NIGMS-Sponsored 50th Anniversary Poster Awards


NIGMS-supported undergraduate, graduate, postdoctoral and early career scientists present their work at a wide variety of scientific meetings. As part of the Institute's 50th anniversary activities at a number of these meetings, staff members selected the following posters for special recognition.

American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Landry Kamdem, Harding University

Landry Kamdem, Pharm.D., Ph.D., assistant professor
Harding University

"The Impact of UGT2B17 Genetic Polymorphisms on the Disposition and Action of Exemestane in Healthy Volunteers"

Laura J. Wozniak, University of California, Los Angeles

Laura J. Wozniak, M.D., clinical scientist
University of California, Los Angeles

"Development of Immune Profiles as Tools for Individualization of Immunosuppression in Pediatric Live Transplant Recipients"

Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students

Brittany Barfield, San Diego State University

Brittany Barfield, undergraduate student
San Diego State University

"Fast Method for the Determination of Regioselectivities via 11B NMR"

Orrianne Morrison, Spelman College

Orrianne Morrison, undergraduate student
Spelman College

"Modulation of Uterine Artery Endothelial Cell Proliferation During Pregnancy via Endogenously Produced Catecholamines"

Theodor Uzamere, Morehouse College

Theodor Uzamere, undergraduate student
Morehouse College

"Modeling KRAS Inhibition in Lung Cancer Using RNAi"

Biophysical Society

Thomas Chew, University of California, San Diego

Thomas Chew, undergraduate student
University of California, San Diego

"Structural Investigations of CLC-ec1, A Large Integral Membrane Protein, Using Solution-State NMR and Nanodisc Technology"

Biophysics Society blog posting on meeting by Thomas ChewLink to external Web site

RNA Society

Catey Dominguez, Ohio State University

Catey Dominguez, graduate student
Ohio State University

"Modifiers of SMN Splicing in Spinal Muscular Atrophy"

Prashanthi Natarajan, University of California, San Francisco

Prashanthi Natarajan, graduate student
University of California, San Francisco

"An Argonaute-Interacting GW Protein Directs Transposon Silencing in the Pathogenic Fungus, Cryptococcus neoformans"

Society for Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science

Caryn Peeples, Old Dominion University

Caryn Peeples, undergraduate student
Old Dominion University

"Molecular Design, Synthesis, and Characterization of Thiophene-Based Organic Π-Conjugated Semiconducting Polymers"

Amy Stiffarm, Salish Kootenai College

Amy Stiffarm
Salish Kootenai College

"PCR to Distinguish Diploid and Triploid Forms of Butomus umbellatus"

Society for Developmental Biology

Corinne Fairchild, University of Minnesota

Corinne Fairchild, graduate student
University of Minnesota

"Tetraspanin18 Restricts Neural Crest Migration by Stabilizing Epithelial Cadherin6B"

David Q. Matus, Duke University

David Q. Matus, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow
Duke University

"Cell Cycle Exit is Required for Cell Invasive Behavior"

The Institute also recognizes two NIGMS-supported posters selected by the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics from the award winners at its annual meeting.

American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics

Kelly M. Clapp, University of Michigan Medical School

Kelly M. Clapp, graduate student
University of Michigan Medical School

"Ubiquitination of Neuronal Nitric Oxide Synthase in the P450 Oxygenase and Calmodulin-binding Domain"

Joanne L. Peterson, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

Joanne L. Peterson, graduate student
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

"The Molecular Mechanism of Betacellulin Induced Corneal Epithelial Wound Healing"