NIGMS Funds 30 Institutional Development Awards

Announcement Date:

​NIGMS Office of Communications and Public Liaison

The National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS), part of the National Institutes of Health, has made 30 Institutional Development Awards (IDeA) to scientists in 18 states and Puerto Rico. These grants are expected to total approximately $330.6 million over the next 5 years.

Comprised of two main components, Centers of Biomedical Research Excellence (COBRE) and Institutional Development Award Networks of Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE), the IDeA program builds research capacities in states that historically have had low levels of NIH funding by supporting basic, clinical and translational research; faculty development; and infrastructure improvements.

This year, NIGMS issued grants to support 25 COBREs and two INBREs. COBRE awards are thematic, multidisciplinary research centers that develop faculty and institutional research capabilities. INBRE awards enhance research capacity, strengthen the research capabilities of faculty and provide students with access to biomedical resources.

In addition, the Institute funded three awards as part of its newly developed Institutional Development Award Program Infrastructure for Clinical and Translational Research (IDeA-CTR) initiative, which develops infrastructure and other resources required to conduct clinical and translational research in IDeA-eligible states.

The institutions and principal investigators receiving IDeA awards in Fiscal Year 2013 are:


Brown University (R.I.) - Jerome Sanes, P20GM103645

Dartmouth College (N.H.) - Margaret Karagas, P20GM104416

Mississippi State University - Stephen Pruett, P20GM103646

Mount Desert Island Biological Lab (Maine) - Kevin Strange, P20GM104318

Ocean State Research Institute (Va.) - Sharon Rounds, P20GM103652

Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation - Linda Thompson, P20GM103636

Oklahoma State University, Stillwater - Lin Liu, P20GM103648

Sanford Research Center (S.D.) - David Pearce, P20GM103620

University of Mississippi Medical Center - John Hall, P20GM104357

University of North Dakota - Roxanne Vaughan, P20GM104360

University of Puerto Rico Medical Sciences Campus - Steven Treistman, P20GM103642

University of Rhode Island - Alan Rothman, P20GM104317

University of Vermont and State Agricultural College - Stephen Higgins, P20GM103644


The Mind Research Network (N.M.) - Vince Calhoun, P20GM103472

University of Kentucky - Lisa Cassis, P20GM103527

University of Louisville (Ky.) - Aruni Bhatnagar, P20GM103492

University of Nebraska Medical Center - Tatiana Bronich, P20GM103480


Dartmouth College (N.H.) - Bruce Stanton, P30GM106394

Maine Medical Center Research Institute - Don Wojchowski, P30GM106391

University of Idaho - Larry Forney, P30GM103324

University of Louisville (Ky.) - Donald Miller, P30GM106396

University of Mississippi Medical Center - Craig Stockmeier, P30GM103328

University of Montana - Andrij Holian, P30GM103338

University of Nebraska Medical Center - Keith Johnson, P30GM106397

University of South Carolina - Franklin Berger, P30GM103336


University of Hawaii at Manoa - Robert Alan Nichols, P20GM103466

University of Southern Mississippi - Glen Shearer, P20GM103476


University of Delaware - Stuart Binder-Macleod, U54GM104941

University of Nevada, Las Vegas - Robert Langer, U54GM104944

University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center - Judith James, U54GM104938

More information about the IDeA program.


To arrange an interview with an IDeA spokesperson, contact the NIGMS Office of Communications and Public Liaison at 301-496-7301 or through our contact form.