Skip Over Navigation Links

RISE Participating Institutions

Alabama | California | Florida | Georgia | Illinois | Louisiana | Maryland | Mississippi | Montana | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | Puerto Rico | South Carolina | Tennessee | Texas | Virgin Islands


ALABAMA

Shree R. Singh, Ph.D.
Alabama State University
Department of Math and Science
915 South Jackson Street
Montgomery, AL 36101
Tel: 332-229-4168
E-mail: ssingh@alasu.edu

Ralph Timothy McDonald, Ed.D.
Oakwood College
7000 Adventist Blvd.
Huntsville, AL 35896
Tel: 256-726-8399
E-mail: tmcdonald@oakwood.edu

CALIFORNIA

Jill Adler, Ph.D.
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
3801 W. Temple Avenue
Pomona, CA 91768
Tel: 909-869-4047
E-mail: jpadler@csupomona.edu

Hernan L. Martinez, Ph.D.
California State University, Dominguez Hills
1000 East Victoria Street
Carson, CA 90747
Tel: 213-516-3300
E-mail: leoh@cali.csudh.edu
Web: http://www.nbs.csudh.edu/mbrs Link to external Web site

Paul T. Buonora, Ph.D.
California State University, Long Beach
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
1250 Bellflower Boulevard
Long Beach, CA 90840-3903
Tel: 562-985-4936
E-mail: pbuonora@csulb.edu

Carlos G. Gutierrez, Ph.D.
California State University, Los Angeles
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032
Tel: 323-343-2356
E-mail: cgutier@calstatela.edu

Maria Elena B. Zavala, Ph.D.
California State University, Northridge
Department of Biology
18111 Nordhoff Street
Northridge, CA 91330-8303
Tel: 818-677-3342
E-mail: mariaelena.zavala@csun.edu

Cynthia A. Crawford, Ph.D.
California State University, San Bernardino
Department of Psychology
5500 University Parkway
San Bernardino, CA 92407
Tel: 909-537-7416
E-mail: ccrawfor@csusb.edu

Keith A. Trujillo, Ph.D.
California State University, San Marcos
Office for Training, Research and Education in the Sciences
333 South Twin Oaks Valley Road
San Marcos, CA 92096-0001
Tel: 760-750-4183
E-mail: keith@csusm.edu
Web: https://www.csusm.edu/otres/riseprogram Link to external Web site

Frank T. Bayliss, Ph.D.
San Francisco State University
Department of Biology
1600 Holloway Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94132
Tel: 415-338-1071
E-mail: fbayl@sfsu.edu
Web: http://www.sfsu.edu/~seo/pages/grantlist2.html Link to external Web site

Karen Singmaster, Ph.D.
San Jose State University
Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192
Tel: 408-924-4980
E-mail: ksingmaster@jupiter.sjsu.edu

FLORIDA

Flona A. Redway, Ph.D.
Barry University
College of Arts and Sciences
11300 N.E. 2nd Avenue
Miami Shores, FL 33161
Tel: 305-899-3542
E-mail: fredway@mail.barry.edu
Web: http://www.barry.edu/mbrsrise Link to external Web site

Robert E. Lickliter, Ph.D.
Florida International University
Division of Research
11200 S.W. 8th Street
Miami, FL 33199
Tel: 305-348-2494
E-mail: licklite@fiu.edu
Web: http://www.fiu.edu/~mbrs Link to external Web site

GEORGIA

Marjorie G. Campbell, Ph.D.
Clark Atlanta University
Department of Biological Sciences
223 J.P. Brawley Drive, S.W.
Atlanta, GA 30314
Tel: 404-880-6868
E-mail: mcampbell@cau.edu 

Sandra Harris-Hooker, Ph.D.
Morehouse School of Medicine
Departments of Medicine and Pathology
720 Westview Drive, S.W.
Atlanta, GA 30310-1495
Tel: 404-752-1768
E-mail: hooker@msm.edu

Hua Zhao, Ph.D.
Savannah State University
Chemistry Program
P.O. Box 20600
3219 College Street
Savannah, GA 31404
Tel: 912-353-5290
E-mail: zhaoh@savstate.edu
Web: http://linux.savannahstate.edu/rise Link to external Web site

Dolores V. Bradley, Ph.D.
Spelman College
Psychology Department
Box 299, 350 Spelman Lane, S.W.
Atlanta, GA 30314
Tel: 404-270-5619
E-mail: dbradley@spelman.edu
Web: http://www.spelman.edu/academics/research-programs/mbrs-rise Link to external Web site

ILLINOIS

Devi Prasad V. Potluri, Ph.D.
Chicago State University
Department of Biological Sciences
9501 South King Drive
Chicago, Il 60628
Tel: 773-995-2199
E-mail: vpotluri@csu.edu
Web: http://www.csu.edu/NIGMS/riseprogram.htm Link to external Web site

LOUISIANA

Maryam Foroozesh, Ph.D.
Xavier University of Louisiana
Department of Chemistry
1 Drexel Drive Box 121-c
New Orleans, LA 70125
Tel: 504-520-5078
E-mail: mforooze@xula.edu

MARYLAND

Christine F. Hohmann, Ph.D.
Morgan State University
Department of Biology
1700 East Cold Spring Lane
Baltimore, MD 21251
Tel: 443-885-4002
E-mail: chohmann@morgan.edu

MISSISSIPPI

Glake A. Hill, Ph.D.
Jackson State University
1400 JR Lynch Street
Jackson, MS 39217
Tel: 601-979-1699
E-mail: glakeh@icnanotox.org

MONTANA

Douglas K. Stevens, Ph.D.
Salish Kootenai College
SKC Environmental Laboratory
P.O. Box 70
Pablo, MT 59855
Tel: 406-275-4725
E-mail: doug_stevens@skc.edu

NEW MEXICO

Elba E. Serrano, Ph.D.
New Mexico State University, Las Cruces
Biology Department
NMSU Box 30001-3AF
Las Cruces, NM 88003
Tel: 575-646-5217
E-mail: serrano@nmsu.edu

NEW YORK

Anthony L. DePass, Ph.D.
Long Island University, Brooklyn
Department of Biology
One University Plaza
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Tel: 718-488-1487
E-mail: anthony.depass@liu.edu

Louise Hainline, Ph.D.
City University of New York, Brooklyn College
Department of Psychology
2900 Bedford Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11210
Tel: 718-951-5252
E-mail: louiseh@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Mark Steinberg, Ph.D.
City University of New York, City College
Department of Chemistry
160 Convent Avenue
New York, NY 10031
Tel: 212-650-8560
E-mail: marste@sci.ccny.cuny.edu
Web: http://www.sci.ccny.cuny.edu/rise Link to external Web site

Victoria N. Luine, Ph.D.
City University of New York, Hunter College
Department of Psychology
695 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10021
Tel: 212-772-4223
E-mail: vluine@hunter.cuny.edu
Web: http://rise.hunter.cuny.edu/?q=content/about-rise-program-hunter-college Link to external Web site

Mohsin Patwary, Ph.D.
Medgar Evers College
School of Science, Health & Technology
1638 Bedford Avenue
New York, NY 11225
Tel: 718-270-6217
E-mail: mohsin@mec.cuny.edu
Web: http://www.mec.cuny.edu/RISE Link to external Web site

NORTH CAROLINA

James E. Raynor, Ph.D.
Fayetteville State University
College of Basic and Applied Sciences
Helen T. Chick Building, Room 132
1200 Murchison Road
Fayetteville, NC 28301
Tel: 910-672-1659
E-mail: jraynor@uncfsu.edu

Goldie S. Byrd, Ph.D.
North Carolina A&T University
1601 E. Market Street
Greensboro, NC 27360
Tel: 336-285-2160
E-mail: gsbyrd@ncat.edu

Robert Poage, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina, Pembroke
One University Drive
P.O. Box 1510
Pembroke, NC 28372
Tel: 910-521-6209
E-mail: bob.poage@uncp.edu

Azeez A. Aileru, Ph.D.
Winston-Salem State University
115 South Chestnut Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
Tel: 336-761-5899
E-mail: ailerua@wssu.edu

PUERTO RICO

Caroline B. Appleyard, Ph.D.
Ponce School of Medicine
Department of Physiology and Pharmacology
Perez Marchand St. Urb. Industrial Reparada
Ponce, PR 00732-7004
Tel: 787-840-2575
E-mail: cappleyard@psm.edu
Web: http://12.205.86.155/rise Link to external Web site

Luis Cubano, Ph.D.
Universidad Central del Caribe
Avenida Laurel
Bayamon, PR 00960-6032
Tel: 787-798-3001 ext. 2150
E-mail: luis.cubano@uccaribe.edu
Web: http://rise.uccaribe.net Link to external Web site

Lilliam Lizardi, Ph.D.
Universidad del Este
P.O. Box 2010
Carolina, PR 00984-2010
Tel:  787-257-7373  ext. 3929
E-mail: lilizard@coqui.net

Robert G. Ross, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Cayey
Department of Biology
Barcelo Avenue
Cayey, PR 00736
Tel: 787-738-7473
E-mail: robert.ross@upr.edu

Aramis A. Villafane, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Humacao
Department of Biology
Humacao, PR 00791
Tel: 787-850-0000 ext. 9655
E-mail: aramis.villafane@upr.edu
Web: http://www.uprh.edu/rise Link to external Web site

Juan Lopez-Garriga, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez
Department of Chemistry
Call Box 9000
Mayaguez, PR 00981
Tel: 787-265-5453
E-mail: juan.lopez16@upr.edu
Web: http://rise.uprm.edu Link to external Web site

Carmen L. Cadilla, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences
Department of Biochemistry
P.O. Box 365067, OFC A626A
San Juan, PR 00936-5067
Tel: 787-754-4366
E-mail: ccadilla@rcm.upr.edu

Edu B. Suarez-Martinez, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Ponce
P.O. Box 7186
Ponce, PR 00732-7186
Tel: 787-844-8181 ext. 2358
Fax: 787-729-4064
E-mail: edubiomed2006@yahoo.com
Web: http://prise.uprp.edu/ Link to external Web site

Reginald W. Morales, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
Department of Chemistry
P.O. Box 23346
San Juan, PR 00931-3346
Tel: 787-764-0000
E-mail: rmorale@upracd.upr.clu.edu

SOUTH CAROLINA

Gloria S. McCutcheon, Ph.D.
Claflin University
Public Health Programs
400 Magnolia Street
Orangeburg, SC 29115
Tel: 803-535-5459
E-mail: gmccutcheon@claflin.edu

TENNESSEE

Maria F. Lima, Ph.D.
Meharry Medical College
School of Graduate Studies and Research
1005 D.B. Todd Boulevard
Nashville, TN 37208
Tel: 615-327-6703
E-mail: mflima@mmc.edu

TEXAS

Maria E. Alvarez, Ph.D.
El Paso Community College
Department of Biology
P.O. Box 20500
El Paso, TX 79998-0500
Tel: 915-831-5074
E-mail: mariaa@epcc.edu

Michael W. Lehker, Ph.D.
University of Texas at Brownsville
and Southmost College

School of Health Sciences
One West University Blvd.
Brownsville, TX 78520
Tel: 956-882-5778
E-mail: michael.lehker@utb.edu

Renato J. Aguilera, Ph.D.
University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Biological Sciences
500 West University Avenue
El Paso, TX 79968-0519
Tel: 915-747-6852
E-mail: raguilera@utep.edu
Web: http://www.rise.utep.edu Link to external Web site

Edwin J. Barea-Rodriguez, Ph.D.
University of Texas at San Antonio
Department of Biology
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
Tel: 210-458-4511
E-mail: edwin.barea@utsa.edu
Web: http://www.utsa.edu/mbrs Link to external Web site

Robert K. Dearth
University of Texas Pan American
Department of Biology
1201 W. University Drive
Edinburg, TX 78539-2999
Tel: 956-665-3537
E-mail: dearthrk@utpa.edu

VIRGIN ISLANDS

Teresa Turner, Ph.D.
University of the Virgin Islands
Division of Science and Math
2 John Brewer's Bay
St. Thomas, VI 00802-9990
Tel: 340-693-1382
E-mail: tturner@uvi.edu
Web: http://www.uvi.edu/research/emerging-caribbean-scientists-programs/programs1/mbrs-rise-research-scholars-program.aspx Link to external Web site

Related Information

This page last reviewed on March 01, 2016