Email: myles.akabas@einstein.edu
https://www.einsteinmed.org/education/phd/prep-program/

Eric Sobie, Ph.D.
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Email: eric.sobie@mssm.edu
https://icahn.mssm.edu/education/non-degree/prep

Jacques Robert, Ph.D.
University of Rochester
Email: Jacques_robert@urmc.rochester.edu
https://www.urmc.rochester.edu/education/graduate/prep-program.aspx

North Carolina

Donita Robinson, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: donita_robinson@med.unc.edu
https://www.med.unc.edu/oge/stad/prep/

Ohio

Dana C. Crawford, Ph.D.
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Email: dana.crawford@case.edu
https://case.edu/medicine/admissions-programs/prep-postbac-phd-career-path

Candice Askwith, Ph.D.
Ohio State University
Email: askwith.1@osu.edu
http://www.go.osu.edu/prep

Teresa Reyes, Ph.D.
University of Cincinnati
Email: reyesta@ucmail.uc.edu
https://med.uc.edu/education/graduate-education/PREP

Oregon

Letisha R. Wyatt, Ph.D.
Oregon Health & Science University
Email: wyattl@ohsu.edu
https://www.ohsu.edu/postbaccalaureate-research-education-program

Pennsylvania

Kelly Jordan-Sciutto, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania
Email: jordank@upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/prep

Rhode Island

Carlos Aizenman, Ph.D.
Brown University
Email: Carlos_Aizenman@brown.edu
https://www.brown.edu/academics/gradschool/academics-research/post-baccalaureate-research-education-program-prep

South Carolina

Cynthia Wright, Ph.D.
Medical University of South Carolina
Email: wrightcf@musc.edu
https://medicine.musc.edu/diversity/pipeline-programs/prep-program

Bert E. Ely, Ph.D.
University of South Carolina
Email: ely@sc.edu
https://www.sc.edu/study/colleges_schools/medicine/education/graduate_programs/biomedical_sciences/phd_program/prep_program/index.php

Tennessee

Joey V. Barnett, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University
Email: joey.barnett@vanderbilt.edu
https://medschool.vanderbilt.edu/prep/​

Texas

Fred A. Pereira, Ph.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
Email: fpereira@bcm.edu
https://www.bcm.edu/education/graduate-school-of-biomedical-sciences/programs/diversity/postbaccalaureate-research-education-program-prep

Nicquet Blake, Ph.D.
University of Texas Health Sciences Center
Email: blaken@uthscsa.edu
https://gsbs.utmb.edu/prep/prep-home

Gracie Vargas, Ph.D.
University of Texas Medical Branch - Galveston
Email: grvargas@utmb.edu
https://www.utsystem.edu/institutions/university-of-texas-medical-branch-at-galveston

Virginia

Joyce A. Lloyd, Ph.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University
Email: joyce.lloyd@vcuhealth.org
https://healthdisparities.vcu.edu/researchtraining/post-baccalaureate-programs

Edward J. Smith, Ph.D.
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Email: esmith@vt.edu
https://prep.apsc.vt.edu/

Washington

Gabriele Varani, Ph.D.
University of Washington
Email: varani@chem.washington.edu
https://depts.washington.edu/uwprep