Research Training Initiative for Scientific Enhancement Participating Institutions

Alabama

  • Alabama State University

    Shree R. Singh, Ph.D.
    Alabama State University
    Department of Math and Science
    915 South Jackson St.
    Montgomery, AL 36101
    Tel: 332-229-4168
    Email: shreesingh03@gmail.com

Arizona

  • Northern Arizona University

    Catherine Propper, Ph.D.
    Northern Arizona University
    Department of Biological Sciences
    617 S. Beaver St.
    Flagstaff, AZ 86011
    Tel: 928-523-1374
    Email: catherine.propper@nau.edu

California

  • California State University, Sacramento

    Mary McCarthy-Hintz, Ph.D.
    California State University, Sacramento
    Dept. of Chemistry
    6000 J Street
    Sacramento, CA 95819
    Tel: 916-278-6519
    Email: mccarthy@saclink.csus.edu

  • California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

    Jill Adler, Ph.D.
    California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
    3801 W. Temple Ave.
    Pomona, CA 91768
    Tel: 818-259-1063
    Email: jpadler@cpp.edu

  • California State University, Dominguez Hills

    Hernan L. Martinez, Ph.D.
    California State University, Dominguez Hills
    1000 East Victoria St.
    Carson, CA 90747
    Tel: 213-516-3300
    Email: leoh@csudh.edu
    http://www4.csudh.edu/mbrs-marc Link to external web site

  • California State University, Long Beach

    Paul T. Buonora, Ph.D.
    California State University, Long Beach
    Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
    1250 Bellflower Blvd.
    Long Beach, CA 90840-3903
    Tel: 562-985-4946
    Email: pbuonora@csulb.edu

  • California State University, Los Angeles

    Krishna Foster, Ph.D.
    California State University, Los Angeles
    Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
    5151 State University Drive
    Golden Eagle 220
    Los Angeles, CA 90032
    Tel: 323-343-2395
    Email: kfoster@calstatela.edu

  • California State University, Northridge

    Maria Elena B. Zavala, Ph.D.
    California State University, Northridge
    Department of Biology
    18111 Nordhoff St.
    Northridge, CA 91330-8303
    Tel: 818-677-3342
    Email: mariaelena.zavala@csun.edu

  • California State University, San Marcos

    Keith A. Trujillo, Ph.D.
    California State University, San Marcos
    Office for Training, Research and Education in the Sciences
    333 South Twin Oaks Valley Road
    San Marcos, CA 92096-0001
    Tel: 760-750-4183
    Email: keith@csusm.edu
    https://www.csusm.edu/otres/riseprogram Link to external web site

  • San Francisco State University

    Carmen Domingo, Ph.D.
    San Francisco State University
    Department of Biology
    1600 Holloway Ave.
    San Francisco, CA 94132
    Tel: 415-338-6995
    Email: cdomingo@sfsu.edu
    http://seo.sfsu.edu/content/fellowships Link to external web site

  • San Jose State University

    Karen Singmaster, Ph.D.
    San Jose State University
    Washington Square
    San Jose, CA 95192
    Tel: 408-924-4980
    Email: karen.singmaster@sjsu.edu

  • California State University, Fresno

    Viswanathan V. Krishnan
    California State University, Fresno
    SB-70, 2555 E. San Ramon Ave
    Fresno, CA 93740-8029
    Tel: 559-278-7944
    Email: krish@csufresno.edu

Delaware

  • Delaware State University

    Melissa A. Harrington, Ph.D.
    Delaware State University
    1200 N. Dupont Hwy
    Dover, DE 19901
    Tel: 302 857-6811
    Email: mharring@desu.edu

Georgia

  • Morehouse College

    Ulrica Wilson, Ph.D.
    Morehouse College
    Department of Mathematics
    830 Westview Drive, SW
    Atlanta, GA 30314
    Tel: 470-639-0365
    Email: ulrica.wilson@morehouse.edu

  • Clark Atlanta University

    Paul Musey, Ph.D.
    Clark Atlanta University
    Department of Biological Sciences
    223 J.P. Brawley Drive, SW
    Atlanta, GA 30314
    Tel: 404-880-8000
    Email: pmusey@cau.edu

  • Morehouse School of Medicine

    Sandra Harris-Hooker, Ph.D.
    Morehouse School of Medicine
    Departments of Medicine and Pathology
    720 Westview Drive, SW
    Atlanta, GA 30310-1495
    Tel: 404-752-1768
    Email: hooker@msm.edu

  • Spelman College

    Dolores V. Bradley, Ph.D.
    Spelman College
    Psychology Department
    Box 299, 350 Spelman Lane, SW
    Atlanta, GA 30314
    Tel: 404-270-5619
    Email: dbradley@spelman.edu
    http://www.spelman.edu/academics/research-programs/rise Link to external web site

Hawaii

  • University of Hawaii at Hilo

    Lynn Morrison, Ph.D.
    University of Hawaii at Hilo
    Department of Anthropology
    200 W. Kawili St.
    Hilo, HI 96720
    Tel: 808-932-7446
    Email: lmorriso@hawaii.edu

Maryland

  • Morgan State University

    Angela J. Winstead, Ph.D.
    Morgan State University
    Department of Biology
    1700 E. Cold Spring Lane
    Baltimore, MD 21251
    Tel: 443-885-3794
    Email: angela.winstead@morgan.edu

Mississippi

  • Jackson State University

    Glake A. Hill, Ph.D.
    Jackson State University
    1400 JR Lynch St.
    Jackson, MS 39217
    Tel: 601-979-1699
    Email: glakeh@icnanotox.org

Montana

  • Salish Kootenai College

    Christina L. Rush, Ph.D.
    Salish Kootenai College
    Department of Life Sciences
    P.O. Box 70
    Pablo, MT 59855
    Tel: 406-275-4894
    Email: christina_rush@skc.edu

New Mexico

  • New Mexico State University, Las Cruces

    Michele Nishiguchi, Ph.D.
    New Mexico State University, Las Cruces
    Biology Department
    NMSU Box 30001-3AF
    Las Cruces, NM 88003
    Tel: 575-646-3721
    Email: nish@nmsu.edu​​

New York

  • City University of New York, City College

    Mark Steinberg, Ph.D.
    City University of New York, City College
    Department of Chemistry
    160 Convent Ave.
    New York, NY 10031
    Tel: 212-650-8560
    Email: marste@sci.ccny.cuny.edu
    https://www.ccny.cuny.edu/marcrise Link to external web site

  • City University of New York, Hunter College

    Benjamin Ortiz, Ph.D.
    City University of New York, Hunter College
    Department of Psychology
    695 Park Ave.
    New York, NY 10021
    Tel: 212-772-5670
    Email: ortiz@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu
    http://rise.hunter.cuny.edu Link to external web site

  • Rochester Institute of Technology

    Samar Vincent, Ph.D.
    Rochester Institute of Technology
    52 Lomb Memorial Dr.
    Rochester, NY 14623
    Tel: 716-475-6338
    Email: vjsncr@rit.edu

  • Medgar Evers College

    Mohsin Patwary, Ph.D.
    Medgar Evers College
    School of Science, Health & Technology
    1638 Bedford Ave.
    New York, NY 11225
    Tel: 718-270-6217
    Email: mohsin@mec.cuny.edu
    http://www.mec.cuny.edu Link to external web site

  • Herbert H. Lehman College

    Gustavo Lopez Quiñones
    Herbert H. Lehman College
    Department of Chemistry
    250 Bedford Park Boulevard West
    Bronx, NY 10468
    Tel: 787-464-5965
    Email: gustavo.lopez1@lehman.cuny.edu

North Carolina

  • Fayetteville State University

    James E. Raynor, Ph.D.
    Fayetteville State University
    College of Basic and Applied Sciences
    Helen T. Chick Building, Room 132
    1200 Murchison Road
    Fayetteville, NC 28301
    Tel: 910-672-1659
    Email: jraynor@uncfsu.edu

  • University of North Carolina at Pembroke

    Rachel B. Smith, Ph.D.
    University of North Carolina at Pembroke
    1 University Dr.
    Pembroke, NC 28572
    http://www.uncp.edu/rise Link to external web site

  • Winston-Salem State University

    Mamudu Yakubu, Ph.D.
    Winston-Salem State University
    115 S. Chestnut St.
    Winston-Salem, NC 27101
    Tel: 336-750-2543
    Email: yakubuma@wssu.edu

Puerto Rico

  • University of Puerto Rico, Ponce

    Edu B. Suarez-Martinez, Ph.D.
    University of Puerto Rico, Ponce
    P.O. Box 7186
    Ponce, PR 00732-7186
    Tel: 787-844-8181 ext. 2358
    Fax: 787-729-4064
    Email: edu.suarez@upr.edu
    http://www.uprp.edu/articulos/academicos/departamentos/biologia/ Link to external web site

  • Ponce Health Sciences University - Ponce Research Institute

    Caroline B. Appleyard, Ph.D.
    Ponce Health Sciences University - Ponce Research Institute
    Department of Basic Sciences - Physiology Division
    Perez Marchand St. Urb. Industrial Reparada
    Ponce, PR 00732-7004
    Tel: 787-840-2575
    Email: cappleyard@psm.edu
    https://www.psm.edu/pri/ Link to external web site​​

  • University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras

    Nestor Manuel Carballeira, Ph.D.
    University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
    Department of Chemistry
    P.O. Box 23346
    San Juan, PR 00931-3346
    Tel: 787-764-0000
    Email: nestor.carballeira1@upr.edu

  • Universidad Central del Caribe

    Delia Camacho, Ph.D.
    Universidad Central del Caribe
    Avenida Laurel
    Bayamon, PR 00960-6032
    Tel: 787-798-3001 ext. 2150
    Email: delia.camacho@uccaribe.edu
    http://rise.uccaribe.net Link to external web site

  • University of Puerto Rico, Cayey

    Vibha Bansal, Ph.D.
    University of Puerto Rico, Cayey
    Department of Biology
    Barcelo Ave.
    Cayey, PR 00736
    Tel: 787-738-2161
    Email: vibha.bansal@upr.edu

  • University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences

    University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences
    Department of Biochemistry, School of Medicine
    P.O. Box 365067, Office B368
    San Juan, PR 00936-5067
    Tel: 787-754-4366
    Email: carmen.cadilla@upr.edu

  • University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez

    Miguel Castro, Ph.D.
    University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez
    Call Box 9000
    Mayaguez, PR 00681
    Tel: 787-361-4122
    Email: miguel.castro2@upr.edu

South Carolina

Tennessee

  • Meharry Medical College

    Maria F. Lima, Ph.D.
    Meharry Medical College
    School of Graduate Studies and Research
    1005 D.B. Todd Blvd.
    Nashville, TN 37208
    Tel: 615-327-6533
    Email: mflima@mmc.edu

Texas

  • University of Texas at El Paso

    Renato J. Aguilera, Ph.D.
    University of Texas at El Paso
    Department of Biological Sciences
    500 W. University Ave.
    El Paso, TX 79968-0519
    Tel: 915-747-6852
    Email: raguilera@utep.edu
    http://www.ucla.edu/ Link to external web site

  • University of Texas at San Antonio

    Edwin J. Barea-Rodriguez, Ph.D.
    University of Texas at San Antonio
    Department of Biology
    One UTSA Circle
    San Antonio, TX 78249
    Tel: 210-458-4511
    Email: edwin.barea@utsa.edu
    http://www.utsa.edu/mbrs Link to external web site

Virgin Islands