Skip Over Navigation Links

MARC U-STAR Participating Institutions

Alabama | Arizona | California  | Colorado  | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Illinois | Louisiana | Maryland | Michigan | Mississippi | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | Pennsylvania | Puerto Rico | Tennessee | Texas | Virginia | Virgin Islands | Washington, D.C.

ALABAMA

Marcia Martinez, Ph.D.
Tuskegee University
Carver Research Foundation 17
Tuskegee, AL 36088
Tel: 334-727-8064
Fax: 334-727-8124
E-mail: mmartinez@tuskegee.edu

ARIZONA

Megan M. McEvoy, Ph.D.
University of Arizona
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Biosciences West #531A
1041 E Lowell Street
Tucson, AZ 85721-0088
Tel: 520-621-3489
Fax: 520-626-9204
E-mail: mcevoy@email.arizona.edu

CALIFORNIA

Hernan Leonardo Martinez, Ph.D.
California State University, Dominguez Hills
Department of Biology
1000 East Victoria Street
Carson, CA 90747
Tel: 213-516-3300
Fax: 310-516-4410
E-mail: leoh@cali.csudh.edu

Amybeth Cohen, Ph.D.
California State University, Fullerton
2600 East Nutwood Avenue
Fullerton, CA 92831
Tel: 714-278-2178
Fax: 714-278-3426
E-mail: acohen@fullerton.edu
Web: http://marc.fullerton.edu Link to external Web site

Vasanthy Narayanaswami, Ph.D.
California State University, Long Beach
5700 Martin Luther King Jr. Way
Oakland, CA 94609-1673
Tel: 510-428-3885 ext. 2965
E-mail: vnarayan@chori.org

Carlos G. Gutierrez, Ph.D.
California State University, Los Angeles
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032
Tel: 323-343-2356
Fax: 323-343-6411
E-mail: cgutier@calstatela.edu
Web: http://www.calstatela.edu/centers/moreprograms/ustar Link to external Web site

Maria Elena Zavala, Ph.D.
California State University, Northridge
Department of Biology
18111 Nordhoff Street
Northridge, CA 91330-8303
Tel: 818-677-4981
Fax: 818-677-5915
E-mail: mariaelena.zavala@csun.edu
Web: http://www.csun.edu/~csunmore Link to external Web site

Sanders McDougall, Ph.D.
California State University, San Bernardino
5500 University Parkway
San Bernardino, CA 92407
Tel: 714-887-7201
E-mail: smcdouga@csusb.edu

Keith Trujillo, Ph.D.
California State University, San Marcos
333 S. Twin Oaks Valley Road
San Marcos, CA 92096
Tel: 760-750-4183
Fax: 760-750-3401
E-mail: keith@csusm.edu
Web: http://www.csusm.edu/otres/Studentprograms/marc.html Link to external Web site

Catherine Atkins, Ph.D.
San Diego State University
College of Sciences
5500 Campanile Drive MC 1010
San Diego, CA 92182-1010
Tel: 619-594-5732
Fax: 619-594-6381
E-mail: catkins@sunstroke.sdsu.edu
Web: http://www.sci.sdsu.edu/usp/marc Link to external Web site

Frank T. Bayliss, Ph.D.
San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94132
Tel: 415-338-1111
Fax: 415-338-0927
E-mail: fbayl@sfsu.edu
Web: http://www.sfsu.edu/~seo/pages/MARCdesc.html Link to external Web site

Leslee Parr, Ph.D.
San Jose State University
Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192
Tel: 408-277-2000
E-mail: lparr@email.sjsu.edu

John Matsui, Ph.D.
University of California, Berkeley
2150 Shattuck Avenue, Room 313
Berkeley, CA 94704
Tel: 510-643-9768
E-mail: matsui@berkeley.edu

Barbara A. Horwitz, Ph.D.
University of California, Davis
Office of Research, SPON Programs
1850 Research Park Drive, Suite 300
Davis, CA 95618
Tel: 530-752-0169
Fax: 530-752-6359
E-mail: bahorwitz@ucdavis.edu
Web: http://biosci.ucdavis.edu Link to external Web site

Francisco J. Ayala, Ph.D.
University of California, Irvine
300 University Tower
Irvine, CA 92697-7600
Tel: 949-824-8293
Fax: 949-824-2474
E-mail: fjayala@uci.edu
Web: http://port.bio.uci.edu/MARC Link to external Web site

Rudy Ortiz, Ph.D.
University of California, Merced
5200 North Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
Tel: 209-228-2964
E-mail: rortiz@ucmerced.edu

Jaime A. Pineda, Ph.D.
University of California, San Diego
Department of Cognitive Science
9500 Gilman Drive
Department 0934
La Jolla, CA 92093
Tel: 858-534-9754
Fax: 858-534-1128
E-mail: pineda@cogsci.ucsd.edu
Web: http://aep.ucsd.edu/marc Link to external Web site

Dwayne D. Simmons, Ph.D.
University of California, Los Angeles
Office of Contract and Grants Administration
11000 Kinross Avenue
Suite 102 MC0951406
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1406
Tel: 310-794-1228
Fax: 310-206-9184
E-mail: dd.simmons@ucla.edu
Web: http://www.ugeducation.ucla.edu/urc-care/scholmarc.htm Link to external Web site

Ernest Martinez, Ph.D.
University of California, Riverside
Biochemistry Department
900 University Avenue
Riverside, CA 92521-0291
Tel: 951-827-2031
Fax: 951-827-4294
E-mail: ernest.martinez@ucr.edu
Web: http://www.marcu.ucr.edu Link to external Web site

Alan M. Zahler, Ph.D.
University of California, Santa Cruz
Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
1156 High Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
Tel: 831-459-5131
Fax: 831-459-3737
E-mail: zahler@biology.ucsc.edu
Web: http://stemdiv.ucsc.edu/marc Link to external Web site

COLORADO

Les Sommerville, Ph.D.
Fort Lewis College
Department of Chemistry
Durango, CO 80217-3364
Tel: 303-556-6740
E-mail: sommervil_l@fortlewis.edu

Richard Allen, Ph.D.
University of Colorado, Denver
Department of Psychology
P.O. Box 173364, Campus Box 173
Denver, CO 80217-3364
Tel: 303-556-6740
E-mail: richard.allen@cudenver.edu

DELAWARE

Noureddine Melikechi, D.Phil.
Delaware State University
1200 N. Dupont Highway
Dover, DE 19901-2277
Tel: 302-857-6500
Fax: 302-857-6502
E-mail: nmelikechi@desu.edu
Web: http://www.desu.edu/mathematics-natural-sciences-and-technology/minority-access-research-careers-marc-ustar Link to external Web site

FLORIDA

Ophelia Inez Weeks, Ph.D.
Florida International University
Division of Sponsored Research and Training
11200 SW 8 Street
Miami, FL 33199
Tel: 305-348-2494
Fax: 305-348-4117
E-mail: weekso@fiu.edu
Web: http://mbrs.fiu.edu Link to external Web site

Karen Molek, Ph.D.
University of West Florida
Department of Chemistry
11000 University Parkway
Pensacola, FL 32514-5750
Tel: 850-474-2799
Fax: 850-474-2621
E-mail: ksmolek@uwf.edu

GEORGIA

Ashok Jain, Ph.D.
Albany State University
Department of Natural Sciences
504 College Drive
Albany, GA  31705
Tel: 229-430-4817
E-mail: ashok.jain@asurams.edu

Jann Addams, Ph.D.
Morehouse College
Department of Psychology
830 Westview Drive
Atlanta, GA 30314
Tel: 404-215-2626
Fax: 404-215-2754
E-mail: jadams@morehouse.edu

Cecil L. Jones, Ph.D.
Savannah State University
3219 College Street
Savannah, GA 31401
Tel: 912-358-4453
E-mail: jonesce@savannahstate.edu
Web: http://linux.savannahstate.edu/MARC Link to external Web site

HAWAII

Patricia Couvillon, Ph.D.
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Pacific Biomedical Research Center
1993 East-West Road
Honolulu, HI 96822
Tel: 808-956-4761
Fax: 808-956-2892
E-mail: pat@pbrc.hawaii.edu

ILLINOIS

Ruth Church, Ph.D.
Northeastern Illinois University
Department of Psychology
5500 N. St. Louis Avenue
Chicago, IL 60625-4699
Tel: 773-442-5837
E-mail: B-Church1@neiu.edu

LOUISIANA

Makram A. Himaya, Ph.D.
Grambling State University
100 Main Street
Grambling, LA 71245
Tel: 318-274-3149
Fax: 318-274-2724
E-mail: himaya@gram.edu
Web: http://www.gram.edu/academics/majors/arts-and-sciences/resources/marc Link to external Web site

Teresa T. Birdwhistell, Ph.D.
Xavier University of Louisiana
1 Drexel Drive
New Orleans, LA 70125
Tel: 504-483-7370
Fax: 504-485-7942
E-mail: tbirdwhi@xula.edu

MARYLAND

Cleo Adelle Hughes-Darden, Ph.D.
Morgan State University
1700 East Cold Spring Lane
Baltimore, MD 21251
E-mail: chughes@moac.morgan.edu

Lasse A. Lindahl, Ph.D.
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Department of Biological Sciences
1000 Hilltop Circle
Baltimore, MD 21250
Tel: 410-455-2996
Fax: 410-455-3875
E-mail: lindahl@umbc.edu
Web: http://www.umbc.edu/MARC Link to external Web site

MICHIGAN

Cheryl Sisk, Ph.D.
Michigan State University
Neuroscience Program
108 Giltner Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824
Tel: 517-355-5253
E-mail: sisk@msu.edu

MISSISSIPPI

Jacqueline J. Stevens, Ph.D.
Jackson State University
Department of Biology
P.O. Box 18540
1400 JR Lynch Street
Jackson, MS 39217
Tel: 601-979-2087
Fax: 601-979-5842
E-mail: jacqueline.j.stevens@jsums.edu

NEW MEXICO

Michael D. Johnson, Ph.D.
New Mexico State University
Director of the Office of Grants and Contracts
1620 Standley Drive, MSC OGC
P.O. Box 30001
Las Cruces, NM 88003-8001
Tel: 505-646-3627
Fax: 505-646-2394
E-mail: johnson@nmsu.edu
Web: http://www.chemistry.nmsu.edu/~research/MARC Link to external Web site

Diane Lee Marshall, Ph.D.
University of New Mexico
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Tel: 505-277-1168
Fax: 505-277-0304
E-mail: marshall@unm.edu
Web:  http://biology.unm.edu/MARC Link to external Web site

NEW YORK

Louise Hainline, Ph.D.
Brooklyn College Research Foundation
29 Bedford Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11210
Tel: 718-951-5610
Fax: 718-951-4825
E-mail: louiseh@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Web: http://www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/web/academics/honors/academy/programs/marc.php Link to external Web site

Jonathan Levitt, Ph.D.
City University of New York, City College
Biology J526
Covent Avenue at 138th Street
New York, NY 10031
Tel: 212-650-8539
Fax: 212-650-8585
E-mail: jlevitt@ccny.cuny.edu

Derrick Brazill, Ph.D.
City University of New York, Hunter College
695 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10021
Tel: 212-772-4000
E-mail: brazill@genectr.hunter.cuny.edu
Web: http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/honorsprograms/research.shtml Link to external Web site

Zahra Zakeri, Ph.D.
City University of New York, Queens College
65-30 Kissena Boulevard
Flushing, NY 11367
Tel: 718-997-3417
Fax: 718-997-3429 
E-mail: zahra_zakeri@qc.edu
Web: http://www.qc.cuny.edu/academics/honors/marc Link to external Web site

NORTH CAROLINA

Ephraim Gwebu, Ph.D.
Elizabeth City State University
Chemistry and Physics Departments
1704 Weeksville Road
Jenkins Center Room 304
Elizabeth City, NC 27909
Tel: 252-335-3232
E-mail: etgwebu@mail.ecsu.edu

Mary Smith, Ph.D.
North Carolina A&T State University
1601 East Market Street
Greensboro, NC 27411-0001
Tel: 336-347-7500
Fax: 336-334-7086
E-mail: smithma@ncat.edu

Azeez Aileru, Ph.D.
Winston-Salem State University
115 South Chestnut Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
Tel: 336-761-5899
Fax: 336-761-2239
E-mail: ailerua@wssu.edu

PENNSYLVANIA

Jacqueline C. Tanaka, Ph.D.
Temple University
1601 North Broad Street
406 USB, 083-45
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Tel: 215-204-8868
Fax: 215-204-6646
E-mail: jtanaka@temple.edu

PUERTO RICO

Esther Z. Vega-Bermudez, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Humacao
Department of Biology
HUC Postal Station
Guaynabo, PR 00931
Tel: 787-850-9388
Fax: 787-850-9439
E-mail: esther.vega@upr.edu

Mildred Chaparro, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez
P.O. Box 9000
Mayaguez, PR 00681-9000
Tel: 787-832-4040/2451
Fax: 787-834-2405
E-mail: mildred.chaparro@upr.edu
Web: http://academic.uprm.edu/marc Link to external Web site

Reginald W. Morales, Ph.D.
University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
Rio Piedras Campus
P.O. Box 23308
San Juan, PR 00931-3346
Tel: 787-764-0000/4781/4752
Fax: 787-764-1588
E-mail: remorales@uprrp.edu
Web: http://brtcpr.com/marc Link to external Web site

TENNESSEE

Lee E Limbird, Ph.D.
Fisk University
School of Natural Sciences
1000 17th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37208-3051
Tel: 615-329-6884
E-mail: llimbird@fisk.edu

Margaret M. Whalen, Ph.D.
Tennessee State University
3500 John A. Merritt Boulevard
Nashville, TN 37209-1561
Tel: 615-963-5247
Fax: 615-963-5326
E-mail: mwhalen@tnstate.edu

TEXAS

Timothy Raabe, Ph.D.
St. Mary's University
Department of Biological Sciences
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228
Tel: 210-431-4321
Fax: 210-431-4363
E-mail: traabe@stmarytx.edu
Web: http://www.stmarytx.edu/marc Link to external Web site

Keith H. Pannell, Ph.D.
University of Texas at El Paso
500 West University Avenue
Administration Building, Room 209
El Paso, TX 79968
Tel: 915-747-5796
Fax: 915-747-5748
E-mail: kpannell@utep.edu
Web: http://marc.utep.edu Link to external Web site

Edwin Barea-Rodriguez, Ph.D.
University of Texas at San Antonio
6900 North Loop 1604 West
San Antonio, TX 78249-0600
Tel: 210-458-5842
Fax: 210-458-5196
E-mail: edwin.barea@utsa.edu
Web: http://www.utsa.edu/marc Link to external Web site

VIRGINIA

John Ryan, Ph.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University
Department of Biology
1000 West Cary Street
P.O. Box 842012
Richmond, VA 23284
Tel: 804-828-0712
Fax: 804-828-0503
E-mail: jjryan@vcu.edu

Cecile Andraos-Selim, Ph.D.
Hampton University
Department of Biological Sciences
Hampton, VA 23606
Tel: 757-727-5015
Fax: 757-727-5946
E-mail: cecile.andraos-selim@hamptonu.edu

VIRGIN ISLANDS

Teresa Turner, Ph.D.
University of the Virgin Islands
2 John Brewer's Bay
St. Thomas, VI 00802-9990
Tel: 340-693-1382
Fax: 340-693-1385
E-mail: tturner@uvi.edu

WASHINGTON, D.C.

Shawn Abernathy, Ph.D.
Howard University
Chemistry Department
525 College Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20059
Tel: 202-806-7504
E-mail: sabernathy@howard.edu

Freddie Dixon, Ph.D.
University of the District of Columbia
4200 Connecticut Ave, N.W.
Washington, DC 20008
E-mail: fdixon@udc.edu

Related Information

This page last reviewed on October 16, 2014