Skip Over Navigation Links

Awarded NARCH Recipients

NARCH VIII Programs [PDF, 0.9MB]

NARCH VII Programs [PDF, .5MB]

NARCH V and VI Programs [PDF, 1.5MB]

NARCH Centers (NARCH III & IV), Web Sites and Projects Funding Partner Principal Investigator & Contact Information
1) Albuquerque Area Indian Health Board Link to external Web site Mariana Kennedy
5015 Prospect Avenue N.E.
Albequerque, NM 87110
Tel: 505-764-0036 x107
Email: mkennedy@aaihb.org
Listening to Each Other-Substance Abuse Intervention NIDA
Tribal Cancer Control Project NCI
Juvenile Justice Program: Incarcerated Youth at Risk NIGMS
Student Development Project NIGMS
Community Based Participatory Research NIMHD
2) White Mountain Apache Tribe Link to external Web site
or
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health - Center for American Indian Health Link to external Web site
NIMHD Mariddie J. Craig
Tel: 928-521-2230
E-mail: mariddiec@wmat.nsn.us
or
Allison Barlow
Tel: 410-614-2072
E-mail: Abarlow@jhsph.edu

Center for American Indian Health
621 N. Washington Street
Baltimore, MD 21205
Youth Suicide Prevention Using Community-Based, Participatory Research ORWH
Prevention of Pneumococcal Spread Within Apache Families NIAID
Student and Faculty Development Projects NIGMS
3) Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium (ANTHC) Link to external Web site Anne P. Lanier
4000 Ambassador Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508
Tel: 907-729-3663
E-mail: aplanier@anthc.org

or

Deborah Brollini
4000 Ambassador Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508
Tel: 907-729-2918
E-mail: dbrollini@anthc.org
Autoimmune Liver Disease in Alaska Natives NIAID
Nicotine Exposure and Metabolism in Alaska Natives NIDA
Tobacco-Free Alaska Native Families NIGMS
Bronchiectasis Observational Study in Alaska Native Children NHLBI
Prenatal Alcohol Exposure Among Al/AN Infants NIAAA
4) Aberdeen Area Tribal Chairmens' Health Board (AATCHB) Link to external Web site Anne P. Lanier
4000 Ambassador Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508
Tel: 907-729-3663
E-mail: aplanier@anthc.org

or

Deborah Brollini
4000 Ambassador Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508
Tel: 907-729-2918
E-mail: dbrollini@anthc.org
Predicting Insulin Resistance in American Indian Youth
(Diabetes and pre-diabetes in Northern Plains tribal youth)
NIDDK
Screening for Asthma Among Children in Northern Plains Tribal Communities NHLBI
Validation Study of Depression and Anxiety Measures with Northern Plains Indians NIDA
5) California Rural Indian Health Board (CRIHB) Link to external Web site James A. Crouch
4400 Auburn Blvd., 2nd floor
Sacramento, CA 95841
Tel: 919-929-9761
E-mail: James.crouch@crihb.net

or

Carol Korenbrot
4400 Auburn Blvd., 2nd floor
Sacramento, CA 95841
E-mail: carol.korenbrot@crihb.net
Variation in Preventable Hospitalization Outcomes in Tribal Health Programs AHRQ
6) Northwest Portland Area Indian Health Board (NPAIHB)Link to external Web site Thomas M. Becker
527 SW Hall, Suite 300
Portland, OR 97201
Tel: 503-494-1175
E-mail: beckert@ohsu.edu

or

Luella Azule
527 SW Hall, Suite 300
Portland, OR 97201
Tel: 503-228-4185 x275
E-mail: lazule@npaihb.org
Internet-Assisted Diabetes Care in Rural AI/AN (Study of self management of Type 2 Diabetes) NIGMS
Faculty Development Project NIGMS
Student Development Project NIGMS
Summer Research Training Institute NIMHD
7) Black Hills Center For American Indian Health (BLCAIH) Jeffrey A. Henderson
701 St. Joseph Street, Suite 204
Rapid City, SD 57701
Tel: 605-348-6100
E-mail: jhenderson@bhcaih.org

or

Sandy Albertson
701 St. Joseph Street, Suite 204
Rapid City, SD 57701
E-mail: salbertson@bhcaih.org
Contextual Issues in Traditional Lakota Healing NCCAM
Theory-Based Colorectal Cancer Screening Intervention NIC
Clinical & Public Health Research Training Project NIGMS
8) Navajo Nation/Diné College Anselm Roanhorse
Navajo Nation Division of Health
P.O. Box 1390
Window Rock, AZ 86515
Tel: 928-871-6350/6068
E-mail: a.roanhorse@nndoh.org

or

Martha Austin-Garrison
Diné College
Center for Diné Studies
P.O. Box 580
Shiprock, NM 86033
Tel: 505-368-3650
E-mail: maustin@dinecollege.edu
Diné College
Navajo Ethno-Medical Encyclopedia Research Project NCCAM
9) Indian Health Council, Inc. (Southern California)

CANARCH

or

Indian Health Link to external Web site
Daniel Calac
Tel: 760-749-1410
E-mail: narchoffice@indianhealth.com

or

Lucy M. Cunningham
Tel: 619-594-7978
E-mail: lcunningham@projects.sdsu.edu
P.O. Box 406
Pauma Valley, CA 92061

 

Burden and Resilience Among Caregivers of Frail Elders OWRH
Student Development Project NIGMS
10) Oklahoma NARCH (ONARCH): Cherokee/Chickasaw

ONARCH Link to external Web site

or

http://www.chickasaw.net Link to external Web site
Tina M. Cooper
Chickasaw Nation Health System
1001 North Country Club Road
Ada, OK 74820
Tel: 580-421-6260
E-mail: Tina.Cooper@chickasaw.net
Clinical Trial to Improve Outcomes in Fetal Alcohol Syndrome NIAAA
Student Development Project NIGMS
Understanding Rheumatic Disease in Oklahoma Tribal Members NIAMS
The ONARCH Faculty Development & Mentoring Program NIGMS
11) InterTribal Council of Arizona, Inc.Link to external Web site Tina M. Cooper
Chickasaw Nation Health System
1001 North Country Club Road
Ada, OK 74820
Tel: 580-421-6260
E-mail: Tina.Cooper@chickasaw.net
Faculty Development Project and Research Resource Core NIGMS
Student Development Project NIGMS
12) Southcentral Foundation (Alaska) Link to external Web site Ruth Etzel
4501 Diplomacy Drive; Suite 200
Anchorage, AK 99508
Tel: 907-729-4955
E-mail: raetzel@southcentralfoundation.com
Ethical and Cultural Implications of Specimen Banking Among Alaska Native People NHGRI
13) Great Lakes Inter-Tribal Council (GLITC) Link to external Web site NCI Adrienne Laverdure
2932 Highway 47 N.
P.O. Box 9
Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538
Tel: 715-588-3371
E-mail: adrienne_laverdure@hotmail.com

or

Kathleen Skoraczewski
2932 Highway 47 N.
P.O. Box 9
Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538
Tel: 715-588-3324
E-mail: skoraczewski@glitc.org
Breast Cancer Risk and Screening Patterns in Bemidji
Area American Indian Women
NIGMS
GL NARCH Student Development Program NIGMS
NARCH II
14) Confederated Tribes of Siletz Link to external Web site Tina Retasket
Confederated Tribes of Siletz
P.O. Box 549
Siletz, OR 97380
Tel: 541-444-8210
E-mail: tinar@ctsi.nsn.us
Five Tribes Behavioral Risk Factor Study NIGMS


Partnering Agencies, Institutes, Centers and Offices

  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
  • National Cancer Institute (NCI)
  • National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)
  • National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)
  • National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
  • National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
  • National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)
  • National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)
  • National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
  • National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
  • National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
  • National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
  • National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
  • NIH Center for Scientific Review (CSR)
  • NIH Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR)
  • NIH Office of Research on Women's Health (ORWH)
This page last reviewed on March 01, 2016