Maximizing Access to Research Careers (MARC) Participating Institutions

Arizona | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Louisiana | Michigan | Missouri | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Pennsylvania | Puerto Rico | Rhode Island | Tennessee | Texas | Virginia | Virgin Islands | ​ Washington

Arizona

Marc Tischler, Ph.D.
University of Arizona
Email: tischler@email.arizona.edu
http://cbc.arizona.edu/education/undergrad/research/marc

California

Amybeth Cohen, Ph.D.
California State University, Fullerton
Email: acohen@fullerton.edu
http://www.fullerton.edu/marc/

Vasanthy Narayanaswami, Ph.D.
California State University, Long Beach
Email: vas.narayanaswami@csulb.edu
https://web.csulb.edu/colleges/cnsm/sas/marc/

Linda M. Tunstad, Ph.D.
California State University, Los Angeles
Email: ltunsta@calstatela.edu
http://www.calstatela.edu/centers/moreprograms/ustar/index.htm

Catherine Atkins, Ph.D.
San Diego State University
Email: catkins@mail.sdsu.edu
https://marc.sdsu.edu/

M. Raymond Esquerra, Ph.D
San Francisco State University
Email: esquerra@sfsu.edu
http://www.sfsu.edu/marc

Aldrin V. Gomes, Ph.D.
University of California, Davis
Email: avgomes@ucdavis.edu
https://eeop.ucdavis.edu/marc#

Luis M. Mota-Bravo, Ph.D.
University of California, Irvine
Email: lmota@uci.edu
http://port.bio.uci.edu/MARC

Megan. M. McEvoy, Ph.D
University of California, Los Angeles
Email: mcevoymm@ucla.edu
http://sciences.ugresearch.ucla.edu/programs-and-scholarships/marc/

Ernest Martinez, Ph.D.
University of California, Riverside
Email: ernest.martinez@ucr.eduhttps://marcu.ucr.edu/

Joel H. Rothman, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Barbara
Email: rothman@lifesci.ucsb.edu
https://marc-csep.cnsi.ucsb.edu/

Alan M. Zahler, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Cruz
Email: zahler@biology.ucsc.edu
http://stemdiv.ucsc.edu/marc

Colorado

Richard Allen, Ph.D.
University of Colorado, Denver
Email: richard.allen@ucdenver.edu
https://clas.ucdenver.edu/marcustar/

Connecticut

Joseph LoTurco, Ph.D.
University of Connecticut
Email: joseph.loturco@uconn.edu
https://marc.pnb.uconn.edu/

Florida

DeEtta K. Mills, Ph.D.
Florida International University
Email: millsd@fiu.edu
https://case.fiu.edu/academics/marc-ustar/

David Julian, Ph.D.
University of Florida
219 Grinter Hall, PO Box 115500
Gainesville, FL 32611
Tel: 352-392-5878
Email: djulian@ufl.edu
https://marc.program.ufl.edu/marc/

Karen S. Molek, Ph.D.
University of West Florida
Email: ksmolek@uwf.edu
https://uwf.edu/hmcse/student-engagement-programs/scholars-programs/marc-scholars-program/

Georgia

Kyle J. Frantz, Ph.D.
Georgia State University
Email: kfrantz@gsu.edu
https://casa.gsu.edu/maximizing-access-to-research-careers-marc/

Triscia W. Hendrickson, Ph.D.
Morehouse College
Email: triscia.hendrickson@morehouse.edu
https://www.morehouse.edu/academics/programs/trio-programs/mcnair-scholars-program/

Cecil L. Jones, Ph.D.
Savannah State University
Email: jonesce@savstate.edu
https://www.savannahstate.edu/osra/students/grant-scholarship-programs.shtml

Hawaii

Vivek R. Nerurkar, Ph.D.
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Email: nerurkar@hawaii.edu
http://www.pbrc.hawaii.edu/~scott/multiple_css_test/index.html

Illinois

Ruth Church, Ph.D.
Northeastern Illinois University
Email: rbChurch1@neiu.edu
http://cs.neiu.edu/wordpress/

Iowa

Lori Adams-Phillips, Ph.D.
University of Iowa
Email: lori-adams@uiowa.edu
https://iba.biology.uiowa.edu/about/news/iba-awarded-nih-marc-maximizing-access-research-careers-grant

Kansas

Lena Hileman, Ph.D.
University of Kansas Lawrence
Email: lhileman@ku.edu
http://marc.ku.edu/

Louisiana

Maria Da Graca Henrique Vicente, Ph.D.
Louisiana State University A&M College, Baton Rouge
Email: vicente@lsu.edu
https://lsu.edu/science/chemistry/marc/home.php

Michigan

Matthew J. Allen, Ph.D.
Wayne State University
Email: mallen@chem.wayne.edu
https://clas.wayne.edu/research/marc

Missouri

Mark Hannink, Ph.D.
University of Missouri-Columbia
Email: HanninkM@missouri.edu
https://medicine.missouri.edu/offices-programs/marc-imsd

James B. Skeath, Ph.D.
Washington University
Email: jskeath@genetics.wustl.edu
https://sites.wustl.edu/marcustar/

New Jersey

Kwangwon Lee, Ph.D.
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email: kwangwon.lee@rutgers.edu
https://marc.camden.rutgers.edu/

New Mexico

Graciela A. Unguez, Ph.D.
New Mexico State University
Email: gunguez@nmsu.edu
https://marc.nmsu.edu

Cristina D. Takacs-Vesbach, Ph.D.
University of New Mexico
Email: cvesbach@unm.edu
http://www.marcatunm.org/

New York

Louise Hainline, Ph.D.
Brooklyn College
Email: louiseh@brooklyn.cuny.edu
http://www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/web/academics/centers/case/programs/marc.php

Jonathan Levitt, Ph.D.
City College of New York
Email: jlevitt@ccny.cuny.edu
https://www.ccny.cuny.edu/marcrise

Krystal Perkins, Ph.D.
College at Purchase
Email: krystal.perkins@purchase.edu

Jennifer S. Ford, Ph.D.
Hunter College
Email: jennifer.ford@hunter.cuny.edu
http://marc.hunter.cuny.edu

Zahra Zakeri, Ph.D.
Queens College
Email: zahra.zakeri@qc.cuny.edu
http://www.qc.cuny.edu/academics/honors/marc/Pages/default.aspx

North Carolina

Hirendra N. Banerjee, Ph.D.
Elizabeth City State University
Email: bhirendranath@mail.ecsu.edu
https://www.ecsu.edu/academics/programs/minority-access-to-research-career/program-overview.html

Checo J. Rorie, Ph.D.
North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
Email: cjrorie@ncat.edu
https://www.ncat.edu/cost/departments/biology/marc-program-flyer.pdf

Jorge Piedrahita, Ph.D.
North Carolina State University Raleigh
Email: jorge_piedrahita@ncsu.edu
https://research.ncsu.edu/cmi/training-opportunities/u-team-nih-t34/

Daniel J. Herr, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina Greensboro
Email: djherr@uncg.edu
https://marc.uncg.edu/

North Dakota

Glenda N. Lindseth, Ph.D.
University of North Dakota
Email: glenda.lindseth@und.edu
https://cnpd.und.edu/research/marc-ustar.html

Pennsylvania

Spiridoula Matsika, Ph.D.
Temple University
Email: smatsika@temple.edu
https://www.temple.edu/

Puerto Rico

Edwin E. Traverso, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Humacao
Email: edwin.traverso@upr.edu
http://www.uprh.edu/marc/

Carlos Rios-Velazquez, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez
Email: carlos.rios5@upr.edu
http://brtc.uprrp.edu/marc/index.php/about-us/

Rhode Island

Niall G. Howlett, Ph.D.
University of Rhode Island
​Email: nhowlett@uri.edu
https://web.uri.edu/marc/

Tennessee

Steven Damo, Ph.D.
Fisk University
Email: steven.damo@vanderbilt.edu

Margaret M. Whalen, Ph.D.
Tennessee State University
Email: mwhalen@tnstate.edu
https://www.tnstate.edu/marc/

Douglas G. McMahon, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University
Email: douglas.g.mcmahon@vanderbilt.edu
https://as.vanderbilt.edu/biosci/undergraduate/MARC.php

Texas

Veronica Contreras-Shannon, Ph.D.
St. Mary's University
Email: vcontrerasshann@stmarytx.edu
https://www.stmarytx.edu/academics/special-programs/marc-ustar/

Edwin Barea-Rodriguez, Ph.D.
University of Texas at San Antonio
Email: edwin.barea@utsa.edu
http://www.utsa.edu/marc

Virginia

Alvin A. Holder, Ph.D., FRSC, CChem
Old Dominion University
Email: aholder@odu.edu
https://www.odu.edu/academics/programs/multidisciplinary/monarch-marc-ustar/program-information

Virgin Islands

Robert Stolz, Ph.D.
University of the Virgin Islands
Email: rstolz@uvi.edu
https://www.uvi.edu/research/emerging-caribbean-scientists-programs/sponsors/nih-marc-grant.aspx

Washington

Mary Sanchez Lanier, Ph.D.
Washington State University
Email: sanchez@wsu.edu