NIGMS Standing Review Committees

NIGMS has four standing review committees. These committees review the flagship training programs for the institute. Reviewers on the committees have extensive experience in training programs and they are appointed for 2-to-6 year terms. These committees each meet three times a year to review that round of applications. These reviewers are also involved in the site visits of selected programs.

The TWD-A and TWD-B committees routinely review predoctoral T32 programs. There is considerable overlap in expertise between the two committees to be able to manage conflict applications. When necessary, ad hoc reviewers are used to bolster appropriate expertise on each committee. The predoctoral T32 applications are divided between the TWD-A and TWD-B committees to balance workload and to avoid conflicts. Post-doctoral T32 programs are reviewed by a separate special emphasis panel (SEP) through this office.

The TWD-A committee’s SRO is Dr. Isaah Vincent
The TWD-B committee’s SRO is Dr. Lisa Newman

The TWD-C and TWD-D committees handle a more diverse set of applications. They review: MARC (T34), RISE (T32/T34), Bridges to the Doctorate (T32), Bridges to the Baccalaureate (T34), IRACDA (K12), PREP (R25) and IMSD (T32) programs. Both TWD-C and TWD-D committees review all these types of programs, which are divided between the two to avoid conflict and to balance workload.

The TWD-C committee’s SRO is Dr. Lee Slice
The TWD-D committee’s SRO is Dr. Tracy Koretsky

Site Visits

As part of NIGMS’s commitment to training, workgroups from the standing committees may site visit programs as part of the review process. Site visits are at the discretion of the NIGMS Scientific Review Branch and are typically used as a tool to clarify specific components of a training program.