Biotechnology Predoctoral Research Training Program Institutions

For award period 7/1/2018 - 6/30/2019​

California | Georgia | Illinois | IowaMassachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | New Jersey | New York |
North Carolina | Virginia | Washington | Wisconsin

California

Frances H. Arnold
California Institute of Technology
Department of Chemical Engineering
228B Spalding
Mail Code 210-41
Pasadena, CA 91125
Tel: 626-395-4162
Fax: 626-568-8743
http://www.trainingbiotechleaders.caltech.edu

Jennifer R. Cochran
Stanford University
Department of Bioengineering
James Clark Center W250
318 Campus Drive W, MC 5439
Stanford, CA 94305
Tel: 650-724-7808
Fax:650-725-2952
Email: jennifer.cochran@stanford.edu
https://btg.stanford.edu

David V. Schaffer
University of California, Berkeley
Department of Chemical Engineering
274 Stanley Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3220
Tel: 510-643-5693
Fax: 510-642-4778
Email: schaffer@berkeley.edu
http://stemcelltraining.berkeley.edu​​

William H. Gerwick
University of California, San Diego
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Center for Marine Biotechnology
9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0212
La Jolla, CA 92093
Tel: 858-534-0578
Fax: 858-534-0529
Email: wgerwick@ucsd.edu
https://scripps.ucsd.edu/cmbb/training-program-marine-biotechnology

Georgia

Andres J. Garcia
Georgia Institute of Technology
Institute of Bioengineering & Bioscience
315 Ferst Drive, NW
Atlanta, GA 30332-0363
Tel: 404-894-9384
Fax: 404-385-1397
Email: andres.garcia@me.gatech.edu
http://petitinstitute.gatech.edu/nih-cell-and-tissue-engineering

Illinois

Joshua N. Leonard
Northwestern University
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
2145 Sheridan Road, Room E136
Evanston, IL 60208-3120
Tel: 847-491-7455
Fax: 847-491-3728
Email: j-leonard@northwestern.edu
http://www.biotechtraining.northwestern.edu

Iowa

Robert John Kerns
University of Iowa
Department of Chemistry
315 CB
Iowa City, IA 52242
Tel: 319-335-0234
Fax: 319-335-1270
Email: robert-kerns@uiowa.edu
https://cbb.research.uiowa.edu/predoctoral-training-program-biotechnology-0

Massachusetts

Ahmad S. Khalil & Christopher S. Chen
Boston University
Department of Biomedical Engineering & Biological Design Center
610 Commonwealth Ave., Rm 405C
Boston, MA 02215
Tel: 617-358-6957
Fax: 617-353-6766
Email: khalil@bu.edu
http://sites.bu.edu/sb2/

Jeanne Ann Hardy
University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Department of Chemistry
745A Lederle Graduate Research Tower
Amherst, MA 01003
Tel: 413-545-4882
Fax: 413-545-1446
Email: hardy@chem.umass.edu
https://btp.umass.edu

Michigan

Robert L. Last
Michigan State University
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
and Department of Plant Biology
603 Wilson Road, Room 301
East Lansing, MI 48824
Tel: 517-432-3278
Fax: 517-353-9334
Email: lastr@msu.edu
http://plantmetabolism.natsci.msu.edu

Anna A. S. Schwendeman​
University of Michigan at Ann Arbor
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Biointerfaces Institute
2800 Plymouth Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Tel: 734-764-4056
Email: annaschw@umich.edu
http://cbtp.engin.umich.edu

Minnesota

Claudia Schmidt-Dannert
University of Minnesota
Biotechnology Institute
140 Gortner Laboratory
1479 Gortner Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108
Tel: 612-625-5782
Fax: 612-625-5781
Email: schmi232@umn.edu
http://www.bti.umn.edu/BiotechTraining

New Jersey

Martin L. Yarmush
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Department of Biomedical Engineering
599 Taylor Road
Piscataway, NJ 08854
Tel: 732-445-4500
Fax: 732-445-3753
Email: yarmush@rci.rutgers.edu
http://biotechnology.rutgers.edu

New York

Deepak Vashishth
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
110 8th St.
Troy, NY 12180
Tel: 518-276-2296/4050
Fax: 518-276-4233
Email: vashid@rpi.edu
https://biotech.rpi.edu/students/nigms-bse

North Carolina

Charles Gersbach
Duke University
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Box 90281
136 Hudson Hall
Durham, NC 27708-0281
Tel: 919-613-2147
Fax: 919-660-5362
Email: charles.gersbach@duke.edu
http://cbte.pratt.duke.edu

Jason M. Haugh
North Carolina State University, Raleigh
Department of Chemical Engineering
3309 Partners Building II, Box 7905
Raleigh, NC 27695-7905
Tel: 919-515-6396
Fax: 919-515-3465
Email: jason_haugh@ncsu.edu
http://biotech.ncsu.edu/pages/nih-biotechnology-traineeships

Virginia

Gordon W. Laurie
University of Virginia, Charlottesville
Department of Cell Biology
P.O. Box 800732
Health Sciences Center
Charlottesville, VA 22908-0732
Tel: 434-924-5250
Fax: 434-982-3912
Email: glaurie@virginia.edu
http://faculty.virginia.edu/biotech

Washington

Michael L. Kahn
Washington State University
Institute of Biological Chemistry
P.O. Box 646340
203 Clark Hall
Pullman, WA 99164-6340
Tel: 509-335-8327
Fax: 509-335-7643
Email: kahn@wsu.edu
http://www.nihbiotech.wsu.edu

Wisconsin

Brian G. Fox
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Microbial Sciences Building
1550 Linden Drive, Room 1324
Madison, WI 53706
Tel: 608-262-6753
Fax: 608-262-9865
Email: biotech@bact.wisc.edu
http://btp.wisc.edu