MARC U-STAR Participating Institutions

Arizona | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Florida | Georgia | Illinois | Kansas | Louisiana | Missouri | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Puerto Rico | Rhode Island | Tennessee | Texas | Virginia | Virgin Islands

Arizona

Matthew H.J. Cordes, Ph.D.
University of Arizona
Chemistry & Biochemistry
1041 E Lowell St.
Tucson, AZ 857218
Tel: 520-626-1175
Email: cordes@email.arizona.edu
http://cbc.arizona.edu/education/undergrad/research/marc

California

Isabel C. Sumaya, Ph.D.
California State University, Bakersfield
Psychology Department
9001 Stockdale Highway
Bakersfield, CA 93311
Tel: 661-654-2381
Email: isumaya@csub.edu

Amybeth Cohen, Ph.D.
California State University, Fullerton
800 North State College Blvd.
Fullerton, CA 92834-9480
Tel: 657-278-2178
Email: acohen@fullerton.edu
http://marc.fullerton.edu

Vasanthy Narayanaswami, Ph.D.
California State University, Long Beach
1250 Bellflower Blvd.
Long Beach, CA 90840
Tel: 562-985-4953
Email: vnarayan@chori.org

Linda M. Tunstad, Ph.D.
California State University, Los Angeles
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032
Tel: 323-343-2307
Email: ltunsta@calstatela.edu
http://www.calstatela.edu/centers/moreprograms/ustar/index.htm

Maria Elena Zavala, Ph.D.
California State University, Northridge
Department of Biology
18111 Nordhoff St.
Northridge, CA 91330-8303
Tel: 818-677-4981
Email: mariaelena.zavala@csun.edu
http://www.csun.edu/~csunmore

Catherine Atkins, Ph.D.
San Diego State University
College of Sciences
5500 Campanile Drive MC 1010
San Diego, CA 92182-1010
Tel: 619-594-5732
Email: catkins@mail.sdsu.edu
http://www.sci.sdsu.edu/usp/marc

M. Raymond Esquerra, Ph.D
San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94132
Tel: 415-338-3444
Email: esquerra@sfsu.edu
http://www.sfsu.edu/~seo/pages/MARCdesc.html

Cleber Costa Ouverney, Ph.D.
San Jose State University
Department of Biological Sciences
San Jose, CA 95125
Tel: 408-924-4806
Email: cleber.ouverney@sjsu.edu
http://www.sjsu.edu/biology/special-programs/marc

Joel H. Rothman, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Barbara
Neuroscience Research Institute
3227 Cheadle Hall
3rd Floor, MC 2050
Santa Barbara, CA 93106
Tel: 805-893-7885
Email: rothman@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Aldrin V. Gomes, Ph.D.
University of California, Davis
One Shields Ave., NPB-Briggs Hall
Davis, CA 95616
Tel: 530-752-3207
Email: avgomes@ucdavis.edu

Luis M. Mota-Bravo, Ph.D.
University of California, Irvine
1106 Biological Sciences III
Irvine, CA 92697-2527
Tel: 949-824-5680
Email: lmota@uci.edu
http://port.bio.uci.edu/MARC

Megan. M. McEvoy, Ph.D
University of California, Los Angeles
Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics
Boyer Hall Rm 302
611 Charles E. Young Drive, E
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Tel: 310-825-9635
Email: McEvoy@microbio.ucla.edu
http://www.ucla.edu/

Ernest Martinez, Ph.D.
University of California, Riverside
Biochemistry Department
443 Boyce Hall
Riverside, CA 92521-0121
Tel: 951-827-2031
Email: ernest.martinez@ucr.edu

Alan M. Zahler, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Cruz
Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
Tel: 831-459-5131
Email: zahler@biology.ucsc.edu
http://stemdiv.ucsc.edu/marc

Colorado

Steven D. Fenster, Ph.D.
Fort Lewis College
Department of Biology
1000 Rim Drive
Durango, CO 81301
Tel: 970-247-7327
Email: sdfenster@fortlewis.edu

Richard Allen, Ph.D.
University of Colorado, Denver
Department of Psychology
1200 Larimer St., Campus Box 173
Denver, CO 80201
Tel: 303-556-6740
Email: richard.allen@ucdenver.edu

Connecticut

Joseph LoTurco, Ph.D.
University of Connecticut
Department of Physiology and Neurobiology
5 North Eagleville Road
Storrs, CT 06269
Tel: 860-796-2943
Email: joseph.loturco@uconn.edu

Florida

David Julian, Ph.D.
University of Florida Board of Trustees
219 Grinter Hall, PO Box 115500
Gainesville, FL 32611
Tel: 352-392-5878
Email: djulian@ufl.edu

DeEtta K. Mills, Ph.D.
Florida International University
Division of Sponsored Research and Training
11200 SW 8 St., MARC 430
Miami, FL 33199
Tel: 305-348-7410
Email: millsd@fiu.edu
http://rise.fiu.edu/marcustar

Karen S. Molek, Ph.D.
University of West Florida
Department of Chemistry
11000 University Parkway
Pensacola, FL 32514
Tel: 850-474-2799
Email: ksmolek@uwf.edu

Georgia

Kyle J. Frantz, Ph.D.
Georgia State University
Neuroscience Institute & Department of Biology
784, Parker Petit 5030
Atlanta, GA 30302
Tel: 404-413-5338
Email: kfrantz@gsu.edu

Triscia W. Hendrickson, Ph.D.
Morehouse College
830 Westview Drive, SW
Atlanta, GA 30314
Tel: 404-653-7875
Email: triscia.hendrickson@morehouse.edu

Cecil L. Jones, Ph.D.
Savannah State University
3219 College St.
Savannah, GA 31401
Tel: 912-358-4453
Email: jonesce@savstate.edu
https://www.savannahstate.edu/

Illinois

Ruth Church, Ph.D.
Northeastern Illinois University
Department of Psychology
5500 N. St. Louis Ave.
Chicago, IL 60625-4699
Tel: 773-442-5837
Email: B-Church1@neiu.edu

Kansas

Lena Hileman, Ph.D.
University of Kansas
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
1200 Sunnyside Ave.
Lawrence KS 66045
Tel: 785-864-5861
Email: lhileman@ku.edu
http://marc.ku.edu/​

Louisiana

Ruby Broadway, Ph.D.
Dillard University
School of STEM
Biology Department
2601 Gentilly Blvd.
New Orleans, LA 70122
Tel: 504-816-4725
Email: rbroadway@dillard.edu

Graca Vicente, Ph.D.
Louisiana State University
College of Science, Department of Chemistry
Chemistry and Materials Building, room 249
Highland Road
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Tel: 225-578-7405
Email: vicente@lsu.edu
https://lsu.edu/science/chemistry/marc/home.php

Missouri

Mark Hannink, Ph.D.
University of Missouri-Columbia
School of Medicine/Biochemistry Department
440 E Life Sciences Center
1201 Rollins Street
Columbia, MO 65211
Tel: 573-882-7971
Email: HanninkM@missouri.edu

James B. Skeath, Ph.D.
Washington University
Department of Genetics
4523 Clayton Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63110
Tel: 314-362-0535
Email: jskeath@genetics.wustl.edu

New Jersey

Kwangwon Lee, Ph.D.
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Department of Biology
Waterfront Technology Center, Room 510
200 Federal St.
Camden, NJ 08103
Tel: 856-225-2624
Email: kwangwon.lee@rutgers.edu

New Mexico

Graciela A. Unguez, Ph.D.
New Mexico State University
Biology
Department of Biology, Foster Hall 3AF, NMSU1
Las Cruces, NM 88003
Tel: 575-646-7963
Email: gunguez@nmsu.edu
https://marc.nmsu.edu

Cristina D. Takacs-Vesbach, Ph.D.
University of New Mexico
UNM Biology MSC03 2020
1 UNM
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Tel: 505-277-3418/3316
Email: cvesbach@unm.edu

New York

Louise Hainline, Ph.D.
Brooklyn College Research Foundation
2900 Bedford Ave.
4311 James Hall
Brooklyn, NY 11210
Tel: 718-951-5610
Email: louiseh@brooklyn.cuny.edu
http://www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/web/academics/honors-academy/programs/marc.php

Jonathan Levitt, Ph.D.
City University of New York, City College
Biology MR526
Convent Ave. at 138th St.
New York, NY 10031
Tel: 212-650-8539
Email: jlevitt@ccny.cuny.edu

Derrick Brazill, Ph.D.
City University of New York, Hunter College
695 Park Ave.
New York, NY 10065
Tel: 212-650-3144
Email: brazill@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu
http://marc.hunter.cuny.edu

Zahra Zakeri, Ph.D.
City University of New York, Queens College
Department of Biology
65-30 Kissena Blvd.
Flushing, NY 11367
Tel: 718-997-3417
Email: zahra.zakeri@qc.cuny.edu
http://www.qc.cuny.edu/academics/honors/marc

Linda Bastone, Ph.D.
Purchase College
State University of New York
School of Natural and Social Sciences
735 Anderson Hill Road
Purchase, NY 10577
Tel: 914-251-6634
Email: linda.bastone@purchase.edu

North Carolina

Hirendra N. Banerjee, Ph.D.
Elizabeth City State University, a University of North Carolina Campus
Department of Natural Sciences
Jenkins Science Center, Room 425
Campus Box 930,
1704 Weeksville Road
Elizabeth City, NC 27909
Tel: 252-335-3241
Email: bhirendranath@mail.ecsu.edu

Jorge Piedrahita, Ph.D.
North Carolina State University
College of Veterinary Medicine
2701 Sullivan Drive
Raleigh, NC 27695
Tel: 919-515-7407
Email: japiedra@ncsu.edu

Daniel J. Herr, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina Greensboro
1111 Spring Garden Street
2702 MHRA Building
Greensboro, NC 27412
Tel: 718-997-3417
Email: djherr@uncg.edu

Checo J. Rorie, Ph.D.
North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
College of Science and Technology/Biology Department
1601 East Market Street
104 Barnes Hall
Greensboro, NC 27411
Tel: 336-285-2188
Email: cjrorie@ncat.edu

North Dakota

Glenda N. Lindseth, Ph.D.
University of North Dakota
Department of Nursing, Box 9025
Grand Forks, ND 58202
Tel: 701-777-4506
Email: glenda.lindseth@und.edu

Puerto Rico

Edwin E. Traverso, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Humacao
Department of Biology
HUC Postal Station
Guaynabo, PR 00931
Tel: 787-850-9388
Email: edwin.traverso@upr.edu

Carlos Rios-Velazquez, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez
Department of Biology
P.O. Box 9000
Mayaguez, PR 00681
Tel: 787-265-3837
Email: carlos.rios5@upr.edu
http://academic.uprm.edu/marc

Nestor M. Carballeira, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
Department of Chemistry
P.O. Box 70377
San Juan, PR 00936-8377
Tel: 787-764-0000
Email: nestor.carballeira1@upr.edu
http://brtc.uprrp.edu/marc/

Rhode Island

Niall G. Howlett, Ph.D.
Department of Cell and Molecular Biology
University of Rhode Island
379 CBLS, 120 Flagg Road
Kingston, RI 02881
Tel: 401-874-4306
Email: nhowlett@uri.edu
https://web.uri.edu/marc/

Tennessee

Steven Damo, Ph.D.
Fisk University
School of Natural Sciences
1000 17th Ave. N
Nashville, TN 37208
Tel: 615-329-1917
Email: sdamo@fisk.edu

Douglas G. McMahon, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University
College of Arts & Sciences/Biological Sciences
8270A Medical Research Building III
465 21st Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37232
Tel: 615-936-3393
Email: vandyMARC@vanderbilt.edu

Margaret M. Whalen, Ph.D.
Tennessee State University
Department of Chemistry
3500 John A. Merritt Blvd.
Nashville, TN 37209
Tel: 615-963-5247
Email: mwhalen@tnstate.edu

Texas

Veronica Contreras-Shannon, Ph.D.
St. Mary's University
Department of Biological Sciences
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228
Tel: 210-431-4321
Email: vcontrerasshann@stmarytx.edu
https://www.stmarytx.edu/academics/special-programs/marc-ustar/

Keith H. Pannell, Ph.D.
University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Chemistry
Physical Science Building
El Paso, TX 79968-0513
Tel: 915-747-5796
Email: kpannell@utep.edu
http://marc.utep.edu

Edwin Barea-Rodriguez, Ph.D.
University of Texas at San Antonio
Department of Biology
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249-0600
Tel: 210-458-5842
Email: edwin.barea@utsa.edu
http://www.utsa.edu/marc

Virginia

Alvin A. Holder, Ph.D., FRSC, CChem
Old Dominion University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
4541 Hampton Boulevard
Norfolk, VA 23529
Tel: 757-683-7102
Email: aholder@odu.edu

Virgin Islands

Teresa Turner, Ph.D.
University of the Virgin Islands
2 John Brewer's Bay
St. Thomas, VI 00802-9990
Tel: 340-693-1382
Email: tturner@uvi.edu