IMSD Participating Institutions

Arkansas | California | Georgia | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Louisiana | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | New Jersey | New York | North Carolina | Rhode Island | South Carolina | Tennessee | Texas | Virginia | Wisconsin

Arkansas

Billy R. Thomas, M.D.
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Email: thomasbillyr@uams.edu
https://gradschool.uams.edu/pros-students/initiative-for-maximizing-student-development/

California

Marino De Leon, Ph.D.
Loma Linda University
Email: mdeleon@som.llu.edu
https://medicine.llu.edu/chdmm/education-and-training/phd-graduate-students

William G. Tong, Ph.D.
San Diego State University
Email: william.tong@sdsu.edu
http://www.sci.sdsu.edu/imsd

Aldrin V. Gomes, Ph.D.
University of California, Davis
Email: avgomes@ucdavis.edu
https://imsd.ucdavis.edu/

Luis Mota-Bravo, Ph.D.
University of California, Irvine
Email: lmota@uci.edu
http://port.bio.uci.edu/mbrs-imsd

Tama Hasson, Ph.D.
University of California, Los Angeles
Email: thasson@college.ucla.edu
https://crcera.ucsd.edu/training_program/initiative-for-maximizing-student-development-imsd/

Antonio De Maio, Ph.D.
University of California, San Diego
Email: ademaio@ucsd.edu
https://medschool.ucsd.edu/education/CIHED/IMSD/Pages/default.aspx

Jason K. Sello, Ph.D.
University of California, San Francisco
Email: jason.sello@ucsf.edu
https://graduate.ucsf.edu/IMSD

Melissa Jurica, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Cruz
Email:​ mjurica@ucsc.edu
https://ugr.ue.ucsc.edu/IMSD

Georgia

Anita H. Corbett, Ph.D.
Emory University School of Medicine
Email: acorbe2@emory.edu
http://imsd.emory.edu/

Kyle J. Frantz, Ph.D.
Georgia State University
Email: kfrantz@gsu.edu
https://casa.gsu.edu/initiative-for-maximizing-student-development-imsd/

Illinois

Richard McGee, Ph.D.
Northwestern University
mail: r-mcgee@northwestern.edu
https://www.northwestern.edu/climb/mission.html

Lena Al-Harthi, Ph.D.
Rush University Medical Center
Email: lalharth@rush.edu
https://www.rushu.rush.edu/graduate-college/initiative-maximize-student-development-rush-imsd

Nancy Schwartz, Ph.D.
University of Chicago
Email: n-schwartz@uchicago.edu
https://imsd.uchicago.edu/

Iowa

Lori Adams-Phillips, Ph.D.
University of Iowa
Email: lori-adams@uiowa.edu
http://iba.biology.uiowa.edu/about

Maryland

Michael F. Summers, Ph.D.
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Email: summers@hhmi.umbc.edu
https://meyerhoffgrad.umbc.edu/

Massachusetts

Rachel Skvirsky, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts, Boston
Email: rachel.skvirsky@umb.eduhttps://www.umb.edu/academics/csm/biology/beyond_the_classroom/initiative_for_maximizing_student_development

Brian Lewis, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Email: Brian.Lewis@umassmed.edu
https://www.umassmed.edu/gsbs/imsd/

Michigan

Joseph C. Dunbar, Ph.D.
Stephen M. Lanier, Ph.D.
Wayne State University
Email: ad4730@wayne.edu; stephen.lanier@wayne.edu
https://physiology.med.wayne.edu/imsd

Minnesota

Luis Lujan, Ph.D.
Mayo Clinic Rochester
Email: lujan.luis@mayo.edu
https://college.mayo.edu/academics/biomedical-research-training/phd-program/curriculum/initiative-for-maximizing-student-development-imsd/

Missouri

Mark Hannink, Ph.D.
University of Missouri, Columbia
Email: hanninkm@missouri.edu
https://medicine.missouri.edu/offices-programs/marc-imsd

James B. Skeath, Ph.D.
Washington University School of Medicine
Email: jskeath@genetics.wustl.edu
https://dbbs-wustl.university-tour.com/player/18/beyond-the-lab/imsd-initiative-for-maximizing-student-development

New Jersey

Jerome Langer, Ph.D.
Rutgers University - Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Email: langer@rwjms.rutgers.edu
https://rwjms.rutgers.edu/education/gsbs/prospective/ruufaq.html

New York

Avery August, Ph.D.
Cornell University
Email: averyaugust@cornell.edu
https://imsd.cornell.edu/home/

Margarita Dubocovich, Ph.D.
State University of New York at Buffalo
]Email: mdubo@buffalo.edu
http://www.buffalo.edu/imsd.html

John Peter Gergen, Ph.D.
State University of New York at Stony Brook
Email: john.peter.gergen@stonybrook.edu
https://www.stonybrook.edu/commcms/cie/imsd/

Ethel Cesarman, Ph.D.
Weill Cornell Medical College
Email: ecesarm@med.cornell.edu
https://gradschool.weill.cornell.edu/WCGSIMSD

North Carolina

Jeanette Cook, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Email: jean_cook@med.unc.edu
https://www.med.unc.edu/oge/stad/imsd/

Rhode Island

Andrew Campbell, Ph.D.
Brown University
Email: andrew_campbell@brown.edu
https://www.brown.edu/initiatives/maximize-student-development/home

South Carolina

Cynthia F. Wright, Ph.D.
Medical University of South Carolina
Email: wrightcf@musc.edu
https://gradstudies.musc.edu/about/diversity/initiative-for-maximizing-student-development

Tennessee

Digna Velez Edwards, Ph.D.
Linda Sealy, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University
Email: linda.sealy@vanderbilt.edu; digna.r.velez.edwards@vanderbilt.edu
https://medschool.vanderbilt.edu/imsd/

Texas

Fred A. Pereira, Ph.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
Email: fpereira@bcm.edu
https://www.bcm.edu/education/graduate-school-of-biomedical-sciences/programs/diversity/initiative-for-maximizing-student-development

Karen Butler-Purry, Ph.D.
Texas A&M University
Email: klbutler@tamu.edu
https://vpr.tamu.edu/initiate-research/lsp/limited-submission-proposal-archive/2019/initiative-for-maximizing-student-development-imsd-t32

Harlan Pierre Jones, Ph.D.
University of North Texas Health Sciences Center
Email: harlan.jones@unthsc.edu
https://www.unthsc.edu/cdip/programs/graduate-and-health-professional-student-training-programs/unthsc-imsd-program-sponsored-by-national-institute-of-general-medical-sciences-of-the-national-institutes-of-health/

Nicquet Blake, Ph.D.
University of Texas Health Science Center
Email: ​ blaken@uthscsa.edu
https://www.uthscsa.edu/academics/biomedical-sciences/programs/initiative-maximizing-student-development

Virginia

Hamid I. Akbarali, Ph.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University
Email: hiakbarali@vcu.edu
https://healthdisparities.vcu.edu/researchtraining/undergraduate-programs/imsd/

Edward J. Smith, Ph.D.
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Email: esmith@vt.edu
http://www.imsd.apsc.vt.edu

Wisconsin

Molly L. Carnes, M.D., M.S.
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Email: mlcarnes@wisc.edu
https://research.wisc.edu/nih-research-education-initiative-for-maximizing-student-development-imsd-program-r25/