Skip Over Navigation Links

PREP Participating Institutions

Alabama | Arizona | California | Connecticut | Georgia | Iowa | Illinois | Indiana | Kansas | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | Ohio | Pennsylvania | South Carolina | Texas | Virginia | Washington

ALABAMA

Jeffrey A. Engler, Ph.D.
University of Alabama at Birmingham
1530 Third Ave. South 
HUC 504F 
Birmingham, AL 35294-1150
Tel: 205-934-4734 
Fax: 205-996-4409   
Email: engler@uab.edu
http://www.uab.edu/prep Link to external Web site

ARIZONA

Brenda Hogue, Ph.D.
Arizona State University
Biodesign Institute
P.O. Box 875401
Tempe, AZ 85287-5401
Tel: 480-965-9478
Email: brenda.hogue@asu.edu 
https://graduate.asu.edu/prepLink to external Web site

CALIFORNIA

William Sullivan, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Cruz
Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
317 Sinsheimer Laboratories
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95066
Tel: 831-459-4295
Email: wtsulliv@ucsc.edu
http://stemdiv.ucsc.edu/prep Link to external Web site

CONNECTICUT

Michelle D. Nearon, Ph.D.
Carl Hashimoto, Ph.D.
Yale University Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
320 York St.
New Haven, CT 06520-8236
Tel: 203-436-1301
Fax: 203-432-7765
Email: michelle.nearon@yale.edu and carl.hashimoto@yale.edu
http://gsas.yale.edu/diversity/programs/post-baccalaureate-research-education-programs Link to external Web site

GEORGIA

Julie M. Moore, Ph.D.
University of Georgia
500 DW Brooks Drive, Rm N330C
Athens, GA 30602
Tel: 706-542-5789
Fax: 706-542-3582
Email: julmoore@uga.edu
http://prep.uga.edu Link to external Web site

IOWA

Donna Hammond, Ph.D.
University of Iowa
Department of Pharmacology, Carver College of Medicine
451 Newton Road, 234 CMAB
Iowa City, IA 52242
Tel: 319-384-2952
Email: donna-hammond@uiowa.edu
http://www.medicine.uiowa.edu/prep Link to external Web site

ILLINOIS

Nancy Schwartz, Ph.D.
University of Chicago
Department of Pediatrics
5841 S. Maryland Ave., MC 5058
Room C-503
Chicago, IL 60637
Tel: 773-702-9234
Email: n-schwartz@uchicago.edu 
http://bsdprep.uchicago.edu Link to external Web site

INDIANA

David B. Burr, Ph.D., FAAA
Indiana University School of Medicine
Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, MS 5035
Indianapolis, IN 46202
Tel: 317-274-7434
Fax: 317-278-2040
Email: dburr@iupui.edu 
http://iprep.iupui.edu Link to external Web site

KANSAS

Estela Gavosto, Ph.D.
University of Kansas, Lawrence
Department of Molecular Biosciences
2045 Haworth Hall
1200 Sunnyside Ave.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7563
Tel: 785-864-7316
Email: gavosto@ku.edu 
http://www2.ku.edu/~prep Link to external Web site

MARYLAND

Katherine L. Wilson, Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Department of Cell Biology
725 N. Wolfe St., G10 WBSB
Baltimore, MD 21205
Tel: 410-955-1801
Email: klwilson@jhmi.edu 
http://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/graduateprograms/prep.cfm Link to external Web site

Eduardo Davila, Ph.D.
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
655 W. Baltimore St.
Baltimore, MD 21201
Email: EDavila@som.umaryland.edu
http://lifesciences.umaryland.edu/STAR-PREP Link to external Web site

MASSACHUSETTS

Sheila M. Thomas, Ph.D.
Harvard University
1350 Massachusetts Ave.
Suite 350
Cambridge, MA 02138
Tel: 617-495-5315
Fax: 617-495-5333
Email: sthomas@fas.harvard.edu
https://gsas.harvard.edu/diversity/research-scholar-initiative Link to external Web site

Henry H. Wortis, Ph.D.
Tufts University
Department of Pathology
136 Harrison Ave.
Boston, MA 02111
Tel: 617-636-2990
Email: sackler-school@tufts.edu
http://sackler.tufts.edu/Admissions/Apply-to-Non-Degree-Programs/Post-Baccalaureate-Internship Link to external Web site

Sandra L. Petersen, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Department of Biology
Morrill Science Center
Amherst, MA 01003-5810
Tel: 413-545-1808
Email: spetersen@vasci.umass.edu
http://www.umass.edu/prep Link to external Web site

MICHIGAN

Kate F. Barald, Ph.D.
University of Michigan Medical School
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
3053 BSRB
109 Zina Pitcher Place
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2200
Tel: 734-647-3376
Fax: 734-763-1166
Email: kfbarald@gmail.com 
http://www.med.umich.edu/prep Link to external Web site

MINNESOTA

Jim Maher, Ph.D.
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
Guggenheim 1611C
200 First St., SW
Rochester, MN 55905
Tel: 507-284-9041
Fax: 507-284-2053
Email: maher@mayo.edu
http://www.mayo.edu/mgs/programs/postbaccalaureate-research-education-program-prep Link to external Web site

MISSOURI

John D. David, Ph.D.
University of Missouri, Columbia
Department of Biological Sciences
105 Tucker Hall
Columbia, MO 65211
Tel: 573-882-0123
Email: davidj@missouri.edu 
http://www.prepscholars.missouri.edu Link to external Web site

NEW MEXICO

Richard Cripps, Ph.D.
University of New Mexico
Biology Department, College of Arts and Sciences
MSC03 2020
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Tel: 505-277-2822
Email: rcripps@unm.edu 
http://biology.unm.edu/prep Link to external Web site

NEW YORK

Myles Akabas, M.D., Ph.D.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Ave.
Bronx, NY 10461
Tel: 718-430-8693
Email: myles.akabas@einstein.yu.edu
http://www.einstein.yu.edu/education/phd/prep-program Link to external Web site

Terry A. Krulwich, Ph.D.
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Department of Pharmacology and Biological Chemistry
1 Gustave L. Levy Place
Box 1022
New York, NY 10029-6574
Tel: 212-241-7280
Email: terry.krulwich@mssm.edu
http://www.mssm.edu/gradschool/prep Link to external Web site

Edith Lord, Ph.D.
University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
601 Elmwood Ave., Box 672
Rochester, NY 14642
Tel: 585-275-5855
Email: edith_lord@urmc.rochester.edu
https://www.urmc.rochester.edu/education/graduate/prep-program.aspx Link to external Web site

NORTH  CAROLINA

Debra I. Diz, Ph.D.
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Medical Center Blvd.
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
Tel: 336-716-2150 
Email: ddiz@wakehealth.edu
http://www.wakehealth.edu/School/Hypertension-and-Vascular-Research-Center/PREP-Program/ Link to external Web site

Jeanette Cook, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Associate Dean for Graduate Education
Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics
CB #7260, 3010 Genetic Medicine Building
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7260
Tel: 919-843-7882
Fax: 919-843-6501
Email: prep@unc.edu
http://med.unc.edu/prep Link to external Web site

OHIO

Paul N. MacDonald, Ph.D.
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Office of Graduate Education
Room TG1 10900 Euclid Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44106
Tel: 216-368-5655
Email: paul.macdonald@case.edu 
http://case.edu/medicine/prep Link to external Web site

Candice Askwith, Ph.D.
Ohio State University
Integrated Biomedical Science Graduate Program
1178 Graves Hall
333 W. 10th Ave.
Columbus, OH 43210
Tel: 614-292-0857
Fax: 614-292-6226
Email: discovery.prep@osumc.edu
http://www.go.osu.edu/prep Link to external Web site

PENNSYLVANIA

Arnaldo J. Diaz Vazquez, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
Office of Research and Diversity Training
3620 Hamilton Walk RM 267
Anatomy-Chem Building
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Fax: 215-898-2671
Email: diaza@mail.med.upenn.edu
http://www.med.upenn.edu/prep Link to external Web site

SOUTH CAROLINA

Bert E. Ely, Ph.D.
University of South Carolina
Department of Biological Sciences
Coker Life Science Building 701
Columbia, SC 29208
Tel: 803-777-2768
Email: ely@sc.edu 
http://biomedical.med.sc.edu/prep1.asp Link to external Web site

Laura M. Kasman, Ph.D.
Medical University of South Carolina
68 President St., BE 101
MSC 501
Charleston, SC 29425
Tel: 843-792-8117
Fax: 843-876-2416
Email: Prep@musc.edu 
http://academicdepartments.musc.edu/grad/programs/prep Link to external Web site

TEXAS

Gayle R. Slaughter, Ph.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77030
Tel: 713-798-6644
Email: gayles@bcm.tmc.edu
http://www.bcm.edu/diversityprograms Link to external Web site

Gracie Vargas, Ph.D.
University of Texas Medical Branch
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
301 University Blvd.
Galveston, TX 77555-1019
Tel: 409-772-2324
Email: grvargas@utmb.edu
http://microbiology.utmb.edu/prep/default.asp Link to external Web site

VIRGINIA

Joyce A. Lloyd, Ph.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University
P.O. Box 980035
Richmond, VA 23298-0035
Tel: 804-628-2182
Email: jlloyd@vcu.edu
Web: http://www.healthdisparities.vcu.edu/?id=1343&sid=10 Link to external Web site

Edward J. Smith, Ph.D.
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
2250 Litton-Reaves Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Tel: 540-231-6797
Email: esmith@vt.edu
Web: http://www.vtprep.maop.vt.edu Link to external Web site

WASHINGTON

Gabriele Varani, Ph.D.
University of Washington
Seattle WA 98195-1700
Tel: 206-543-7113
Email: varani@chem.washington.edu
https://depts.washington.edu/uwprep Link to external Web site

Related Information

This page last reviewed on November 16, 2016