Skip Over Navigation Links

PREP Participating Institutions

Alabama | Arizona | California | Connecticut | Georgia | Illinois | Indiana | Kansas | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Missouri | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | Ohio | Pennsylvania | South Carolina | Texas | Virginia | Washington

ALABAMA

Jeffrey A. Engler, Ph.D.
University of Alabama at Birmingham
1530 Third Avenue South 
HUC 504F 
Birmingham, AL 35294-1150
Tel: 205-934-4734 
Fax: 205-996-4409   
E-mail: engler@uab.edu
Web: http://www.uab.edu/prep Link to external Web site

ARIZONA

Brenda Hogue, Ph.D.
Arizona State University
Biodesign Institute
P.O. Box 875401
Tempe, AZ 85287-5401
Tel: 480-965-9478
E-mail: brenda.hogue@asu.edu 
Web: http://graduate.asu.edu/node/2259 Link to external Web site

CALIFORNIA

William Sullivan, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Cruz
Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
317 Sinsheimer Laboratories
1156 High Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95066
Tel: 831-459-4295
E-mail: wtsulliv@ucsc.edu
Web: http://stemdiv.ucsc.edu/prep Link to external Web site

CONNECTICUT

Michelle D. Nearon, Ph.D.
Carl Hashimoto, Ph.D.
Yale University Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
320 York Street
New Haven, CT 06520-8236
Tel: 203-436-1301
Fax: 203-432-7765
E-mail: michelle.nearon@yale.edu and carl.hashimoto@yale.edu

GEORGIA

Gordon Churchward, Ph.D.
Emory University
School of Medicine, Mailstop: 1020-004-1AJ
1648 Pierce Drive, Suite 453
Atlanta, GA 30322
Tel: 404-712-9943
Fax: 404-727-4629
E-mail: gordon.churchward@emory.edu
Web: http://emorypostbac.blogspot.com Link to external Web site

Julie M. Moore, Ph.D.
University of Georgia
500 DW Brooks Drive, Rm N330C
Athens, GA 30602
Tel: 706-542-5789
Fax: 706-542-3582
E-mail: julmoore@uga.edu
Web: http://prep.uga.edu/ Link to external Web site

ILLINOIS

Nancy Schwartz, Ph.D.
University of Chicago
Department of Pediatrics
5841 S. Maryland Avenue, MC 5058
Room C-503
Chicago, IL 60637
Tel: 773-702-9234
E-mail: n-schwartz@uchicago.edu 
Web: http://gradprograms.bsd.uchicago.edu/prep/prep.html Link to external Web site

INDIANA

David B. Burr, Ph.D., FAAA
Indiana University School of Medicine
Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, MS 5035
Indianapolis, IN 46202
Tel: 317-274-7434
Fax: 317-278-2040
E-mail: dburr@iupui.edu 
Web: http://iprep.iupui.edu Link to external Web site

KANSAS

James Orr, Ph.D.
University of Kansas, Lawrence
Department of Molecular Biosciences
2045 Haworth Hall 
1200 Sunnyside Avenue 
Lawrence, KS 66045-7563 
Tel: 785-864-3859 
E-mail: jorr@ku.edu 
Web: http://www2.ku.edu/~prep Link to external Web site

MARYLAND

Katherine L. Wilson, Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Department of Cell Biology
725 N. Wolfe Street, G10 WBSB
Baltimore, MD 21205
Tel: 410-955-1801
E-mail: klwilson@jhmi.edu 
Web: http://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/graduateprograms/prep.cfm Link to external Web site

MASSACHUSETTS

Henry H. Wortis, Ph.D.
Tufts University
Department of Pathology
136 Harrison Avenue
Boston, MA 02111
Tel: 617-636-2990
E-mail: sackler-school@tufts.edu
Web: http://sackler.tufts.edu/Admissions/Apply-to-Non-Degree-Programs/Post-Baccalaureate-Internship Link to external Web site

Sandra L. Petersen, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Department of Biology
Morrill Science Center
Amherst, MA 01003-5810
Tel: 413-545-1808
E-mail: spetersen@vasci.umass.edu
Web: http://www.umass.edu/prep Link to external Web site

MICHIGAN

Kate F. Barald, Ph.D.
University of Michigan Medical School
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
3053 BSRB
109 Zina Pitcher Place
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2200
Tel: 734-647-3376
Fax: 734-763-1166
E-mail: kfbarald@gmail.com 
Web: http://www.med.umich.edu/prep Link to external Web site

MINNESOTA

Jim Maher, Ph.D.
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
Guggenheim 1611C
200 First Street, S.W.
Rochester, MN 55905
Tel: 507-284-9041
Fax: 507-284-2053
E-mail: maher@mayo.edu
Web: http://www.mayo.edu/mgs/postbac-program.html Link to external Web site

MISSOURI

John D. David, Ph.D.
University of Missouri, Columbia
Department of Biological Sciences
105 Tucker Hall
Columbia, MO 65211
Tel: 573-882-0123
E-mail: davidj@missouri.edu 
Web: http://www.prepscholars.missouri.edu Link to external Web site

NEW MEXICO

Richard Cripps, Ph.D.
University of New Mexico
Biology Department, College of Arts and Sciences
MSC03 2020
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Tel: 505-277-2822
E-mail: rcripps@unm.edu 
Web: http://biology.unm.edu/prep Link to external Web site

NEW YORK

Myles Akabas, M.D., Ph.D.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Bronx, NY 10461
Tel: 718-430-8693
E-mail: myles.akabas@einstein.yu.edu
Web: http://www.einstein.yu.edu/education/phd/prep-program Link to external Web site

Terry A. Krulwich, Ph.D.
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Department of Pharmacology and Biological Chemistry
1 Gustave L. Levy Place
Box 1022
New York, NY 10029-6574
Tel: 212-241-7280
E-mail: terry.krulwich@mssm.edu
Web: http://www.mssm.edu/gradschool/prep Link to external Web site

Edith Lord, Ph.D.
University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
601 Elmwood Avenue, Box 672
Rochester, NY 14642
Tel: 585-275-5855
E-mail: edith_lord@urmc.rochester.edu
Web: http://www.urmc.rochester.edu/smd/mbi/education/PREP Link to external Web site

NORTH  CAROLINA

Debra I. Diz, Ph.D.
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
Tel: 336-716-2150 
E-mail: ddiz@wakehealth.edu
Web: http://www.wakehealth.edu/School/Hypertension-and-Vascular-Research-Center/PREP-Program/ Link to external Web site

Jeanette Cook, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Associate Dean for Graduate Education
Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics
CB #7260, 3010 Genetic Medicine Building
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7260
Tel: 919-843-3867
Fax: 919-966-2852
E-mail: jean_cook@med.unc.edu
Web: http://med.unc.edu/prep Link to external Web site

OHIO

Paul N. MacDonald, Ph.D.
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Office of Graduate Education
Room TG1 10900 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106
Tel: 216-368-5655
E-mail: paul.macdonald@case.edu 
Web: http://gradresed.case.edu/prep Link to external Web site

Wm. Cameron Chumlea, Ph.D., FACN
Wright State University
Lifespan Health Research Center Boonshoft School of Medicine
3171 Research Boulevard
Dayton, OH 45420
Tel: 937-775-1428
Fax: 937-775-1456
E-mail: cameron.chumlea@wright.edu
Web: http://www.med.wright.edu/grad-prep/ Link to external Web site

Virginia Sanders, Ph.D.
Ohio State University
Integrated Biomedical Science Graduate Program
1178 Graves Hall
333 W. 10th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210
Tel: 614-292-0857
Fax: 614-292-6226
E-mail: discovery.prep@osumc.edu
Web: http://www.go.osu.edu/prep Link to external Web site

PENNSYLVANIA

Jean Boyer, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
SOM Admin 813B
505 Stellar-Chance Labs
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Tel: 215-662-2382
Fax: 215-573-9436
E-mail: boyerj@mail.med.upenn.edu 
Web: http://www.med.upenn.edu/prep Link to external Web site

SOUTH CAROLINA

Bert E. Ely, Ph.D.
University of South Carolina
Department of Biological Sciences
Coker Life Science Building 701
Columbia, SC 29208
Tel: 803-777-2768
E-mail: ely@sc.edu 
Web: http://pathmicro.med.sc.edu/graduate/prep.htm Link to external Web site

TEXAS

Gayle R. Slaughter, Ph.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77030
Tel: 713-798-6644
E-mail: gayles@bcm.tmc.edu
Web: http://www.bcm.edu/diversityprograms Link to external Web site

David W. Niesel, Ph.D.
University of Texas Medical Branch
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
301 University Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77555-1019
Tel: 409-772-2324
E-mail: dniesel@utmb.edu
Web: http://microbiology.utmb.edu/prep/default.asp Link to external Web site

VIRGINIA

Joyce A. Lloyd, Ph.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University
P.O. Box 980035
Richmond, VA 23298-0035
Tel: 804-628-2182
E-mail: jlloyd@vcu.edu
Web: http://www.healthdisparities.vcu.edu/?id=1343&sid=10 Link to external Web site

Edward J. Smith, Ph.D.
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
2250 Litton-Reaves Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Tel: 540-231-6797
E-mail: esmith@vt.edu
Web: http://www.vtprep.maop.vt.edu Link to external Web site

WASHINGTON

Gabriele Varani, Ph.D.
University of Washington
Seattle WA 98195-1700
Tel: 206-543-7113
E-mail: varani@chem.washington.edu
Web: https://depts.washington.edu/uwprep Link to external Web site

Related Information

This page last reviewed on July 22, 2014