Four New Members Appointed to NAGMS Council


May 25, 2012

Four new members recently joined the National Advisory General Medical Sciences Council. They are:

Scott J. Miller, Ph.D., Irénée duPont Professor of Chemistry and chair of the Department of Chemistry at Yale University in New Haven, Conn., whose research focuses on the discovery of new catalysts and reactions that enable the selective synthesis of complex, biologically active molecules. Miller earned a B.A., M.A. and Ph.D. in chemistry from Harvard University in Cambridge, Mass. He joined the Yale faculty in 2006 after serving on the faculty at Boston College for a decade.

Marc A. Nivet, Ed.D., chief diversity officer at the Association of American Medical Colleges in Washington, D.C. He develops policies, programs and research to address racial and ethnic disparities in health care and also to promote cultural competence among caregivers. Nivet earned a B.S. in communication studies from Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven, an M.S. in counseling from Long Island University in Brookville, N.Y., and an Ed.D. in higher education management from the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

Margaret C. Werner-Washburne, Ph.D., Regents’ Pro­fes­sor of Biol­ogy at the Uni­ver­sity of New Mex­ico in Albuquerque. Her research focuses on cell differentiation in the yeast stationary phase, when the organism can withstand long periods without nutrients. Werner-Washburne is also active in the areas of scientific workforce diversity and mentoring. She received a B. A. in English from Stanford University in California, an M.S. in botany from the University of Hawaii in Honolulu and a Ph.D. in botany with a minor in biochemistry from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Holly A. Wichman, Ph.D., professor of biological science at the University of Idaho in Moscow. Her lab studies viruses and transposable elements, providing insights into how evolution shapes genomes and working toward a predictive theory of adaptation. Wichman earned a B.S. in biology from Eastern Montana College in Billings and a Ph.D. in biology from Wesleyan University in Middletown, Conn.

The council, which meets three times a year, is composed of leaders in the biological and medical sciences, education, health care and public affairs Members serve 4-year terms and perform the second level of peer review for grant applications assigned to the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS), part of the National Institutes of Health. Council members also offer advice and recommendations on policy and program development, program implementation, evaluation and other matters of significance to the mission and goals of NIGMS.