Genetics Predoctoral Research Training Program Institutions

For award period 7/1/2021 – 6/30/2022

California | Colorado | Connecticut | Georgia | Illinois | Iowa | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | New Jersey | New York | North Carolina | Ohio | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Wisconsin

California

Jasper Rine
University of California, Berkeley
16 Barker Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720
Tel: 510-207-8465
Email: jrine@berkeley.edu
http://genetics.berkeley.edu/

Bruce A. Hamilton
University of California, San Diego
School of Medicine
9500 Gilman Drive, 0644
La Jolla, CA 92093
Tel: 858-822-1055
Email: bah@ucsd.edu
http://genetics.ucsd.edu

Geeta Narlikar
University of California, San Francisco
N412F, Genentech Hall
600, 16th Street
UCSF Mission Bay Campus
San Francisco, CA 94158
Tel: 415-514-0394
Fax: 415-514-4242
Email: gnarlikar@biochem.ucsf.edu
http://tetrad.ucsf.edu

Colorado

Bruce Appel & Jeff Moore
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
12801 E 17th Ave.
MS8108
Aurora, CO 80045
Tel (Bruce): 303-724-3465
Tel (Jeff): 303-724-6198 Fax: 303-724-3420
Email: bruce.appel@cuanschutz.edu
Email: jeffrey.moore@cuanschutz.edu
https://www.cuanschutz.edu/graduate-programs/cell-biology-stem-cells-and-development/home

Connecticut

Valerie Reinke
Yale University
Department of Genetics
P.O. Box 208005
333 Cedar St.
I-310 SHM
New Haven, CT 06520-8005
Email: valerie.reinke@yale.edu
http://bbs.yale.edu/molecularcell/

Georgia

Jeremy M. Boss
Emory University
School of Medicine
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
1510 Clifton Road, Room 3001
Atlanta, GA 30322
Tel: 404-727-5973
Fax: 404-727-1719
Email: jmboss@emory.edu
http://www.biomed.emory.edu/program_sites/GMB

Kelly A. Dyer
University of Georgia
Department of Genetics
Life Sciences Building
Athens, GA 30602-7223
Tel: 706-542-3154
Email: kdyer@uga.edu
http://www.genetics.uga.edu/nih-training-grant

Illinois

Joseph Thornton
University of Chicago
Departments of Human Genetics and Ecology & Evolution
W504 Gordon Center for Integrative Sciences
Chicago, IL 60637
Tel: 773-834-3423
Email: joet1@uchicago.edu
https://biosciences.uchicago.edu/genetic-mechanisms-and-evolution

Iowa

Daniel F. Eberl
University of Iowa
Department of Biology
Room 259, BB
Iowa City, IA 52242
Tel: 319-335-1323
Fax: 319-335-1069
Email: daniel-eberl@uiowa.edu
http://genetics.grad.uiowa.edu

Maryland

David Valle
Johns Hopkins University
Institute of Genetic Medicine
733 N. Wolfe St., MRB519
Baltimore, MD 21205
Tel: 410-955-5260
Fax: 410-955-7397
Email: dvalle@jhmi.edu
https://igm.jhmi.edu

Massachusetts

Scott G. Kennedy
Harvard Medical School
Department of Genetics
NRB Room 266
77 Ave. Louis Pasteur
Boston, MA 02115
Tel: 617-432-1235
Fax: 617-432-7663
Email: kennedy@genetics.med.harvard.edu
http://www.hms.harvard.edu/dms/bbs/Genetics

Michigan

John V. Moran
University of Michigan Medical School
Department of Human Genetics
4728B Medical Science II
1301 E. Catherine St.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-0618
Tel: 734-615-0456
Fax: 734-763-3784
Email: moranj@umich.edu
https://medicine.umich.edu/dept/human-genetics/genetics-training-program

Minnesota

David Greenstein and Ran Blekhman
University of Minnesota
Department of Genetics, Cell Biology, and Development
College of Biological Sciences
6-160 Jackson Hall
321 Church Street, SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Tel: 612-624-3955
Email: green959@umn.edu
Email: blekhman@umn.edu
https://genomicstraining.cbs.umn.edu/​

New Jersey

Ileana M. Cristea
Princeton University
Department of Molecular Biology
Washington Road
Princeton, NJ 08544-1014
Tel: 609-258-9417
Fax: 609-258-4575
Email: icristea@princeton.edu
http://www.molbio.princeton.edu

New York

Michael Shen
Columbia University Medical Center
Department of Medicine and Genetics and Development
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center
1130 St. Nicholas Avenue
New York, NY 10032
Tel: 212-851-4723
Fax: 212-851-4572
Email: mshen@columbia.edu
http://www.cumc.columbia.edu/dept/genetics/train.html

Daniel A. Barbash
Cornell University
Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics
401 Biotechnology Building
Ithaca, NY 14853
Tel: 607-254-5208
Fax: 607-255-6249
Email: dab87@cornell.edu
http://gendev.cornell.edu

North Carolina

Allison Ashley-Koch
Duke University
Departments of Medicine, Biostatistics and Bioinformatics and Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
300 N Duke Street, Room 47-123
Durham, NC 27701
Tel: 919-684-1805
Email: allison.ashleykoch@duke.edu
http://upg.duke.edu

Jeff J. Sekelsky
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
CB 3280, 302 Fordham Hall
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Tel: 919-843-9400
Fax: 919-962-4574
Email: sekelsky@unc.edu
http://gmb.unc.edu

Ohio

Peter C. Scacheri
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Department of Genetics & Genome Sciences
10900 Euclid Ave; BRB 628
Cleveland, OH 44106
Tel: 216-368-3458
Email: pxs183@case.edu
https://case.edu/medicine/genetics/graduate-programs/functional-genomics-training-program

Oregon

Karen Guillemin
University of Oregon
Institute of Molecular Biology
1229 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403-1229
Tel: 541-346-5360
Fax: 541-346-5891
Email: kguillem@uoregon.edu
http://molbio.uoregon.edu/genetics-training-program

Pennsylvania

Douglas J. Epstein
University of Pennsylvania
Department of Genetics
Perelman School of Medicine
415 Curie Blvd., Room 463 CRB
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Tel: 215-573-4810
Fax: 215-573-5892
Email: epsteind@mail.med.upenn.edu
https://www.med.upenn.edu

Tennessee

Nancy J. Cox and David C. Samuels
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Vanderbilt Genetics Institute
507B Light Hall
Nashville, TN 37232-0700
Tel: 615-322-2091
Fax: 615-936-2661
Email: nancy.j.cox@vanderbilt.edu
Email: david.c.samuels@vanderbilt.edu
https://medsites.vumc.org/vgi

Texas

Gad Shaulsky
Baylor College of Medicine
Department of Molecular and Human Genetics
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77030
Tel: 713-798-8082
Email: gadi@bcm.edu
https://www.bcm.edu/education/schools/graduate-school-of-biomedical-sciences/programs/molecular-and-human-genetics

David Threadgill
Texas A&M University
Interdisciplinary Program in Genetics
300 Olsen Blvd, Room 109A
College Station, TX 77843-2128
Tel: 979-458-2284
Email: dwt@tamu.edu
https://genetics.tamu.edu/

Utah

Gillian Stanfield
University of Utah
Department of Human Genetics
15 North 2030 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Tel: 801-585-9944
Email: gillian.stanfield@genetics.utah.edu
http://gtg2.genetics.utah.edu

Wisconsin

Audrey P. Gasch
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Laboratory of Genetics
425 Henry Mall
Madison, WI 53706-1574
Tel: 608-265-0859
Fax: 608-262-2976
Email: agasch@wisc.edu
http://www.genetics.wisc.edu/PHDGradProgram.htm