Mentored Career Development Awards in Clinical Research for Faculty in Areas Supported by NIGMS (K08, K23)

NIGMS offers the Mentored Clinical Scientist Development Award (K08) and the Mentored Patient-Oriented Research Career Development Award (K23) in the areas of (1) anesthesiology, (2) clinical pharmacology, (3) innate immunity and inflammation, (4) sepsis, and (5) injury and critical illness to support the development of outstanding academic physician-scientists. These awards provide support for a period of 3 to 5 years of supervised research and study to clinically trained professionals who have the commitment and potential to develop into productive, independent investigators. The awards support developmental experiences in either a laboratory or a clinical research setting.

Eligible candidates must have an M.D. degree or its equivalent (Pharm.D., D.V.M., D.O., etc.), must have completed postgraduate clinical training and have secured a faculty appointment in an appropriate research-intensive environment, must identify a mentor with extensive research experience, and must be willing to spend a minimum of 75 percent of full-time professional effort conducting research and research career development. Former principal investigators on NIH research project grants, FIRST awards, subprojects of program project or center grants or the equivalent are not eligible. Because of the focus on a progression to independence as a researcher, candidates should propose a period of development consistent with this goal and with their previous research and clinical experiences.

Applications may be submitted on behalf of candidates by domestic, public or private, non-Federal organizations. NIGMS will provide salary for the recipient at a maximum of $100,000 per year plus appropriate fringe benefits. The institution may supplement the NIGMS contribution up to a level that is consistent with the institution's salary scale; however, supplementation may not be from Federal funds unless specifically authorized. In addition, NIGMS will provide up to $50,000 per year to support tuition, fees and books related to career development; supplies, equipment, and other research expenses; travel to research meetings or training; and statistical services, including personnel and computer time. Awards are not renewable.

For more information about the Mentored Clinical Scientist Development Award (K08), see the NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts, (PA-20-203). For more information about the Mentored Patient-Oriented Research Career Development Award (K23), see the NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts (PA-20-206 - clinical trial required and PA-20-205 - clinical trial not allowed). Contact the following NIGMS staff members for more information about either award.

Dr. Zuzana Justinova

Clinical Pharmacology
Dr. Zuzana Justinova​

Innate Immunity and Inflammation
Dr. Xiaoli Zhao

Dr. Xiaoli Zhao

Injury and Critical Illness
Dr. Chris Chao​