IMSD Participating Institutions

Arkansas | California | Georgia | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Louisiana | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | New Jersey | New York | North Carolina | Rhode Island | South Carolina | Tennessee | Texas | Virginia | Wisconsin

Arkansas

Billy Thomas, M.D.
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Center for Diversity Affairs
4301 W. Markham, #625
Little Rock, AR 72205-7199
Tel: 501-686-7299
Email: thomasbillyr@uams.edu

California

Marino A. De Leon, Ph.D.
Loma Linda University
School of Medicine
11234 Anderson St.
Mortensen Hall, Room 132
Loma Linda, CA 92354
Tel: 909-558-8622
Email: mdeleon@som.llu.edu

William G. Tong, Ph.D.
San Diego State University
Department of Chemistry
San Diego, CA 92182-1030
Tel: 619- 594-2442
Email: william.tong@sdsu.edu
http://www.sci.sdsu.edu/imsd Link to external Web site

Aldrin V. Gomes, Ph.D.
University of California, Davis
Department of Neurobiology, Physiology, and Behavior
One Shields Ave.
NPB Briggs Hall
Davis, CA 95616-8519
Tel: 530-752-3207
Email: avgomes@ucdavis.edu

Luis Mota-Bravo, Ph.D.
University of California, Irvine
Minority Science Program
265 Steinhaus Hall
Irvine, CA 92697-2527
Tel: 949-824-5680
Email: lmota@uci.edu
http://port.bio.uci.edu/mbrs-imsd Link to external Web site

Tama Hasson, Ph.D.
University of California, Los Angeles
Department of Integrative Biology and Physiology
2121 Life Science Building
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1606
Tel: 310-825-9277
Email: thasson@college.ucla.edu

Antonio De Maio, Ph.D.
University of California, San Diego
Department of Surgery
9500 Gilman Drive, #0739
La Jolla, CA 92093
Tel: 858-822-6501
Email: ademaio@ucsd.edu

Elizabeth Watkins, Ph.D.
University of California, San Francisco
Graduate Division
1675 Owens St., Box 0523
San Francisco, CA 94143-0523
Tel: 415-476-2310
Email: elizabeth.watkins@ucsf.edu

Melissa Jurica, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Cruz
Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
Sinsheimer Laboratory
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
Tel: 831-459-4427
Email: mjurica@ucsc.edu
http://stemdiv.ucsc.edu Link to external Web site

Georgia

Anita H. Corbett, Ph.D.
Emory University School of Medicine
Department of Biology
1510 Clifton Road
4017 Rollins Research Center
Atlanta, GA 30322
Tel: 404-421-9061
Email: acorbe2@emory.edu

Kyle J. Frantz, Ph.D.
Georgia State University
Professor, Neuroscience Institute & Department of Biology
784, Parker Petit 5030
Atlanta, GA 30302
Tel: 404-413-5338
Email: kfrantz@gsu.edu

Illinois

Rick McGee, Ph.D.
Northwestern University
The Feinberg School of Medicine
440 East Superior, Rubloff 12
Chicago, IL 60611
Tel: 312-503-1737
Email: r-mcgee@northwestern.edu
http://www.northwestern.edu/climb Link to external Web site

Lena Al-Harthi, Ph.D.
Rush University Medical Center
Department of Immunology-Microbiology
1735 W. Harrison St.
Cohn Research Building
Room 614
Chicago, IL 60612
Tel: 312-563-3220
Email: lalharth@rush.edu

Nancy Schwartz, Ph.D.
University of Chicago
AMB C519, (MC 5058)
5841 S. Maryland Ave
Chicago, IL 60637
Tel: 773-702-6426
Email: n-schwartz@uchicago.edu

Iowa

Jeffrey C. Murray, M.D.
University of Iowa
Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Genetics
203 Van Allen Hall
Iowa City, IA 52242
Tel: 319-335-6897
Email: jeff-murray@uiowa.edu
http://iba.biology.uiowa.edu Link to external Web site

Kansas

Estela Gavosto, Ph.D.
University of Kansas, Lawrence
Division of Molecular Biosciences
2045 Haworth Hall
Lawrence, KS 66045
Tel: 785-864-3859
Email: gavosto@ku.edu
http://imsd.ku.edu/ Link to external Web site

Louisiana

Maria Da Graca Vicente, Ph.D.
Louisiana State University
A&M College Baton Rouge
Department of Chemistry
232 Choppin Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Tel: 225-578-7405
Email: vicente@lsu.edu

Maryland

Michael F. Summers, Ph.D.
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
1000 Hilltop Circle
Baltimore, MD 21250
Tel: 410-455-2527
Email: summers@hhmi.umbc.edu

Massachusetts

Rachel Skvirsky, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts, Boston
Department of Biology
100 Morrissey Blvd.
Boston, MA 02125-3393
Tel: 617-287-6617
Email: rachel.skvirsky@umb.edu

Brian Lewis, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts Medical School
364 Plantation St., LRB 521
Worcester, MA 01605
Tel: 508-856-4325
Email: Brian.Lewis@umassmed.edu

Michigan

Joseph C. Dunbar, Ph.D.
Wayne State University
Department of Physiology
540 E. Canfield
Detroit, MI 48201-1928
Tel: 313-577-1520
Email: jdunbar@med.wayne.edu

Minnesota

Louis J. Maher, Ph.D.
Mayo Clinic Rochester
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
200 First St. SW
Rochester, MN 55905
Tel: 507-284-9041
Email: maher.james@mayo.edu

Missouri

Mark Hannink, Ph.D.
University of Missouri, Columbia
Life Science Center, Room 440E
1201 Rollins St.
Columbia, MO 65211
Tel: 573-882-7971
Email: hanninkm@missouri.edu

James B. Skeath, Ph.D.
Washington University School of Medicine
Scott McKinley Research Building
4523 Clayton Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63110
Tel: 314-362-0535
Email: jskeath@genetics.wustl.edu

New Jersey

Barry Komisaruk, Ph.D.
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey at Newark
Graduate School
360 Dr. Martin L. King, Jr. Blvd.
Hill Hall, Room 404
Newark, NJ 07102
Tel: 973-353-5834
Email: brk@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Jerome Langer, Ph.D.
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Department of Pharmacology
675 Hoes Lane West
Piscataway, NJ 08854
Tel: 732-235-5224
Email: langer@rwjms.rutgers.edu

New York

Gina M. Wingood, Ph.D.
Columbia University
Mailman School of Public Health/Sociomedical Sciences
722 West 168th St.
New York, NY 10032
Tel: 212-305-1859
Email: gw2326@cumc.columbia.edu

Avery August, Ph.D.
Cornell University
Department of Microbiology & Immunology
VMC C5117
930 Campus Road
Ithaca, NY 14583
Tel: 607-253-4045
Email: averyaugust@cornell.edu

Peter Gergen, Ph.D.
Stony Brook University
Department of Biochemistry and Cell Biology
Stony Brook, NY 11794-5215
Tel: 631-632-9030
Email: john.peter.gergen@stonybrook.edu

Margarita Dubocovich, Ph.D.
University of Buffalo
Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
3435 Main St.
102 Farber Hall
Buffalo, NY 14214
Tel: 716-829-3048
Email: mdubo@buffalo.edu

David J. Christini, Ph.D.
Weill Cornell Medical College
413 E. 69th St., Box 190
New York, NY 10021
Tel: 646-962-8492
Email: dchristi@med.cornell.edu

North Carolina

Jean Cook, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
514 MEJ Building, CB 7260
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Tel: 919-843-3867
Email: jean_cook@med.unc.edu
http://www.med.unc.edu/imsd Link to external Web site

Rhode Island

Andrew Campbell, Ph.D.
Brown University
P.O. Box G
A-126 97 Waterman St.
Providence, RI 02912
Tel: 401-863-3281
Email: andrew_campbell@brown.edu
https://www.brown.edu/ Link to external Web site

South Carolina

Cynthia F. Wright, Ph.D.
Medical University of South Carolina
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
173 Ashley Ave., 102 BSB
MSC 501
Charleston, SC 29425
Tel: 843-792-2564
Email: wrightcf@musc.edu
https://education.musc.edu/ Link to external Web site

Tennessee

Gladys Alexandre, Ph.D.
University of Tennessee
Department of Biochemistry and Cellular and Molecular Biology
M401 Walters Life Sciences Building
Knoxville, TN 37996
Tel: 865-974-0866
Email: galexan2@utk.edu
http://peer.utk.edu Link to external Web site

Linda Sealy, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University
Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
710B Light Hall
Nashville, TN 37232-0301
Tel: 615-322-3224
Email: linda.sealy@vanderbilt.edu

Texas

Fred A. Pereira, Ph.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77030
Tel: 713-798-6933
Email: fpereira@bcm.edu
https://www.bcm.edu/ Link to external Web site

Nicquet Blake, Ph.D.
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
7703 Floyd Curl Drive
MSC 7819
San Antonio, TX 78229
Tel: 210-567-3722
Email: blaken@uthscsa.edu

Johnny J. He, Ph.D.
University of North Texas Health Sciences Center
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
3400 Camp Bowie Blvd., CBH-340
Fort Worth, TX 76107
Tel: 817-735-0224
Email: johnny.he@unthsc.edu

Virginia

Hamid I. Akbarali, Ph.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University
Department of Pharmacology
School of Medicine
1112 E. Clay St.
PO Box 980524
Richmond, VA 23298
Tel: 804-828-9688
Email: hiakbarali@vcu.edu

Edward J. Smith, Ph.D.
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Comparative Genomica Lab
Department of Animal and Poultry Sciences
2250 Litton-Reaves Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Tel: 540-231-6797
Email: esmith@vt.edu
http://www.imsd.apsc.vt.edu Link to external Web site

Wisconsin

Mary L. Carnes, M.D., M.S.
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Center for Women's Health Research
Department of Medicine
700 Regent St., Suite 301
Madison, WI 53715-1507
Tel: 608-263-9770
Email: mlcarnes@wisc.edu