Exceptional, Unconventional Research Enabling Knowledge Acceleration (EUREKA) Grants

Note: This is an archived page that is not updated.

September 2010*

National Institute of General Medical Sciences

Joshua Michael Akey, University of Washington
“Heritable Variation of mRNA Decay Rates: An Unappreciated Source of Gene Expression Variation”

Michael D. Burkart, University of California, San Diego
“OASIS to Identify and Analyze Natural Product Biosynthesis”

Geoffrey A. Chang, Scripps Research Institute
“Affinity Maturation Via in vitro Evolution at the Lab Bench-Top”

Paul R. Copeland, University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey/Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
“Expanding the Genetic Code in Yeast”

Craig M. Crews, Yale University
“Towards Mammalian Limb Regeneration”

Pieter C. Dorrestein, University of California, San Diego
“Real-Time Imaging of Metabolic Communication”

Andrew D. Ellington, University of Texas, Austin
“Amorphous Computation with Transcription Logic Gates”

Anne Gershenson, Lila Gierasch and Daniel Hebert, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
“Post-Reductionist Protein Folding: Determining the In-Cell Folding Energy Landscape of a Serpin”

Dmitri O. Lapotka, Rice University
“Cell Theranostics with Tunable Plasmonic Nanobubbles”

Andrej Luptak, University of California, Irvine
“Luminescent RNAs”

Robert C. Piper and Michael E. Wright, University of Iowa
“Quantitative Mapping of Ubiquitin Ligase Substrates”

Donald C. Rio, University of California, Berkeley
“Methods for Purification of Individual Nuclear Pre-Messenger RNA-Protein Complexes”

Jaime Antonio Rivera-Perez, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester
“Epiblast Complementation Chimeras”

Christian E. Schafmeister, Temple University
“Development of Protein Surface Binding, Low Entropy Oligomers”

Hanno Steen, Children’s Hospital, Boston
“Defining the True Nature of the Minimal Cell Cycle with Quantitative Proteomics”

Ching-Hsuan Tung, Methodist Hospital Research Institute, Texas
“Sound Excitable Drugs”

Frantisek Turecek, University of Washington
“Interfacing Droplets with Mass Spectrometry for Single-Cell Analysis”

Torsten Wittmann, University of California, San Francisco
“Light-Activated Proteolysis as a Tool to Analyze Intracellular Protein Function”

Soichiro Yamada, University of California, Davis
“Cell Adhesion Mediated Self-Recognition”

Robert J. Woods, University of Georgia
”Integrating Experiment and Theory to Characterize Diagnostic Antibody Specificity”

*This list does not include EUREKA grants funded by other NIH components. To view a list of all awards, go to NIH Reporter and enter RFA-GM-10-009 in the field titled “RFA/PA.”