NIGMS Awards Over $15 Million for Surveillance Studies of SARS-CoV-2 Viral Strains in Underserved U.S. Communities

Announcement Date:

The National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) has funded 21 supplements to active Institutional Development Award (IDeA, P20, P30, and U54) and Native American Research Centers for Health (​S06) grants to support surveillance studies of SARS-CoV-2 viral strains. The supplements will advance research on the emergence, evolution, and pathogenicity of SARS-CoV-2 variants circulating in the United States.

The 1-year supplements are expected to total more than $15 million. The award recipients are listed below. For more details about a specific award, search NIH RePORTER by the project number.

Institutional Development Award Supplements
  • Arkansas Children's Research Institute – Alan Tackett, P20GM121293
  • Clemson University, South Carolina – Hai Yao, P20GM121342
  • Dartmouth College, New Hampshire – Michael L. Whitfield, P20GM130454
  • Idaho Veterans & Research Education Foundation – Dennis L. Stevens, P20GM109007
  • Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center Shreveport – Christopher G. Kevil, P20GM121307
  • Montana State University - Bozeman – Brian P. Bothner, P20GM103474
  • New Mexico State University, Las Cruces – Shelley Lusetti, P20GM103451
  • Pennington Biomedical Research Center, Louisiana State University – John P. Kirwan, U54GM104940
  • University of Alaska Fairbanks – Brian M. Barnes, P20GM103395
  • University of Hawaii at Manoa – Robert Alan Nichols, P20GM103466
  • University of Idaho – Carolyn Hovde Bohach, P20GM103408
  • University of Louisville, Kentucky – Jun Yan, P20GM135004
  • University of Montana – Bruce E. Bowler, P20GM103546
  • University of Nevada, Reno – Jonathan E. Baker, P20GM103440
  • University of New Hampshire – Rick H. Cote, P20GM113131
  • University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center – Matthew J. Campen, P20GM130422
  • University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center – Judith A. James, U54GM104938
  • University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences Campus – Marcia Roxana Cruz-Correa, U54GM133807
  • University of South Dakota – Barbara Eason Goodman, P20GM103443
  • West Virginia University – Sally Lynn Hodder, U54GM104942
Native American Research Centers for Health Supplement
  • Inter Tribal Council of Arizona, Inc. – Maria Dadgar, S06GM127980


To arrange an interview with an IDeA and/or NARCH spokesperson, contact the NIGMS Communications and Public Liaison Branch at 301-496-7301 or through our contact form.