Skip Over Navigation Links

3rd NIGMS Workshop on Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research: Recent Progress and Future Directions of NIGMS Grantees

September 30 – October 1, 2009

WORKSHOP SUMMARY

The purpose of this workshop was to provide an opportunity for NIGMS grantees conducting human embryonic stem cell research to report on their recent progress, to exchange information, and to identify problems, challenges, and opportunities associated with this rapidly developing research area. The workshop brought together a broad spectrum of scientists working on embryonic and induced pluripotent stem cell research that reflects the breadth of basic research supported by NIGMS. There were 65 participants, including 54 NIGMS grantees (R01 awardees and members of 5 Program Projects for Basic Research on Human Embryonic Stem Cells, P01). NIH staff members also were present. The agenda and list of participants are below.

Agenda

Wednesday, September 30, 2009
Natcher Conference Center Room F1/F2

8:00 – 8:30 AM Morning refreshments
8:30 – 8:45 AM Welcome and Introduction
Jeremy Berg and Marion Zatz
8:45 – 10:00 AM Session I: Pluripotency and Self-renewal
Chair: James Thomson
8:45 – 9:05 AM Regulation of hESC self-renewal by Nanog protein complexes
Zhou Songyang
9:05 – 9:25 AM Self-renewal
Stephen Dalton
9:25 – 9:45 AM Ronin in hESC
Thomas Zwaka
9:45 – 10:00AM Discussion
10:00 – 10:30 AM Break
10:30 – 11:45 AM Session I continued
Chair: James Thomson
10:30 – 10:50 AM Role of P53 in hESC
Michelle Barton
10:50 – 11:10 AM Role of GCNF in restricting hES pluripotency
Austin Cooney
11:10 – 11:30 AM Role of hypoxia in stemness
Hannele Ruohola-Baker
11:30 – 11:45 AM Discussion
11:45 - 1:00 PM Lunch and informal discussions
1:00 – 3:00 PM Session II: Technological Approaches
Chair: Jerome Zack
1:00 – 1:20 PM Suspension culture and drug screening
Allan Robins
1:20 – 1:40 PM Proteomics technology development
Lloyd Smith
1:40 – 2:00 PM Glycoproteomics
Michael Tiemeyer
2:00 – 2:20 PM Development of defined surfaces for growth and differentiation of hESC
April Pyle
2:20 – 2:40 PM Global mapping of chromosomal interactions
Zhijun Duan
2:40 – 3:00 PM Discussion
3:00 – 5:30 PM Poster Session and refreshments
Natcher Conference Center Room E1/E2

Thursday, October 1, 2009
Natcher Conference Center Room F1/F2

7:30 - 8:15 AM Morning refreshments
8:15 - 10:00 AM Session III: Differentiation
Chair: C. Anthony Blau
8:15 - 8:35 AM Wnt signaling in hESCs
Kathy Davidson
8:35 - 8:55 AM BMP signaling and exiting the pluripotent state
Guangjin Pan
8:55 - 9:15 AM Epigenetic preprogramming leading to differentiation bias
Yi Sun
9:15 - 9:35 AM Epigenetic differences in germ cells derived from pluripotent cells
Amander Clark
9:35 - 10:00AM Discussion
10:00- 10:30 AM Break
10:30 - 11:45 AM Session III continued
Chair: Stephen Dalton
10:30 - 10:50 AM Histone modification and the phosphoproteome
Joshua Coon
10:50 - 11:10 AM DNA replication and epigenetics
David Gilbert
11:10 - 11:30 AM Histone deacetylase inhibition and pluripotency
Carol Ware
11:30 - 11:45 AM Discussion
11:45 - 1:00 PM Lunch and informal discussions
1:00 - 2:45 PM Session IV: Directed Lineage Pathways
Chair: Margaret Goodell
1:00 - 1:20 PM Neuroretinal differentiation
Thomas Reh
1:20 - 1:40 PM Cardiomyocyte differentiation
Charles Murry
1:40 - 2:00 PM T-cell development from hESC
Jerome Zack
2:00 - 2:20 PM Hematopoietic differentiation of human iPS cells
Igor Slukvin
2:20 - 2:40 PM Discussion
2:45 - 3:30 PM Session V: Future Directions and Challenges
Chair: Marion Zatz
2:45 - 3:00 PM Human iPS cells and the future of human ES cell research
James Thomson
3:00 - 3:30 PM Open discussion
Panel: C. A. Blau, S. Dalton, M. Goodell, J. Thomson, J. Zack
3:30 PM Adjourn

 

Workshop Participants

Carl C. Baker, M.D., Ph.D.
Program Director
Division of Skin and Rheumatic Diseases
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
6701 Democracy Boulevard
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-435-1240
E-mail: ccb@nih.gov

Michelle Barton, Ph.D.
Professor
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
1515 Holcombe Boulevard, Unit 1000
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-834-6268
E-mail: mbarton@mdanderson.org

Jeremy Berg, Ph.D.
Director
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
45 Center Drive, Mail Stop Code 6200
Bethesda, MD 20872
E-mail: bergj@mail.nih.gov

C. Anthony Blau, M.D.
Co-Director, Institute for Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine
Division of Hematology
Department of Medicine
University of Washington Medicine at South Lake Union
815 Mercer Street
Room N535, Box 358056
Seattle, WA 98109
Phone: 206-685-6873
E-mail: tblau@u.washington.edu

Amander Clark
David Geffen School of Medicine at University
of California, Los Angeles
621 Charles E. Young Drive South
Los Angeles, CA 90095
E-mail: clarka@ucla.edu

Joshua Coon
University of Wisconsin–Madison
1101 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
E-mail: jcoon@chem.wisc.edu

Austin John Cooney, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Molecular and Cellular Biology
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza, Suite M626A
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-798-6250
E-mail: acooney@bcm.edu

Stephen Dalton, Ph.D.
University of Georgia College of Public Health
500 D.W. Brooks Drive, Room 245
Athens, GA 30602
E-mail: sdalton@uga.edu

Kathryn C. Davidson, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Health Hazard Information Module
Department of Pharmacology
University of Washington Medicine at South Lake Union
815 Mercer Street
Campus Box 358056, Room S576
Seattle, WA 98109
Phone: 206-543-5519
E-mail: davidsok@u.washington.edu

Tanja Dominko, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Department of Biology and Biotechnology
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
100 Institute Road
Worcester, MA 01609
Phone: 508-831-4108
E-mail: tdominko@wpi.edu

Zhijun Duan, Ph.D.
Division of Hematology
Department of Medicine
University of Washington Medicine
at South Lake Union
815 Mercer Street, Room N530
Seattle, WA 98109
Phone: 206-543-3363
E-mail: zjduan@u.washington.edu

Lisa Dunbar, Ph.D.
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
9000 Rockville Pike
Building 50, Room 3AS12B
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: 301-594-2849
E-mail: lisa.dunbar@nih.gov

Aundrietta DeVan Duncan
Graduate Student
The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
1515 Holcombe Boulevard, Unit 1000
Houston, TX 77030
E-mail: aduncan86@aol.com

Yuhong Fan, Ph.D.
School of Biology
Georgia Institute of Technology
315 Ferst Drive, IBB 2313
Atlanta, GA 30332
E-mail: yuhong.fan@biology.gatech.edu

Zoran Galic, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Medicine
David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California, Los Angeles
615 Charles E. Young Drive South
BSRB, Room 173
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Phone: 310-429-5595
E-mail: zgalic@ucla.edu

David M. Gilbert, Ph.D.
Professor
Biological Science
Florida State University
319 Stadium Drive
Tallahassee, FL 32306
E-mail: gilbert@bio.fsu.edu

Margaret Goodell, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Pediatrics
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza, BCM 505
Alkek Building, Room N1030
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-798-1246
E-mail: goodell@bcm.edu

Judith H. Greenberg, Ph.D.
Director
Division of Genetics and Developmental Biology
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
45 Center Drive
Building 45, Room 2As25
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-594-0943
E-mail: greenbej@nigms.nih.gov

Preethi H. Gunaratne, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Pathology
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-743-2686
E-mail: preethig@bcm.tmc.edu

Susan Haynes, Ph.D.
Program Director
Genetics and Developmental Biology
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
45 Center Drive
Mail Stop Code 6200, Room 2AS.25
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-594-0943
E-mail: hayness@nigms.nih.gov

Calley Hirsch, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
The University of Texas M. D. Anderson
Cancer Center
1515 Holcombe Boulevard
Houston, TX 77030
E-mail: clhirsch@mdanderson.org

Karen Hirschi, Ph.D.
Professor
Center for Cell & Gene Therapy
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza
BCM 505, N1020
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-798-7771
E-mail: khirschi@bcm.tmc.edu

Michelina Iacovino, Ph.D.
University of Minnesota
121 Washington Avenue South, #1604
Minneapolis, MN 55401
E-mail: iacov008@umn.edu

Abhinav Jain, B.Pharm., M.S., Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
1515 Holcombe Boulevard, Unit 1000
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-834-6271
E-mail: ajain@mdanderson.org

Rebecca Johnson
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
45 Center Drive, Room 3AN.18C
Bethesda, MD 20892
E-mail: johnsore@nigms.nih.gov

Michael Kyba, Ph.D.
Lillehei Heart Institute
University of Minnesota Medical School
312 Church Street, SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
E-mail: kyba@umn.edu

Deepak Lamba, M.D., Ph.D.
Senior Fellow
Department of Biological Structure
University of Washington Medicine at South Lake Union
815 Mercer Street
Room S541, Box 358056
Seattle, WA 98109
Phone: 206-221-0605
E-mail: lamba@u.washington.edu

Jiancong Liang
Graduate Student
Biochemistry
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77054
E-mail: jl148006@bcm.edu

Alisa Machalek
Science Writer
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
45 Center Drive
Mail Stop Code 6200, Room 3AN.32
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-496-7301
E-mail: alisa.machalek@nih.gov

Julie Mathieu, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Department of Biochemistry
Institute for Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine
University of Washington Medicine
at South Lake Union
815 Mercer Street
Seattle, WA 98109
E-mail: jmathieu@u.washington.edu

Brian Mcintosh, Ph.D.
Genome Center of Wisconsin
University of Wisconsin–Madison
425 Henry Mall
Madison, WI 53706
E-mail: bemcintosh@wisc.edu

Robert Milczarek
Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza, T-105
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-798-7471
E-mail: milczare@bcm.edu

Chuck Murry, M.D., Ph.D.
Pathology and Bioengineering
Center for Cardiovascular Biology
University of Washington Medicineat South Lake Union
815 Mercer Street, Room 454
Seattle, WA 98109
Phone: 206-616-8684
E-mail: murry@u.washington.edu

Linda P. O'Reilly, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
200 Lothrop Street
E1211 Biomedical Tower
Pittsburgh, PA 15261
Phone: 412-648-9240
E-mail: loreilly@pitt.edu

Lil Pabon, Ph.D.
Center for Cardiovascular Biology
University of Washington Medicine at South Lake Union
815 Mercer Street
Seattle, WA 98109
E-mail: lmp@u.washington.edu

Guangjin Pan, Ph.D.
Genome Center of Wisconsin
University of Wisconsin-Madison
425 Henry Mall
Madison, WI 53706
E-mail: gpan@primate.wisc.edu

April Pyle, Ph.D.
Department of Microbiology, Immunology, andMolecular Genetics
David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California, Los Angeles
615 Charles E. Young Drive South
277A BSRB
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Phone: 310-794-4059
E-mail: apyle@mednet.ucla.edu

Thomas A. Reh, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Biological Structure
University of Washington
1959 Northeast Pacific Street
357420 Health Sciences
Seattle, WA 98195
E-mail: tomreh@uw.edu

David Reynolds, Ph.D.
University of Georgia College of Public Health
500 D.W. Brooks Drive, Room 245
Athens, GA 30603
E-mail: dreynolds@ccrc.uga.edu

Allan Robins, Ph.D.
Vice President and Chief Technical Officer
Novocell, Inc.
111 Riverbend Road
Athens, GA 30602
E-mail: arobins@novocell.com

Hannele Ruohola-Baker, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Biochemistry
University of Washington Medicine
at South Lake Union
815 Mercer Street
Room S584, Box 358056
Seattle, WA 98109
Phone: 206-543-8468
E-mail: hannele@u.washington.edu

Tyrone Ryan Ryba
Graduate Student
Biological Science
Florida State University
2131 North Meridian Road, Apartment 233
Tallahassee, FL 32303
E-mail: tryba@bio.fsu.edu

George Santangelo, Ph.D.
Genetic Mechanisms Branch
Division of Genetics and Developmental Biology
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
45 Center Drive, Room 2As25
Building 45, Mail Stop Code 6200
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-594-0943
E-mail: santangelogm@nigms.nih.gov

Tom Schulz
Novocell, Inc.
111 Riverbend Road
Athens, GA 30602
E-mail: tschulz@novocell.com

Deirdre Scripture-Adams, Ph.D.
Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics
David Geffen School of Medicine at University
of California, Los Angeles
975 San Pasqual Street, #301
Pasadena, CA 91106
Phone: 310-406-4799
E-mail: deirdre@ucla.edu

Bryce Seifert
Postdoctoral Fellow
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza, BCM 505
Alkek Building, Room N1030
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-798-1273
E-mail: seifert@bcm.edu

Amar Singh, Ph.D.
University of Georgia College of Public Health
500 D.W. Brooks Drive, Room 245
Athens, GA 30602
E-mail: singha@uga.edu

Igor Slukvin, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Pathology and Laboratory
Medicine
University of Wisconsin–Madison
1220 Capitol Court
Madison, WI 53715
E-mail: islukvin@wisc.edu

Lloyd M. Smith
Professor
Department of Chemistry
University of Wisconsin–Madison
1101 University Avenue
4209 Chemistry Building
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: 608-263-2594
E-mail: smith@chem.wisc.edu

Zhou Songyang, Ph.D.
Professor
Verna and Marrs McLean Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza, Room S307
Houston, TX 77030
E-mail: songyang@bcm.edu

Yi Eve Sun, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Pharmacology
David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California, Los Angeles
635 Charles E. Young Drive South
NRB Room 351
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Phone: 310-825-9506
E-mail: ysun@mednet.ucla.edu

Michael Teitell, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California, Los Angeles
10833 Le Conte Avenue
Box 951732
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Phone: 310-206-6754
E-mail: mteitell@ucla.edu

John Thomas
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
6701 Rockledge Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
E-mail: thomasj@nhlbi.nih.gov

James Thomson
Director of Regenerative Biology
Morgridge Institute for Research
Genome Center of Wisconsin
University of Wisconsin–Madison
425 Henry Mall
Madison, WI 53706
E-mail: thomson@primate.wisc.edu

Michael Tiemeyer, Ph.D.
Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
University of Georgia College of Public Health
315 Riverbend Road
Athens, GA 30602
Phone: 706-542-2740
E-mail: mtiemeyer@ccrc.uga.edu

Ryan Thomas Wagner
Molecular and Cellular Biology
Baylor College of Medicine
1724A Ridgewood Street
Houston, TX 77006
Phone: 713-419-1038
E-mail: rw148042@bcm.edu

Hongran Wang, M.D., Ph.D.
Molecular and Cellular Biology
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza, M626
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-798-6263
E-mail: hongranw@bcm.edu

Carol Ware, Ph.D.
Research Professor
Department of Comparative Medicine
University of Washington Medicine South Lake Union
815 Mercer Street
Box 358056
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone: 206-616-5143
E-mail: cware@u.washington.edu

Daniel Wright, M.D.
Division of Kidney, Urologic, and Hematologic Diseases
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
6707 Democracy Boulevard, Room 612
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-594-7714
E-mail: dw341u@nih.gov

Palmer Yu
Genome Center of Wisconsin
University of Wisconsin–Madison
425 Henry Mall
Madison, WI 53706
E-mail: pyu2@wisc.edu

Jerome A. Zack, Ph.D.
Professor
Medicine
David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California, Los Angeles
615 Charles E. Young Drive South
BSRB, Room 173
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Phone: 310-825-0876
E-mail: jzack@ucla.edu

Marion Zatz, Ph.D.
Program Director
Genetics and Developmental Biology
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
45 Center Drive, Mail Stop Code 6200
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-594-0943
E-mail: zatzm@nigms.nih.gov

Xiong Zhang
Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
200 Lothrop Street, E1209 BST
Pittsburgh, PA 15260
Phone: 412-223-7886
E-mail: xiz51@pitt.edu

Thomas P. Zwaka, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza, BCM 505
Alkek Building, Room N1030
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-798-1272
E-mail: tpzwaka@bcm.edu

This page last reviewed on November 14, 2014