Skip Over Navigation Links

Biotechnology Predoctoral Research Training Program Institutions

For award period 7/1/2016 - 6/30/2017

California | Colorado | Georgia | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | New Jersey | New York |
North Carolina | Virginia | Washington | Wisconsin

CALIFORNIA

Frances H. Arnold
California Institute of Technology
Department of Chemical Engineering
228B Spalding
Mail Code 210-41
Pasadena, CA 91125
Tel: 626-395-4162
Fax: 626-568-8743
http://www.trainingbiotechleaders.caltech.edu Link to external Web site

Jennifer R. Cochran
Stanford University
Department of Bioengineering
James Clark Center W250
318 Campus Drive W, MC 5439
Stanford, CA 94305
Tel: 650-724-7808
Fax:650-725-2952
Email: jennifer.cochran@stanford.edu
https://sites.stanford.edu/gtpb Link to external Web site

David V. Schaffer
University of California, Berkeley
Department of Chemical Engineering
274 Stanley Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-3220
Tel: 510-643-5693
Fax: 510-642-4778
Email: schaffer@berkeley.edu
http://stemcelltraining.berkeley.edu Link to external Web site

Kent J. Leach
University of California, Davis
Department of Biomedical Engineering
451 Health Sciences Drive, 2303 GBSF
One Shields Ave.
Davis, CA 95616
Tel: 530-754-9149
Email: jkleach@ucdavis.edu
http://www.niht32.ucdavis.edu Link to external Web site

Yi Tang
University of California, Los Angeles
Chemical and Biological Engineering Department
5531-D Boelter Hall
Box 951592
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1592
Tel: 310-825-0375
Fax: 310-206-4107
Email: yitang@ucla.edu
https://sites.google.com/site/btbseucla Link to external Web site

William H. Gerwick
University of California, San Diego
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Center for Marine Biotechnology
9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0212
La Jolla, CA 92093 
Tel: 858-534-0578 
Fax: 858-534-0529
Email: wgerwick@ucsd.edu
https://scripps.ucsd.edu/cmbb/training-program-marine-biotechnology Link to external Web site

COLORADO

Theodore W. Randolph
University of Colorado at Boulder
Engineering Center ECCH 111
Boulder, CO 80309
Tel: 303-492-4776
Fax: 303-492-4341
Email: theodore.randolph@colorado.edu

GEORGIA

Andres J. Garcia
Georgia Institute of Technology
Institute of Bioengineering & Bioscience
315 Ferst Drive, NW
Atlanta, GA 30332-0363
Tel: 404-894-9384
Fax: 404-385-1397
Email: andres.garcia@me.gatech.edu
http://petitinstitute.gatech.edu/cellular-tissue-engineering Link to external Web site

ILLINOIS

William M. Miller
Northwestern University
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
2145 Sheridan Road, Room E136
Evanston, IL 60208-3120
Tel: 847-491-4828
Fax: 847-491-3728
Email: wmmiller@northwestern.edu
http://www.biotechtraining.northwestern.edu Link to external Web site

IOWA

Amnon Kohen
University of Iowa
Department of Chemistry
315 CB
Iowa City, IA 52242
Tel: 319-335-0234
Fax: 319-335-1270
Email: amnon-kohen@uiowa.edu
http://cbb.research.uiowa.edu Link to external Web site

KANSAS

Teruna J. Siahaan
University of Kansas
Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
2095 Constant Ave.
Lawrence, KS 66047
Tel: 785-864-7327
Fax: 785-864-5736
Email: siahaan@ku.edu
http://pharmchem.ku.edu/overview-biotechnology-training-program Link to external Web site

MASSACHUSETTS

Karl D. Wittrup
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Department of Chemical Engineering
77 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02139
Tel: 617-253-4578
Fax: 617-258-5766
Email: wittrup@mit.edu
http://btp.mit.edu Link to external Web site

Barbara A. Osborne
University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Department of Veterinary and Animal Sciences
427F Integrated Sciences Building
Amherst, MA 01003
Tel: 413-545-4882
Fax: 413-545-1446
Email: osborne@vasci.umass.edu
https://btp.umass.edu Link to external Web site

MICHIGAN

Robert L. Last
Michigan State University
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
and Department of Plant Biology
603 Wilson Road, Room 301
East Lansing, MI 48824
Tel: 517-432-3278
Fax: 517-353-9334
Email: lastr@msu.edu
http://plantmetabolism.natsci.msu.edu Link to external Web site

Andrew J. Putman
University of Michigan at Ann Arbor
Department of Biomedical Engineering
2154 LBME Building
1101 Beal Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Tel: 734-615-1398
Email: putnam@umich.edu
http://cbtp.engin.umich.edu Link to external Web site

MINNESOTA

Wei-Shou Hu
University of Minnesota
Biotechnology Institute
140 Gortner Laboratory
1479 Gortner Ave.
St. Paul, MN 55108
Tel: 612-625-0546
Fax: 612-626-7246
Email: wshu@cems.umn.edu
http://www.bti.umn.edu/BiotechTraining Link to external Web site

NEW JERSEY

Martin L. Yarmush
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Department of Biomedical Engineering
599 Taylor Road
Piscataway, NJ 08854
Tel: 732-445-4500
Fax: 732-445-3753
Email: yarmush@rci.rutgers.edu
http://biotechnology.rutgers.edu Link to external Web site

NEW YORK

Deepak Vashishth
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
110 8th St.
Troy, NY 12180
Tel: 518-276-2296/4050
Fax: 518-276-4233
Email: vashid@rpi.edu
http://biotech.rpi.edu/students/nih-training-program Link to external Web site

NORTH CAROLINA

Charles Gersbach
Duke University
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Box 90281
136 Hudson Hall
Durham, NC 27708-0281
Tel: 919-613-2147
Fax: 919-660-5362
Email: charles.gersbach@duke.edu
http://cbte.pratt.duke.edu Link to external Web site

Robert M. Kelly
North Carolina State University, Raleigh
Department of Chemical Engineering
3309 Partners Building II, Box 7905
Raleigh, NC 27695-7905
Tel: 919-515-6396
Fax: 919-515-3465
Email: rmkelly@eos.ncsu.edu
http://biotech.ncsu.edu/pages/nih-biotechnology-traineeships Link to external Web site

VIRGINIA

Gordon W. Laurie
University of Virginia, Charlottesville
Department of Cell Biology
P.O. Box 800732
Health Sciences Center
Charlottesville, VA 22908-0732
Tel: 434-924-5250
Fax: 434-982-3912
Email: glaurie@virginia.edu
http://faculty.virginia.edu/biotech Link to external Web site

WASHINGTON

Margaret E. Black
Washington State University
School of Molecular Biosciences
P.O. Box 647520
Biotech/Life Sciences Building
Pullman, WA 99164-7520
Tel: 509-335-6265
Fax: 509-335-4159
Email: blackm@wsu.edu
http://www.nihbiotech.wsu.edu Link to external Web site

WISCONSIN

Brian G. Fox
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Microbial Sciences Building
1550 Linden Drive, Room 1324
Madison, WI 53706
Tel: 608-262-6753
Fax: 608-262-9865
Email: biotech@bact.wisc.edu
http://btp.wisc.edu Link to external Web site

This page last reviewed on September 15, 2016