Skip Over Navigation Links

Notice

Because of a lapse in government funding, the information on this website may not be up to date, transactions submitted via the we​bsite may not be processed, and the agency may not be able to respond to inquiries until appropriations are enacted. The NIH Clinical Center (the research hospital of NIH) is open. For more details about its operating status, please visit cc.nih.gov. Updates regarding government operating status and resumption of normal operations can be found at USA.gov.

Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research: Recent Progress and Future Directions of NIGMS Grantees

April 17-19, 2005

Workshop Summary

The purpose of this workshop was to provide an opportunity for NIGMS grantees conducting human embryonic stem cell (HESC) research to report on their recent progress, to exchange information, and to identify problems, challenges, and opportunities associated with this emerging area of research. The workshop brought together an unusually wide spectrum of scientists working on HESC that reflects the breadth of basic research supported by NIGMS. There were 68 participants, including NIGMS grantees (R01 awardees, recipients of supplements to research grants, and P20 Exploratory Center grantees) and members of their laboratories. Outside speakers and NIH staff members also were present. An article describing the workshop appeared in the NIH Record. The agenda and list of participants are below.

Agenda

Sunday, April 17

7:00 p.m.     Welcome (Marion Zatz and James Battey)
Keynote Addresses
7:15 p.m. Stem Cells and the Evolution of the Cell Cycle (Andrew Murray)
8:05 p.m. A Role for Chemistry in Stem Cell Biology (Peter Schultz)
9:00 p.m. Reception
Monday, April 18
7:45 a.m.  Continental Breakfast
8:00 a.m. Opening Remarks (Jeremy Berg)
Session I: Stem Cell Self Renewal (Chair, Tony Blau)
8:15 a.m. Overview: What are ES Cells? (James Thomson)
8:35 a.m. Tyrosine Kinase Receptors (Tony Blau)
8:55 a.m. Role of Wnt Signaling (Randy Moon)
9:15 a.m. Molecular Analysis of Stemness (Ali H. Brivanlou)
9:35 a.m. Questions and Discussion
10:00 a.m. Coffee Break
  Session II: Stem Cell Characterization and Standardization (Chair, Dr. Sue O’Shea)
10:30 a.m. Overview (Meri Firpo)
11:00 a.m. Comparison of Cell Lines - The Stability and Controlled Differentiation of Human ES Cells (Ron McKay)
11:20 a.m. Comparison of Cell Lines - UW/FHCRC HESC Core (Carol Ware)
11:40 a.m. Recent Progress in Improved Culture of HESC (Mark Levenstein)
12:00 p.m. Questions and Discussion
12:30 p.m. Working Lunch and Poster Setup
Session III: Stem Differentiation (Chair, Randy Moon)
1:30 p.m. Overview of Differentiation (Randy Moon)
1:45 p.m. Immuno-transcriptional Analysis of the Early Stages of Human Embryonic Stem Cell Differentiation (Andrew Laslett)
2:05 p.m. Derivation of Cardiomyocytes for Cardiac Repair (Charles Murry)
2:25 p.m. Trophoblast Differentiation (Ren-He Xu)
2:45 p.m. Keratinocytes from Human ES Cells (Howard Green)
3:05 p.m. Retrotransposon Mobility in Human ES Cells (John Moran)
3:25 p.m. Questions and Discussion
4:00 p.m. Break/Poster Setup
4:30-6:00 p.m. Poster Session and Refreshments
7:00 p.m. Optional Dinner
Tuesday, April 19
Session IV: Cool Technologies (Chair, Rick Young)
8:15 a.m. Global Gene Regulation: Technology and Insights (Rick Young)
8:45 a.m. Whole Genome Transcriptional Analyses using Massively Parallel Signature Sequencing (MPSS) (Blake Meyers)
9:05 a.m. Novel RNAi approaches (Natasha Caplen)
10:05 a.m. Questions and Discussion
10:30 a.m. Session V: Scientific and Technical Challenges and Opportunities (Chair, Marion Zatz)
11:15 a.m. Workshop Summary (James Thomson)

 

Participants List

Rosemary Akhurst
UCSF
San Francisco, CA 94143-0875
Phone: 415-514-0215
Fax: 415-502-6779
E-mail: rakhurst@cc.ucsf.edu

Donna Albertson
Professor
UCSF
Box 0808
San Francisco, CA 94549
Phone: 415-502-8463
Fax: 415-476-8218
E-mail: albertson@cc.ucsfs.edu

Marc Antonyak
Research Associate
Cornell University
Other Communication
Department of Molecular Medicine C3 153 VMC
Phone: 607-253-3795
Fax: 607-253-3659
E-mail: marcant225@aol.com

James Battey
Director
NIDCD - NIH
31 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 415-502-8463
Fax: 415-476-8218
E-mail: albertson@cc.ucsfs.edu

Klaus Becker
Postdoctoral Fellow
University of Massachusetts Medical School
55 Lake Avenue North
Worchester, MA 01655
Phone: 508-856-3496
Fax: 508-856-6800
E-mail: laus.becker@umassmed.edu

Travis Berggren
Scientist
WiCell Research Institute
P.O. Box 7365
Madison, WI 53707
Phone:608-261-1090
E-mail: travis@wicell.org

C. Anthony Blau
Associate Professor of Medicine/Hematology
University of Washington
1959 N.E. Pacific Street
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone: 206-685-6873
Fax: 206-543-3560
E-mail: tblau@u.washington.edu

Megan Bodnar
Staff Research Associate
UCSF
533 Parnassus, Box 0720
San Francisco, CA 94143
Phone: 415-476-4733
Fax: 415-476-6951
E-mail: mbodnar@itsa.ucsf.edu

Ali Brivanlou
Professor HOL
The Rockefeller University
CCR, NCI
1230 York Avenue
New York, NY 10021
Phone: 212-327-8655
Fax: 212-327-8685
E-mail: brvnlou@rockefeller.edu

Natasha Caplen
Senior Scientist
Gene Silencing Section, OSTP, OD
Bldg 37, Rm 3128B, 37 Covet Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-451-1844
Fax: 301-402-1031
E-mail: ncaplen@mail.nih.gov

Emily Carlson
Science Writer
NIGMS
Room 3AN.32C, 45 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892-6200
Phone: 301-594-1515
Fax: 301-402-0224

Anthony Carter
Program Director
NIGMS
45 Center Drive, MSC 6200
Bethesda, MD 20892-6200
Phone: 301-594-0943
Fax: 301-480-2228
E-mail: cartera@nigms.nih.gov

Richard Cerione
Professor
Cornell University
Department of Molecular Medicine C3 155 VMC
Medical School
Ithaca, NY 14850-6401
Phone: 607-253-3888
Fax: 607-253-3659
E-mail: rac1@cornell.edu

Andrew J. Chess
Associate Professor of Medicine
Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research
Center for Human Genetic Research
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone: 617-258-7748
Fax: 617-258-6505
E-mail: achess@partners.org

Sheng Ding
Assistant Professor
The Scripps Research Institute
1055 N. Torrey Pines Road TSRI, SR202
La Jolla, CA 92032
Phone: 858-784-7376
Fax: 858-784-9440
E-mail: sding@scripps.edu

Irene Eckstrand
Program Director
NIGMS
45 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-594-0943
Fax: 301-480-2228
E-mail: eckstrai@mail.nih.gov

Xin-Hua Feng
Associate Professor
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-798-4756
Fax: 713-798-4093
E-mail: xfeng@bcm.tmc.edu

Gen-Sheng Feng
Professor
Burnham Institute
10901 N. Torrey Pines Road
La Jolla, CA 92037
Phone: 858-713-6265
Fax: 858-713-6274
E-mail: gfeng@burnham.org

Meri Firpo
Assistant Professor
UCSF
533 Parnassus Street
San Francisco, CA 94143
Phone: 415-476-4733
Fax: 415-476-6145
E-mail: firpo@itsa.ucsf.edu

David Gilbert
Professor
SUNY Upstate Medical University
Department of Biochemistry
750 East Adams Street
Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone: 315-464-8723
Fax: 315-464-8750
E-mail: gilbertd@upstate.edu

Robert Goldman
Chairman, Department of Cell and Molecular Biology
Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine
303 E. Chicago Avenue Ward W11-145
Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: 312-503-4215
Fax: 312-503-0954
E-mail: b-jaron@norhwestern.edu

Lawrence Goldstein
Professor/Investigator
University of California, San Diego, HHMI
9500 Gilman Drive, LBR 414
La Jolla, CA 92093
Phone: 858-534-9702
Fax: 858-534-9701
E-mail: lgoldstein@ucsd.edu

Howard Green
Professor of Cell Biology, George Higginson
Harvard Medical Schoo
240 Longwood Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
Phone: 617-432-0851
Fax: 617-432-0109
E-mail: hgreen@hms.harvard.edu

Judith Greenberg
Director, Division of Genetics and Developmental Biology
NIGMS
Building 45, Room 2AS.25
45 Center Drive MCS 6200
Bethesda, MD 20892-6200
Phone: 301-594-0343
Fax: 301-402-2228
E-mail: greenbej@nigms.nih.gov

Gary Grotendorst
Senior Scientist
Lovelace Respiratory Research Institute
2425 Ridgecrest Drive, S.E.
Albuquerque, NM 87108
Phone: 505-348-9631
Fax: 505-348-8567
E-mail: ggrotend@lrri.org

Lisa Hall
Co-Investigator
UMMS - Department of Cell Biology
55 Lake North, Room S7-144
Worchester, MA 01655
Phone: 508-856-5439
Fax: 508-856-5178
E-mail: lisa.hall@umassmed.edu

Els Henckaerts
Postdoctoral Fellow (EH)
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
1 Gustave Levy Place, Box 1496
New York, NY 10029
Phone: 212-659-8278
Fax: 212-849-2437
E-mail: michael.linden@mssm.edu

Peter Jackson

Associate Professor
Stanford University School of Medicine
MC5324,300 Pasteur Drive
Palo Alto, CA 94305
Phone: 650-498-6872
Fax: 650-725-6902
E-mail: pjackson@stanford.edu

Nobuaki Kikyo
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
MMC 716, 420 Delaware Street, S.E.
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Phone: 612-624-0498
Fax: 612-624-2436
E-mail: kikyo001@umn.edu

Aimee Kohn
Hematology Fellow
University of Washington
12742A 35th Avenue, N.E.
Seattle, WA 98125
Phone: 206-364-0275
Fax: 206-616-4230
E-mail: adkohn@u.washington.edu

Paul Krebsbach
Associate Professor
University of Michigan
1011 North University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1078
Phone: 734-936-2600
Fax: 734-763-3453
E-mail: paulk@umich.edu

Andrew Laslett
Laboratory of Embryonic Stem Cell Biology
Centre for Reproduction and Development
Monash Institute of Medical Research 3rd Floor, Building 75
STRIP Wellington Road
Victoria, CANADA 3800
Phone: 613-9271-113
Fax: 613-9271-1198
E-mail: andrew.laslett@stemcellcentre.edu.au

Jeanne Lawrence
Professor
University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester
Department of Cell Biology, 55 Lake Avenue North, S7-137
Worchester, MA 01655
Phone: 508-856-6015
Fax: 508-856-5178
E-mail: jeanne.lawrence@umassmed.edu

Mark Levenstein
Postdoc
WiCell Research Institute, Inc.
P.O. Box 7365
Madison, WI 53707-7365
Phone: 608-262-4568
Fax: 608-262-8474
E-mail: markl@wicell.org

Catherine Lewis
Chief, Biophysics Branch, CBB
NIGMS
45 Center Drive MSC6200
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-594-0828
Fax: 301-480-2004
E-mail: lewisC@nigms.nih.gov

Howard Lieberman
Professor of Radiation Oncology
Columbia University Health Sciences of Physicians and Surgeons
630 W. 168th Street
New York, NY 10032
Phone: 212-305-9241
Fax: 212-342-5505
E-mail: lieberman@cuccfa.ccc.columbia.edu

R. Michael Linden
Associate Professor (RML)
Mount Sinai School of Medicine of NYU
1 Gustave Levy Place, Box 1496
New York, NY 10029
Phone: 212-659-8278
Fax: 212-849-2437
E-mail: michael.linden@mssm.edu

Dan Liu
Instructor
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-798-3486
Fax: 713-796-9438
E-mail: danl@bcm.tmc.edu

Ronald McKay
Chief, Laboratory of Molecular Biology
NINDS - NIH
9000 Rockville Pike
Building 35, Room 3A201
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-496-6574
Fax: 301-402-4738
E-mail: mckayr@ninds.nih.gov

Melissa Mendez
Graduate Student, Northwestern University
Department of Cell and Molecular Biology
Ward W11-145
Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: 312-503-4215
Fax: 312-503-0954
E-mail: b-jaron@northwestern.edu

Blake Meyers
Assistant Professor
University of Delaware
15 Innovation Way, Room 230
Newark, DE 19711
Phone: 302-831-3418
Fax: 302-831-4841
E-mail: meyers@dbi.udel.edu

Annalisa Modanesi
Research Specialist
State University of New York at Stony Brook
Department of Pharmacology BST, T-8, Room 140
Stony Brook, NY 11790-8651
Phone: 631-444-3489
Fax: 631-444-3234
E-mail: modanesi@pharm.sunysb.edu

Randall Moon
Associate Professor
University of Michigan
7726 MSII 0622
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-0622
Phone: 734-763-2021
E-mail: rmort@umich.edu

John V. Moran
Associate Professor of Human Genetics and Internal Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
1241 E. Catherine Street
Anne Arbor, MI 48109
Phone: 734-615-045
Fax: 617-496-1541
E-mail: amurray@mcb.harvard.edu

Richard Mortensen
Associate Professor
University of Michigan
7726 MSII 0622
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-0622
Phone: 734-763-2021
E-mail: rmort@umich.edu

Andrew Murray
Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Harvard University
16 Divinity Avenue, BL3000
Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone: 617-496-1350
Fax: 617-496-1541
E-mail: amurray@mcb.harvard.edu

Charles Murry
Professor of Pathology, Director
Center for Cardiovascular Biology & Regenerative Medicine
University of Washington
815 Mercer Street, Room 453
Seattle, WA 98109
Phone: 206-616-8684
Fax: 206-897-1540
E-mail: murry@u.washington.edu

Curtis Omiecinski
Professor
Penn State University
201 Life Sciences Building
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-863-1625
Fax: 814-863-7696
E-mail: cjo10@psu.edu

Sue O’Shea
Professor
University of Michigan
Cell and Development Biology
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Phone: 734-647-3990
Fax: 734-763-1166
E-mail: mdp141@psu.edu

Michael Packard
Senior Research Technician
Penn State University
201 Life Sciences Building
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-868-4234
Fax: 814-863-1357
E-mail: mdp141@psu.edu

Jeanine Page
Postdoctoral Fellow
Penn State University
201 Life Sciences Building
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-865-7121
Fax: 814-863-1357
E-mail: jle190@psu.edu

Jose Luis Garcia Perez
Postdoctoral Researcher
University of Michigan Medical School
1241 E. Catherine Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Phone: 734-615-0457
Fax: 734-763-3784
E-mail: jegp@umich.edu

David W. Russell
Associate Professor
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone: 203-616-4562
Fax: 206-616-8298
E-mail: drussell@u.washington.edu

Kirstie Saltsman
Science Writer
NIGMS
Building 45, Room 3AN.32
Bethesda, MD 20892-6200
Phone: 301-496-7301
Fax: 410-828-6472
E-mail: saltsmank@mail.nih.gov

Peter G. Schultz
Los Angeles, CA 90048
E-mail: schultz@scripps.edu

M. Rocio Sierra-Honigman
Director, Engineered Wound Repair Laboratory
Cedars Sinai Medical Center Research Institute
DAVIS 1091 8700 Beverly Boulevard
Phone: 310-423-1882
Fax: 310-423-2325
E-mail: honigmannr@cshs.org

Janet Stein
Professor
University of Massachusetts Medical School
55 Lake Avenue North
Worchester, MA 01655
Phone: 508-856-5625
Fax: 508-856-6800
E-mail: janet.stein@umassmed.edu

William M. Strauss
Assistant Research Professor
University of Colorado at Boulder
347 UCB
Boulder, CA 80309
Phone: 303-735-5137
E-mail: william.m.strauss@colorado.edu

Michael Terns
Associate Professor
University of Georgia
Anatomy
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
425
Athens, GA 30602
Phone: 706-542-1896
Fax: 706-542-1752
E-mail: mterns@bmb.uga.edu

James Thomson
Professor
University of Wisconsin-Madison
3420 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Medical School
Henry Mall
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: 608-263-3585
E-mail: thomson@primate.wisc.edu

Padmaja Vittal
Graduate Fellow
Penn State University
201 Life Sciences Building
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-863-4234
Fax: 814-863-1357
E-mail: padmaja@psu.edu

Hsien-yu Wang
Research Associate Professor
State University of New York at Stony Brook
Deptartment of Physiology and Biophysics
BST, T-5, Room 140
Stony Brook, NY 11790-8661
Phone: 631-444-3489
Fax: 631-444-3234
E-mail: wangh@pharm.sunysb.edu

Carol Ware
Research Associate Professor
University of Washington
Comparative Medicine, Box 357190
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone: 202-616-5143
Fax: 202-685-3006
E-mail: cware@u.washington.edu

Ren-He Xu
Senior Scientist
WiCell Research Institute
8406 Castle Pines Drive
Madison, WI 53717
Phone: 608-265-9312
Fax: 608-262-8474
E-mail: rxu@wicell.org

Richard Young
Whitehead Insitute for Biomedical Research
9 Cambridge Center
Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone: 617-258-5219
Fax: 617-258-0376
E-mail: young@wi.mit.eduZ

Junying Yu
Assistant Scientist
University of Wisconsin, Madison
425 Henry Hall, Room 4426
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: 608-890-0178
Fax: 608-890-0167
E-mail: jyu@primate.wisc.edu

Stephanie Zamule
Graduate Fellow
Penn State University
201 Life Sciences Building
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-863-4234
Fax: 814-863-1357
E-mail: smz136@psu.edu

Marion Zatz
Chief, Developmental and Cellular Process Branch
NIGMS
45 Center Drive MSC 6200
Bethesda, MD 20892-6200
Phone: 301-594-0943
Fax: 301-480-2228
E-mail: zatzm@nigms.nih.gov

This page last reviewed on October 02, 2017