MARC U-STAR Participating Institutions

Arizona | California | Colorado | Florida | Georgia | Illinois | Louisiana | Maryland | Missouri | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Pennsylvania | Puerto Rico | Tennessee | Texas | Virginia | Virgin Islands | Washington, D.C.

ARIZONA

Matthew H.J. Cordes, Ph.D.
University of Arizona
Chemistry & Biochemistry
1041 E Lowell St.
Tucson, AZ 857218
Tel: 520-626-1175
Email: cordes@email.arizona.edu
http://cbc.arizona.edu/education/undergrad/research/marc Link to external Web site

CALIFORNIA

Joel H. Rothman, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Barbara
Neuroscience Research Institute
3227 Cheadle Hall
3rd Floor, MC 2050
Santa Barbara, CA 93106
Tel: 805-893-7885
Email: rothman@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Isabel C. Sumaya, Ph.D.
California State University, Bakersfield
Psychology Department
9001 Stockdale Highway
Bakersfield, CA 93311
Tel: 661-654-2381
Email: isumaya@csub.edu

Hernan Leonardo Martinez, Ph.D.
California State University, Dominguez Hills
Department of Biology
1000 East Victoria St.
Carson, CA 90747
Tel: 213-516-3300
Email: leoh@cali.csudh.edu

Amybeth Cohen, Ph.D.
California State University, Fullerton
800 North State College Blvd.
Fullerton, CA 92834-9480
Tel: 657-278-2178
Email: acohen@fullerton.edu
http://marc.fullerton.edu Link to external Web site

Vasanthy Narayanaswami, Ph.D.
California State University, Long Beach
1250 Bellflower Blvd.
Long Beach, CA 90840
Tel: 562-985-4953
Email: vnarayan@chori.org

Linda M. Tunstad, Ph.D.
California State University, Los Angeles
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032
Tel: 323-343-2307
Email: ltunsta@calstatela.edu
http://www.calstatela.edu/centers/moreprograms/ustar/index.htm Link to external Web site

Maria Elena Zavala, Ph.D.
California State University, Northridge
Department of Biology
18111 Nordhoff St.
Northridge, CA 91330-8303
Tel: 818-677-4981
Email: mariaelena.zavala@csun.edu
http://www.csun.edu/~csunmore Link to external Web site

Sanders McDougall, Ph.D.
California State University, San Bernardino
5500 University Parkway
San Bernardino, CA 92407-5940
Tel: 909-537-5581
Email: smcdouga@csusb.edu

Keith Trujillo, Ph.D.
California State University, San Marcos
333 S. Twin Oaks Valley Road
San Marcos, CA 92096
Tel: 760-750-4084
Email: keith@csusm.edu
http://www.csusm.edu/otres/Studentprograms/marc.html Link to external Web site

Catherine Atkins, Ph.D.
San Diego State University
College of Sciences
5500 Campanile Drive MC 1010
San Diego, CA 92182-1010
Tel: 619-594-5732
Email: catkins@mail.sdsu.edu
http://www.sci.sdsu.edu/usp/marc Link to external Web site

Esquerra, M. Raymond, Ph.D
San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94132
Tel: 415-338-3444
Email: esquerra@sfsu.edu
http://www.sfsu.edu/~seo/pages/MARCdesc.html Link to external Web site

Cleber Costa Ouverney, Ph.D.
San Jose State University
Department of Biological Sciences
San Jose, CA 95125
Tel: 408-924-4806
Email: cleber.ouverney@sjsu.edu
http://www.sjsu.edu/biology/special-programs/marc Link to external Web site

Aldrin V. Gomes, Ph.D.
University of California, Davis
One Shields Ave., NPB-Briggs Hall
Davis, CA 95616
Tel: 530-752-3207
Email: avgomes@ucdavis.edu

Luis M. Mota-Bravo, Ph.D.
University of California, Irvine
1106 Biological Sciences III
Irvine, CA 92697-2527
Tel: 949-824-5680
Email: lmota@uci.edu
http://port.bio.uci.edu/MARC Link to external Web site

Rudy Ortiz, Ph.D.
University of California, Merced
5200 North Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
Tel: 209-228-2964
Email: rortiz@ucmerced.edu

Megan. M. McEvoy, Ph.D
University of California, Los Angeles
Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics
Boyer Hall Rm 302
611 Charles E. Young Drive, E
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Tel: 310-825-9635
Email: McEvoy@microbio.ucla.edu
http://www.ugeducation.ucla.edu/urc-care/scholmarc.htm Link to external Web site

Ernest Martinez, Ph.D.
University of California, Riverside
Biochemistry Department
443 Boyce Hall
Riverside, CA 92521-0121
Tel: 951-827-2031
Email: ernest.martinez@ucr.edu
http://www.marcu.ucr.edu Link to external Web site

Alan M. Zahler, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Cruz
Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
Tel: 831-459-5131
Email: zahler@biology.ucsc.edu
http://stemdiv.ucsc.edu/marc Link to external Web site

COLORADO

Steven D. Fenster, Ph.D.
Fort Lewis College
Department of Biology
1000 Rim Drive
Durango, CO 81301
Tel: 970-247-7327
Email: sdfenster@fortlewis.edu

Richard Allen, Ph.D.
University of Colorado, Denver
Department of Psychology
1200 Larimer St., Campus Box 173
Denver, CO 80201
Tel: 303-556-6740
Email: richard.allen@ucdenver.edu

FLORIDA

David Julian, Ph.D.
University of Florida Board of Trustees
219 Grinter Hall, PO Box 115500
Gainesville, FL 32611
Tel: 352-392-5878
Email: djulian@ufl.edu

DeEtta K. Mills, Ph.D.
Florida International University
Division of Sponsored Research and Training
11200 SW 8 St., MARC 430
Miami, FL 33199
Tel: 305-348-7410
Email: millsd@fiu.edu
http://rise.fiu.edu/marcustar Link to external Web site

Karen S. Molek, Ph.D.
University of West Florida
Department of Chemistry
11000 University Parkway
Pensacola, FL 32514
Tel: 850-474-2799
Email: ksmolek@uwf.edu

GEORGIA

Cecil L. Jones, Ph.D.
Savannah State University
3219 College St.
Savannah, GA 31401
Tel: 912-358-4453
Email: jonesce@savstate.edu
http://linux.savannahstate.edu/MARC Link to external Web site

Triscia W. Hendrickson, Ph.D.
Morehouse College
830 Westview Drive, SW
Atlanta, GA 30314
Tel: 404-653-7875
Email: triscia.hendrickson@morehouse.edu

ILLINOIS

Ruth Church, Ph.D.
Northeastern Illinois University
Department of Psychology
5500 N. St. Louis Ave.
Chicago, IL 60625-4699
Tel: 773-442-5837
Email: B-Church1@neiu.edu

LOUISIANA

Ruby Broadway, Ph.D.
Dillard University
School of STEM
Biology Department
2601 Gentilly Blvd.
New Orleans, LA 70122
Tel: 504-816-4725
Email: rbroadway@dillard.edu

Naidu V. Seetala, Ph.D.
Grambling State University
P.O. Box 569
Grambling, LA 71245
Tel: 318-274-2574
Email: naidusv@gram.edu
http://www.gram.edu/academics/majors/arts-and-sciences/resources/marc Link to external Web site

Teresa T. Birdwhistell, Ph.D.
Xavier University of Louisiana
Department of Chemistry
1 Drexel Drive
New Orleans, LA 70125
Tel: 504-483-7370
Email: tbirdwhi@xula.edu

MARYLAND

Phyllis R. Robinson, Ph.D.
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Department of Biological Sciences
1000 Hilltop Circle
Baltimore, MD 21250
Tel: 410-455-2997
Email: probinso@umbc.edu
http://www.umbc.edu/MARC Link to external Web site

MISSOURI

James B. Skeath, Ph.D.
Washington University
Department of Genetics
4523 Clayton Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63110
Tel: 314-362-0535
Email: jskeath@genetics.wustl.edu

NEW MEXICO

Cristina D. Takacs-Vesbach, Ph.D.
University of New Mexico
UNM Biology MSC03 2020
1 UNM
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Tel: 505-277-3418/3316
Email: cvesbach@unm.edu

Michael D. Johnson, Ph.D.
New Mexico State University, Las Cruces
Director of the Office of Grants and Contracts
MSC 3C
P.O. Box 30001
Las Cruces, NM 88003
Tel: 575-646-4041
Email: johnson@nmsu.edu
http://chemistry.nmsu.edu/~research/MARC Link to external Web site

NEW YORK

Karen Singer-Freeman, Ph.D.
Purchase College
State University of New York
School of Natural and Social Sciences
735 Anderson Hill Road
Purchase, NY 10577
Tel: 914-251-6683
Email: karen.singer-freeman@purchase.edu

Louise Hainline, Ph.D.
Brooklyn College Research Foundation
2900 Bedford Ave.
4311 James Hall
Brooklyn, NY 11210
Tel: 718-951-5610
Email: louiseh@brooklyn.cuny.edu
http://www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/web/academics/honors-academy/programs/marc.php Link to external Web site

Jonathan Levitt, Ph.D.
City University of New York, City College
Biology MR526
Convent Ave. at 138th St.
New York, NY 10031
Tel: 212-650-8539
Email: jlevitt@ccny.cuny.edu

Derrick Brazill, Ph.D.
City University of New York, Hunter College
695 Park Ave.
New York, NY 10065
Tel: 212-650-3144
Email: brazill@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu
http://marc.hunter.cuny.edu Link to external Web site

Zahra Zakeri, Ph.D.
City University of New York, Queens College
Department of Biology
65-30 Kissena Blvd.
Flushing, NY 11367
Tel: 718-997-3417
Email: zahra.zakeri@qc.cuny.edu
http://www.qc.cuny.edu/academics/honors/marc Link to external Web site

NORTH CAROLINA

Daniel J. Herr, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina Greensboro
1111 Spring Garden Street
2702 MHRA Building
Greensboro, NC 27412
Tel: 718-997-3417
Email: djherr@uncg.edu

Hirendra N. Banerjee, Ph.D.
Elizabeth City State University, a University of North Carolina Campus
Department of Natural Sciences
Jenkins Science Center, Room 425
Campus Box 930,
1704 Weeksville Road
Elizabeth City, NC 27909
Tel: 252-335-3241
Email: bhirendranath@mail.ecsu.edu

Mary Smith, Ph.D.
North Carolina A&T State University
1601 East Market St.
Greensboro, NC 27411-0001
Tel: 336-285-2160
Email: smithma@ncat.edu

Mamudu Yakubu, Ph.D.
Winston-Salem State University
115 South Chestnut St.
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
Tel: 336-750-2543
Email: yakubuma@wssu.edu

NORTH DAKOTA

Glenda N. Lindseth, Ph.D.
University of North Dakota
Department of Nursing, Box 9025
Grand Forks, ND 58202
Tel: 701-777-4506
Email: glenda.lindseth@und.edu

PENNSYLVANIA

Jacqueline C. Tanaka, Ph.D.
Temple University
College of Science and Technology
1900 N. 12th St.
Biology Life Sciences Building, Room 255
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Tel: 215-204-8868
Email: jtanaka@temple.edu

PUERTO RICO

Carlos Rios-Velazquez, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez
Department of Biology               
P.O. Box 9000  
Mayaguez, PR 00681    
Tel: 787-265-3837
Email: carlos.rios5@upr.edu
http://academic.uprm.edu/marc Link to external Web site

Edwin E. Traverso, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Humacao
Department of Biology
HUC Postal Station
Guaynabo, PR 00931
Tel: 787-850-9388
Email: edwin.traverso@upr.edu

Nestor M. Carballeira, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
Department of Chemistry
P.O. Box 70377
San Juan, PR 00936-8377
Tel: 787-764-0000
Email: nestor.carballeira1@upr.edu
http://brtcpr.com/marc Link to external Web site

TENNESSEE

Lee E Limbird, Ph.D.
Fisk University
School of Natural Sciences
1000 17th Ave. N
Nashville, TN 37208
Tel: 615-329-1917
Email: llimbird@fisk.edu

Margaret M. Whalen, Ph.D.
Tennessee State University
Department of Chemistry
3500 John A. Merritt Blvd.
Nashville, TN 37209
Tel: 615-963-5247
Email: mwhalen@tnstate.edu

TEXAS

Timothy Raabe, Ph.D.
St. Mary's University
Department of Biological Sciences
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228
Tel: 210-431-4321
Email: traabe@stmarytx.edu
https://www.stmarytx.edu/academics/set/centers-special-programs/marcLink to external Web site

Keith H. Pannell, Ph.D.
University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Chemistry
Physical Science Building
El Paso, TX 79968-0513
Tel: 915-747-5796
Email: kpannell@utep.edu
http://marc.utep.edu Link to external Web site

Edwin Barea-Rodriguez, Ph.D.
University of Texas at San Antonio
Department of Biology
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249-0600
Tel: 210-458-5842
Email: edwin.barea@utsa.edu
http://www.utsa.edu/marc Link to external Web site

VIRGINIA

Cindy Thomas-Charles, Ph.D.
Hampton University
Department of Biological Science
Hampton, VA 23668
Tel: 757-727-5267
Email: cindy.thomascharles@hamptonu.edu

Alvin A. Holder, Ph.D., FRSC, CChem
Old Dominion University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
4541 Hampton Boulevard
Norfolk, VA 23529
Tel: 757-683-7102
Email: aholder@odu.edu

VIRGIN ISLANDS

Teresa Turner, Ph.D.
University of the Virgin Islands
2 John Brewer's Bay
St. Thomas, VI 00802-9990
Tel: 340-693-1382
Email: tturner@uvi.edu

WASHINGTON, D.C.

Shawn Abernathy, Ph.D.
Howard University
Chemistry Department
525 College St., NW
Washington, DC 20904
Tel: 202-806-7504
Email: sabernathy@howard.edu