Cellular, Biochemical, and Molecular Sciences Predoctoral Research Training Program Institutions

For award period 7/1/2019 - 6/30/2020

Alabama | Arizona | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Georgia | Illinois | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | Nebraska | New York | North Carolina | Ohio | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | Tennessee | Texas | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin

Alabama

Bradley K. Yoder
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Department of Cell Biology
1530 3rd Ave. S., MCLM 688
Birmingham, AL 35294
Tel: 205-934-0994
Fax: 205-934-0950
Email: byoder@uab.edu
http://www.uab.edu/gbs

Arizona

Andrew P. Capaldi
University of Arizona
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
1007 E. Lowell
Life Sciences South 425
Tucson, AZ 85721
Tel: 520-626-9376
Fax: 520-621-3709
Email: capaldi@email.arizona.edu
http://bmcb.biology.arizona.edu

California

Paul W. Sternberg
California Institute of Technology
Department of Biology
1200 E. California Blvd.
Pasadena, CA 91125
Tel: 626-395-2181
Fax: 626-568-8012
Email: pws@caltech.edu
http://www.bbe.caltech.edu/academics/graduate-program/nih-training-grant-program

Martha S. Cyert
Stanford University
Department of Biological Sciences
371 Serra Mall
Stanford, CA 94305-5020
Tel: 650-723-9970
Fax: 650-724-9945
Email: mcyert@stanford.edu
https://biology.stanford.edu

Matthew D. Welch
University of California, Berkeley
Department of Molecular and Cell Biology
301 Life Sciences Addition
Berkeley, CA 94720-3204
Tel: 510-643-9019
Fax: 510-643-6791
Email: welch@berkeley.edu
http://mcb.berkeley.edu/grad

James S. Trimmer
University of California, Davis
Department of Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior
One Shields Ave.
Davis, CA 95616-8519
Tel: 530-754-6075
Fax: 530-752-5582
Email: jtrimmer@ucdavis.edu
https://www.ucdavis.edu/

Jorge Torres
University of California, Los Angeles
Molecular Biology Institute
607 Charles E. Young Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1570
Tel: 310-206-2092
Fax: 310-825-8088
Email: torres@chem.ucla.edu
http://cmb.mbi.ucla.edu

Randolph Y. Hampton
University of California, San Diego
Division of Biological Sciences
9500 Gilman Drive, 0347
La Jolla, CA 92093-0347
Tel: 858-822-0511
Fax: 858-534-0555
Email: rhampton@ucsd.edu
http://cmgtp.ucsd.edu

Susan Strome
University of California, Santa Cruz
Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
Tel: 831-459-4615
Fax: 831-459-3139
Email: strome@biology.ucsc.edu
http://mcd.ucsc.edu/

Colorado

Natalie G. Ahn
University of Colorado, Boulder
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
UCB 215
Boulder, CO 80309-0215
Tel: 303-492-4799
Fax: 303-492-2439
Email: natalie.ahn@colorado.edu
http://mcdb.colorado.edu

Rytis Prekeris
University of Colorado, Denver
School of Medicine
Molecular Biology Program
RC-1 South Building, Room L18-12112
12801 East 17th Ave.
Aurora, CO 80045
Tel: 303-724-3411
Fax: 303-724-3420
Email: rytis.prekeris@ucdenver.edu
http://www.ucdenver.edu/academics/colleges/medicalschool/programs/molbio

Connecticut

Susan Baserga
Yale University
Department of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry
333 Cedar St., C114 SHM
New Haven, CT 06520-8024
Tel: 203-785-4618
Fax: 203-785-6404
Email: susan.baserga@yale.edu
http://www.bbs.yale.edu

Georgia

Lawrence H. Boise
Emory University
School of Medicine
Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology
1365 Clifton Road, 1751-001-1CE
WCI Room C4012
Atlanta, GA 30322
Tel: 404-778-4724
Fax: 404-778-5530
Email: lboise@emory.edu
http://www.biomed.emory.edu/program_sites/bcdb

Illinois

Richard W. Carthew
Northwestern University
Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Cell Biology
2205 Tech Drive
Evanston, IL 60208-3500
Tel: 847-467-4891
Fax: 847-467-1380
Email: r-carthew@northwestern.edu
http://sites.northwestern.edu/cmbd

Benjamin S. Glick
University of Chicago
Cummings Life Science Center
Department of Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology
920 E. 58th St.
Chicago, IL 60637
Tel: 773-702-5315
Fax: 773-702-3172
Email: bsglick@uchicago.edu

Maryland

Rachel Green
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Professor of Molecular Biology and Genetics
725 N. Wolfe St.
705A PCTB
Baltimore, MD 21205
Tel: 410-614-4922
Fax: 410-502-7826
Email: ragreen@jhmi.edu
http://bcmb.bs.jhmi.edu

Mark B. Van Doren
Johns Hopkins University
Department of Biology
305B Mudd Hall
Baltimore, MD 21218
Tel: 410-516-4717
Email: vandoren@jhu.edu

Charles Delwiche
University of Maryland, College Park
Biosciences Research Building
4066 Campus Drive
College Park, MD 20742
Tel: 301-405-8286
Fax:301-314-9290
Email: delwiche@umd.edu
http://ansc.umd.edu/

Massachusetts

David Van Vactor
Harvard Medical School
Department of Cell Biology
240 Longwood Ave.
Boston, MA 02115
Tel: 617-432-2195
Fax: 617-432-1144
Email: davie_vanvactor@hms.harvard.edu
http://www.hms.harvard.edu/dms/bbs

Catherine G. Dulac
Harvard University
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
16 Divinity Ave., Room BL4017
Cambridge, MA 02138
Tel: 617-495-7893
Fax: 617-495-1819
Email: dulac@fas.harvard.edu
https://gsas.harvard.edu/programs-of-study/all/molecular-and-cellular-biology

Stephen P. Bell
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Department of Biology
77 Massachusetts Ave.
Building 68-630A
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307
Tel: 617-253-2054
Fax: 617-253-4043
Email: spbell@mit.edu
https://biology.mit.edu/graduate

Michigan

Robert S. Fuller
University of Michigan Medical School
Department of Biological Chemistry
5301 MSRB III
1150 W. Medical Center Drive, SPC 5606
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-0600
Tel: 734-936-9764
Fax: 734-763-4581
Email: bfuller@umich.edu
http://www.med.umich.edu/cmb

Minnesota

Rita Perlingeiro
University of Minnesota
Lillehei Heart Institute
420 Delaware Street SE
MMC 508
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Tel: 612-625-4984
Email: perli032@umn.edu
http://www.stemcell.umn.edu

Missouri

Mark Hannink
University of Missouri-Columbia
Department of Biochemistry
440E Bond Life Sciences Center
1201 Rollins St.
Columbia, MO 65211
Tel: 573-882-7971
Fax: 573-884-9395
Email: hanninkm@missouri.edu
http://biochem.missouri.edu

Heather True-Krob
Washington University
Cell Bio & Physiology Department
660 S. Euclid Ave.
St Louis, MO 63110
Tel: 314-362-3934
Fax: 314-362-7643
Email: heather.true@wustl.edu
http://dbbs.wustl.edu

Nebraska

Donald F. Becker
University of Nebraska
Department of Biochemistry
N 258 Beadle Center
1900 Vine St.
Lincoln, NE 68588
Tel: 402-472-9652
Fax: 402-472-7842
Email: dbecker3@unl.edu

New York

Charles Query
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Department of Cell Biology
1300 Morris Park Ave.
Bronx, NY 10461
Tel: 718-430-4174
Fax: 718-430-8574
Email: charles.query@einstein.yu.edu
http://www.einstein.yu.edu/education/phd

Thomas Begley
State University of New York at Albany
College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering
257 Fuller Road
NFE 4905
Albany, NY 12144
Tel: 518-437-8824
Email: tbegley@uamail.albany.edu

Alexander Gann
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
1 Bungtown Road
Cold Spring Harbor, NY 11724
Tel: 516-367-6914
Fax: 516-367-6919
Email: ganna@cshl.edu
http://gradschool.cshl.edu

Ronald K. Liem
Columbia University Health Sciences
Integrated Program in Cellular, Molecular and Biophysical Studies
630 W. 168th St.
P&S 15-421
New York, NY 10032
Tel: 212-305-4078
Fax: 212-305-5498
Email: rkl2@columbia.edu
https://gsas.columbia.edu/degree-programs

Anthony Bretscher
Cornell University
Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics
Weill Institute for Cell and Molecular Biology
257 Weill Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853
Fax: 607-255-5713
Fax: 607-255-6249
Email: apb5@cornell.edu
http://www.bmcb.cornell.edu

Susan Smith
New York University
School of Medicine
Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine
540 First Ave.
New York, NY 10016
Tel: 212-263-2540
Fax: 212-263-5711
Email: susan.smith@med.nyu.edu
http://www.med.nyu.edu/sackler

Sidney Strickland
The Rockefeller University
Lab of Neurobiology and Genetics
1230 York Ave.
New York, NY 10021
Tel: 212-327-8705
Fax: 212-327-8774
Email: strickland@mail.rockefeller.edu
http://www.rockefeller.edu

Lynne E. Maquat
University of Rochester Medical Center
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
601 Elmwood Ave., Box 712
Rochester, NY 14642
Tel: 585-273-5640
Fax: 585-275-6007
Email: lynne_maquat@urmc.rochester.edu

Anthony M. C. Brown
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Weill Cornell Research Laboratories at the NY Blood Center
310 E. 67th St., Room 3-59
New York, NY 10065
Tel: 212-734-0567
Fax: 212-249-0013
Email: amcbrown@med.cornell.edu
http://weill.cornell.edu

North Carolina

Sue Jinks-Robertson
Duke University
Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
384 Carl Building
213 Research Drive
Durham, NC 27710
Tel: 919-681-7273
Fax: 919-684-6033
Email: sue.robertson@duke.edu
http://cmb.duke.edu

Dale A. Ramsden
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
450 West Drive
32-044, Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Campus Box 7295, Mason Farm Road
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Tel: 919-966-9839
Fax: 919-966-3015
Email: dale_ramsden@med.unc.edu
http://www.med.unc.edu/

Ohio

Jeffery Coller
Case Western Reserve University
Center for RNA Molecular Biology
School of Medicine
10900 Euclid Ave., Wood W113
Cleveland, OH 44106
Tel: 216-368-0299
Fax: 216-368-2010
Email: jmc71@case.edu

Karin M. Musier-Forsyth
Ohio State University
Department of Chemistry
100 W. 18th Ave.
Columbus, OH 43210
Tel: 614-292-2021
Fax: 614-292-1685
Email: musier@chemistry.ohio-state.edu
https://cmbp.osu.edu

Oregon

Cheryl Maslen
Oregon Health and Sciences University
Department of Medicine, L465
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Road
Portland, OR 97239
Tel: 503-494-2011
Fax: 503-494-6986
Email: maslenc@ohsu.edu
http://www.ohsu.edu/xd/education/schools/school-of-medicine/departments/basic-science-departments/molecular-cellular-biosciences

Bradley Nolen
University of Oregon
Institute of Molecular Biology
1370 Franklin Blvd.
Eugene, OR 97403-1229
Tel: 541-346-7412
Fax: 541-346-5891
Email: bnolen@uoregon.edu
http://molbio.uoregon.edu/molbio-training-grant

Pennsylvania

B. Franklin Pugh
Pennsylvania State University
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Eberly College of Science
452 North Frear
University Park, PA 16802
Tel: 814-863-8252
Fax: 814-863-7024
Email: bfp2@psu.edu
https://med.psu.edu/biochemistry

Marisa S. Bartolomei
University of Pennsylvania
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
School of Medicine
360 Clinical Research Building
415 Curie Blvd.
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Tel: 215-898-9063
Fax: 215-898-9871
Email: bartolom@mail.med.upenn.edu

Rhode Island

Kimberly Mowry
Brown University
Division of Biology and Medicine
185 Meeting St.
Providence, RI 02912
Tel: 401-863-3636
Fax: 401-863-1201
Email: kimberly_mowry@brown.edu
http://www.brown.edu/Departments/Molecular_Biology/Grad_Program

South Carolina

Paula Traktman
Medical University of South Carolina
70 President Street; BE-101
Charleston, SC 29425
Tel: 843-876-2405
Email: traktman@musc.edu

Tennessee

James G. Patton
Vanderbilt University
Department of Biological Sciences
Stevenson Center 2527
1161 21st Ave. S.
Nashville, TN 37235
Tel: 615-322-4738
Fax: 615-343-6707
Email: james.g.patton@vanderbilt.edu
https://medschool.vanderbilt.edu/bret

Texas

David L. Nelson
Baylor College of Medicine
Department of Molecular and Human Genetics
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77030
Tel: 832-824-8160
Fax: 713-798-1116
Email: nelson@bcm.edu
https://www.bcm.edu/

Melanie H. Cobb
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Department of Pharmacology
5323 Harry Hines Blvd.
Dallas, TX 75390-9041
Tel: 214-645-6122
Fax: 214-645-6124
Email: melanie.cobb@utsouthwestern.edu
http://www.utsouthwestern.edu/graduateschool

Virginia

P. Todd Stukenberg
University of Virginia, Charlottesville
School of Medicine
Department of Biochemistry and Genetics
P.O. Box 800733
Charlottesville, VA 22908
Tel: 434-924-5252
Fax: 434-924-5069
Email: pts7h@virginia.edu
https://research.med.virginia.edu/cell-and-molecular-biology

Washington

David Raible
University of Washington
Department of Biological Structure
HSB G-514
Seattle, WA 98195
Tel: 206-616-1048
Fax: 206-616-3386
Email: draible@u.washington.edu

West Virginia

Michael Schaller
West Virginia University
Department of Biochemistry
Morgantown, WV 26506
Tel: 304-293-9514
Email: mschaller@hsc.wvu.edu

Wisconsin

Christina Hull
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Department of Biomolecular Chemistry
420 Henry Mall, 1135 Biochemistry
Madison, WI 53706
Tel: 608-265-5441
Fax: 608-262-5253
Email: cmhull@wisc.edu
http://www.mbtg.wisc.edu