Skip Over Navigation Links

RISE Participating Institutions

Alabama | California | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Illinois | Louisiana | Maryland | Mississippi | Montana | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | Puerto Rico | South Carolina | Tennessee | Texas | Virgin Islands


ALABAMA

Shree R. Singh, Ph.D.
Alabama State University
Department of Math and Science
915 South Jackson St.
Montgomery, AL 36101
Tel: 332-229-4168
Email: shreesingh03@gmail.com

Kenneth Laihing, Ph.D.
Oakwood College
7000 Adventist Blvd.
Huntsville, AL 35896
Tel: 256-726-7112
Email: laihing@oakwood.edu

CALIFORNIA

Jill Adler, Ph.D.
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
3801 W. Temple Ave.
Pomona, CA 91768
Tel: 909-869-4047
Email: jpadler@cpp.edu

Hernan L. Martinez, Ph.D.
California State University, Dominguez Hills
1000 East Victoria St.
Carson, CA 90747
Tel: 213-516-3300
Email: leoh@csudh.edu
Web: http://www4.csudh.edu/mbrs-marc Link to external Web site

Paul T. Buonora, Ph.D.
California State University, Long Beach
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
1250 Bellflower Blvd.
Long Beach, CA 90840-3903
Tel: 562-985-4936
Email: pbuonora@csulb.edu

Carlos G. Gutierrez, Ph.D.
California State University, Los Angeles
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032
Tel: 323-343-2356
Email: cgutier@calstatela.edu

Maria Elena B. Zavala, Ph.D.
California State University, Northridge
Department of Biology
18111 Nordhoff St.
Northridge, CA 91330-8303
Tel: 818-677-3342
Email: mariaelena.zavala@csun.edu

Cynthia A. Crawford, Ph.D.
California State University, San Bernardino
Department of Psychology
5500 University Parkway
San Bernardino, CA 92407
Tel: 909-537-7416
Email: ccrawfor@csusb.edu

Keith A. Trujillo, Ph.D.
California State University, San Marcos
Office for Training, Research and Education in the Sciences
333 South Twin Oaks Valley Road
San Marcos, CA 92096-0001
Tel: 760-750-4183
Email: keith@csusm.edu
Web: https://www.csusm.edu/otres/riseprogram Link to external Web site

Carmen Domingo, Ph.D.
San Francisco State University
Department of Biology
1600 Holloway Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94132
Tel: 415-338-6995
Email: cdomingo@sfsu.edu
Web: http://www.sfsu.edu/~seo/pages/RISEJrSrAnnounce.html Link to external Web site

Karen Singmaster, Ph.D.
San Jose State University
Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192
Tel: 408-924-4980
Email: singmast@aol.com

FLORIDA

Flona A. Redway, Ph.D.
Barry University
College of Arts and Sciences
11300 N.E. 2nd Ave.
Miami Shores, FL 33161
Tel: 305-899-3542
Email: fredway@mail.barry.edu
Web: http://www.barry.edu/rise Link to external Web site

Robert E. Lickliter, Ph.D.
Florida International University
Division of Research
11200 S.W. 8th St.
Miami, FL 33199
Tel: 305-348-2494
Email: licklite@fiu.edu
Web: http://rise.fiu.edu Link to external Web site

GEORGIA

Paul Musey, Ph.D.
Clark Atlanta University
Department of Biological Sciences
223 J.P. Brawley Drive, SW
Atlanta, GA 30314
Tel: 404-880-8000
Email: pmusey@cau.edu 

Jann Adams, Ph.D.
Morehouse College
Department of Psychology
Dansby Hall, Room 203-B
Atlanta, GA 30314
Tel: 404-215-2626
Email: jadams@morehouse.edu

Sandra Harris-Hooker, Ph.D.
Morehouse School of Medicine
Departments of Medicine and Pathology
720 Westview Drive, SW
Atlanta, GA 30310-1495
Tel: 404-752-1768
Email: hooker@msm.edu

Hua Zhao, Ph.D.
Savannah State University
Chemistry Program
P.O. Box 20600
3219 College St.
Savannah, GA 31404
Tel: 912-353-5290
Email: zhaoh@savstate.edu
Web: http://linux.savannahstate.edu/rise Link to external Web site

Dolores V. Bradley, Ph.D.
Spelman College
Psychology Department
Box 299, 350 Spelman Lane, SW
Atlanta, GA 30314
Tel: 404-270-5619
Email: dbradley@spelman.edu
Web: http://www.spelman.edu/academics/research-programs/rise Link to external Web site

HAWAII

Lynn Morrison, Ph.D.
University of Hawaii at Hilo
Department of Anthropology
200 W. Kāwili St.
Hilo, HI 96720
Tel: 808-932-7446
Email: lmorriso@hawaii.edu

ILLINOIS

Devi Prasad V. Potluri, Ph.D.
Chicago State University
Department of Biological Sciences
9501 South King Drive
Chicago, Il 60628
Tel: 773-995-2199
Email: vpotluri@csu.edu
Web: http://www.csu.edu/NIGMS/riseprogram.htm Link to external Web site

LOUISIANA

Maryam Foroozesh, Ph.D.
Xavier University of Louisiana
Department of Chemistry
1 Drexel Drive, Box 121-c
New Orleans, LA 70125
Tel: 504-520-5078
Email: mforooze@xula.edu

MARYLAND

Christine F. Hohmann, Ph.D.
Morgan State University
Department of Biology
1700 E. Cold Spring Lane
Baltimore, MD 21251
Tel: 443-885-4002
Email: chohmann@morgan.edu

MISSISSIPPI

Glake A. Hill, Ph.D.
Jackson State University
1400 JR Lynch St.
Jackson, MS 39217
Tel: 601-979-1699
Email: glakeh@icnanotox.org

MONTANA

Douglas K. Stevens, Ph.D.
Salish Kootenai College
SKC Environmental Laboratory
P.O. Box 70
Pablo, MT 59855
Tel: 406-275-4725
Email: doug_stevens@skc.edu

NEW MEXICO

Graciela Unguez, Ph.D.
New Mexico State University, Las Cruces
Biology Department
NMSU Box 30001-3AF
Las Cruces, NM 88003
Tel: 575-646-7963
Email: gunguez@nmsu.edu

NEW YORK

Mark Steinberg, Ph.D.
City University of New York, City College
Department of Chemistry
160 Convent Ave.
New York, NY 10031
Tel: 212-650-8560
Email: marste@sci.ccny.cuny.edu
Web: http://www.sci.ccny.cuny.edu/rise Link to external Web site

Benjamin Ortiz, Ph.D.
City University of New York, Hunter College
Department of Psychology
695 Park Ave.
New York, NY 10021
Tel: 212-772-5670
Email: ortiz@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu
Web: http://rise.hunter.cuny.edu Link to external Web site

Mohsin Patwary, Ph.D.
Medgar Evers College
School of Science, Health & Technology
1638 Bedford Ave.
New York, NY 11225
Tel: 718-270-6217
Email: mohsin@mec.cuny.edu
Web: http://www.mec.cuny.edu/RISE Link to external Web site

NORTH CAROLINA

James E. Raynor, Ph.D.
Fayetteville State University
College of Basic and Applied Sciences
Helen T. Chick Building, Room 132
1200 Murchison Road
Fayetteville, NC 28301
Tel: 910-672-1659
Email: jraynor@uncfsu.edu

Goldie S. Byrd, Ph.D.
North Carolina A&T University
1601 E. Market St.
Greensboro, NC 27360
Tel: 336-285-2160
Email: gsbyrd@ncat.edu

Azeez A. Aileru, Ph.D.
Winston-Salem State University
115 S. Chestnut St.
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
Tel: 336-761-5899
Email: ailerua@wssu.edu

PUERTO RICO

Caroline B. Appleyard, Ph.D.
Ponce School of Medicine
Department of Physiology and Pharmacology
Perez Marchand St. Urb. Industrial Reparada
Ponce, PR 00732-7004
Tel: 787-840-2575
Email: cappleyard@psm.edu
Web: http://12.205.86.155/rise Link to external Web site

Luis Cubano, Ph.D.
Universidad Central del Caribe
Avenida Laurel
Bayamon, PR 00960-6032
Tel: 787-798-3001 ext. 2150
Email: luis.cubano@uccaribe.edu
Web: http://rise.uccaribe.net Link to external Web site

Lilliam Lizardi, Ph.D.
Universidad del Este
P.O. Box 2010
Carolina, PR 00984-2010
Tel:  787-257-7373  ext. 3929
Email: lilizard@coqui.net

Vibha Bansal, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Cayey
Department of Biology
Barcelo Ave.
Cayey, PR 00736
Tel: 787-738-2161
Email: vibha_bansal2000@yahoo.co.uk

Carmen L. Cadilla, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences
Department of Biochemistry
P.O. Box 365067, OFC A626A
San Juan, PR 00936-5067
Tel: 787-754-4366
Email: ccadilla@rcm.upr.edu

Edu B. Suarez-Martinez, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Ponce
P.O. Box 7186
Ponce, PR 00732-7186
Tel: 787-844-8181 ext. 2358
Fax: 787-729-4064
Email: edubiomed2006@yahoo.com
Web: http://prise.uprp.edu Link to external Web site

Reginald W. Morales, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
Department of Chemistry
P.O. Box 23346
San Juan, PR 00931-3346
Tel: 787-764-0000
Email: rmorale@upracd.upr.clu.edu

SOUTH CAROLINA

Gloria S. McCutcheon, Ph.D.
Claflin University
Public Health Programs
400 Magnolia St.
Orangeburg, SC 29115
Tel: 803-535-5459
Email: gmccutcheon@claflin.edu

TENNESSEE

Maria F. Lima, Ph.D.
Meharry Medical College
School of Graduate Studies and Research
1005 D.B. Todd Blvd.
Nashville, TN 37208
Tel: 615-327-6703
Email: mflima@mmc.edu

TEXAS

Maria E. Alvarez, Ph.D.
El Paso Community College
Department of Biology
P.O. Box 20500
El Paso, TX 79998-0500
Tel: 915-831-5074
Email: mariaa@epcc.edu

Michael W. Lehker, Ph.D.
University of Texas at Brownsville
and Southmost College

School of Health Sciences
One West University Blvd.
Brownsville, TX 78520
Tel: 956-882-5778
Email: michael.lehker@utb.edu

Renato J. Aguilera, Ph.D.
University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Biological Sciences
500 W. University Ave.
El Paso, TX 79968-0519
Tel: 915-747-6852
Email: raguilera@utep.edu
Web: http://www.rise.utep.edu Link to external Web site

Edwin J. Barea-Rodriguez, Ph.D.
University of Texas at San Antonio
Department of Biology
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
Tel: 210-458-4511
Email: edwin.barea@utsa.edu
Web: http://www.utsa.edu/mbrs Link to external Web site

Robert K. Dearth, Ph.D.
University of Texas-Pan American
Department of Biology
1201 W. University Drive
Edinburg, TX 78539-2999
Tel: 956-665-3537
Email: dearthrk@utpa.edu

VIRGIN ISLANDS

Teresa Turner, Ph.D.
University of the Virgin Islands
Division of Science and Math
2 John Brewer's Bay
St. Thomas, VI 00802-9990
Tel: 340-693-1382
Email: tturner@uvi.edu
Web: http://www.uvi.edu/research/emerging-caribbean-scientists-programs/programs1/mbrs-rise-research-scholars-program.aspx Link to external Web site

Related Information

This page last reviewed on July 13, 2016