Skip Over Navigation Links

IRACDA Participating Institutions

Alabama | Arizona | California | Georgia | Illinois | Kansas | Massachusetts | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York |
North Carolina | Pennsylvania | Texas | Virginia

ALABAMA

Lisa M. Schwiebert, Ph.D.
University of Alabama at Birmingham
MCLM 955, UAB
1918 University Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35294-0005
Tel: 205-934-3970
Fax: 205-975-9028
E-mail: lschwieb@uab.edu
Web: http://www.uab.edu/meritprogram/program-overview Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Oakwood University
Coordinator: Kenneth LaiHing, Ph.D.
Tel: 256-726-8463
E-mail: laihing@oakwood.edu
Partner Institution: Stillman College
Coordinator: Mary Jane Krotzer, Ph.D.
Tel: 205-366-8929
E-mail: mkrotzer@stillman.edu

ARIZONA

Nicholas J. Strausfeld, Ph.D.
University of Arizona, Tucson
Center for Insect Science
1007 E. Lowell Street, Room 225
Tucson, AZ 85721-0106
Tel: 520-621-9310
Fax: 520-621-2590
E-mail: flybrain@neurobio.arizona.edu
Web: http://cis.arl.arizona.edu/PERT Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Pima Community College
Coordinator: Brad Fiero
Tel: 520-206-6897
E-mail: bfiero@pima.edu

CALIFORNIA

Joseph Puglisi, Ph.D.
Stanford University
Department of Structural Biology
Fairchild CTR D105A
Stanford, CA 94305-5126
Tel: 650-498-4397
Fax: 650-723-8464
E-mail: puglisi@stanford.edu
Web: http://iracda.stanford.edu Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: San Jose State University
Coordinator: Brandon White
Tel: 408-924-4839
E-mail: brandon.white@sjsu.edu

JoAnn Trejo, Ph.D.
University of California, San Diego
Department of Pharmacology
9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0636
La Jolla, CA 92093-0636
E-mail: joanntrejo@ucsd.edu
Web: http://iracda.ucsd.edu/iracda.ucsd.edu/SD_IRACDA.html Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: San Diego State University
Coordinator: Desiree Salazar, Ph.D.
Tel: 619-594-6518
E-mail: dsalazar@mail.sdsu.edu

Patricia G. Calarco, Ph.D.
University of California, San Francisco
Graduate Division
1675 Owens Street STE 310
Campus Mail Box 0523
San Francisco, CA 94143-0523
Tel: 415-514-4852
Fax: 415-514-0844
E-mail: pat.calarco@ucsf.edu
Web: http://postdocs.ucsf.edu/postdoctoral/isis Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: San Francisco State University
Coordinator: Jennifer Breckler
Tel: 415-338-2340
E-mail: jbreck@sfsu.edu
Coordinator: Raymond Esquerra
Tel: 415-338-3444
E-mail: esquerra@sfsu.edu

GEORGIA

Douglas C. Eaton, Ph.D.
Emory University School of Medicine
Department of Physiology
Atlanta, GA 30322-3110
Tel: 404-727-7410
Fax: 404-727-2648
E-mail: deaton@emory.edu
Web: http://www.physiology.emory.edu/FIRST Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Clark Atlanta University
Coordinator: Marjorie Campbell
Tel: 404-880-6190
E-mail: mcampbell@cau.edu
Partner Institution: Morehouse College
Coordinator: J.K. Haynes
Tel: 404-614-3796
E-mail: jkhaynes@morehouse.edu
Partner Institution: Morehouse School of Medicine
Coordinator: Ward Kirlin
Tel: 404-752-1709
E-mail: wkirlin@msm.edu
Partner Institution: Spelman College
Coordinator: Albert Thompson
Tel: 404-270-5750
E-mail: athompso@spelman.edu

ILLINOIS

Lawrence J. Henschen, Ph.D.
Northwestern University
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Evanston, IL 60208
Tel: 847-491-3338
Fax: 847-491-4455
E-mail: henschen@eecs.northwestern.edu
Web: http://nuagepwebserver.cs.northwestern.edu/nustart Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Northeastern Illinois University
Coordinator: David Farmer
Tel: 773-442-5849
E-mail: a-farmer2@neiu.edu

KANSAS

Blake R. Peterson, Ph.D.
University of Kansas, Lawrence
Department of Medicinal Chemistry
2034 Becker Drive
Lawrence, KS 66047
Tel: 785-864-8156
Fax: 785-864-8141
E-mail: brpeters@ku.edu
Web: http://www2.ku.edu/~iracda Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Haskell Indian Nations University
Coordinator: Carole Tomlinson
Tel: 785-749-8404
E-mail: ctomlinson@haskell.edu

MASSACHUSETTS

Claire Moore, Ph.D.
Tufts University
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
136 Harrison Avenue
Boston, MA 02111
Tel: 617-636-6935
Fax: 617-636-0337
E-mail: claire.moore@tufts.edu
Web: http://sackler.tufts.edu/Academics/Non-Degree-Programs/Postdoctoral-Training/TEACRS-Postdoctoral-Program Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Bunker Hill Community College
Coordinator: Robert Steeper
Tel: 617-228-3322
E-mail: rsteeper@bhcc.mass.edu
Partner Institution: Pine Manor College
Coordinator: Susan Bear
Tel: 617-731-7144
E-mail: bearsusan@pmc.edu
Partner Institution: University of Massachusetts, Boston
Coordinator: Brian White
Tel: 617-287-6630
E-mail: brian.white@umb.edu

NEW JERSEY

Gary Brewer, Ph.D.
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
675 Hoes Lane West, Room 736
Piscataway, NJ 08854-5635
Tel: 732-235-3473
Fax: 732-235-5223
E-mail: brewerga@rwjms.rutgers.edu
Web: http://rwjms.umdnj.edu/research/postdoc/inspire Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Medgar Evers College of CUNY
Coordinator: Edward Catapane, Ph.D.
Tel: 718-270-6203
E-mail: catapane@mec.cuny.edu
Partner Institution: New Jersey City University
Coordinator: Cindy Arrigo
Tel: 201-200-2341
E-mail: carrigo@njcu.edu

NEW MEXICO

Angela Wandinger-Ness, Ph.D.
University of New Mexico
Department of Pathology
School of Medicine
MSC 08-640
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Tel: 505-272-1459
Fax: 505-272-5186
E-mail: wness@unm.edu
Web: http://hsc.unm.edu/research/brep/ASERT.shtm Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Central New Mexico Community College
Coordinator: Clarissa Sorenson-Unruh
E-mail: csorensen@cnm.edu
Partner Institution: New Mexico State University
Coordinator: Susan Ceppi-Bussmann
Tel: 575-646-4820
E-mail: suceppib@nmsu.edu
Partner Institution: Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute
Coordinator: Christopher Harrington
Tel: 505-346-2364
E-mail: christopher.harringt@bie.edu

NEW YORK

Dianne Cox, Ph.D.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Bronx, NY 10451
Tel: 718-430-4005
Fax: 718-430-8996
E-mail: dianne.cox@einstein.yu.edu
Web: http://www.einstein.yu.edu/research/bettr-iracda Link to external Web site
Partnering Institution: Hostos Community College, CUNY
Coordinator: Nelson Nunez Rodriguez
Tel: 718-518-4137
E-mail: nnrodriguez@hostos.cuny.edu
Partnering Institution: Lehman College
Coordinator: Liesl Jones
Tel: 718-960-8653
E-mail: liesl.jones@lehman.cuny.edu

Jorge Benach, Ph.D.
Stony Brook University
130 Life Sciences
Stony Brook, NY 11794
Tel: 631-632-4225
Fax: 631-632-4294
E-mail: jorge.benach@stonybrook.edu
Web: http://www.stonybrookmedicine.edu Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Brooklyn College 
Coordinator: Louise Hainline, Ph.D.
Tel: 718-951-5610
E-mail: louiseh@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Partner Institution: SUNY Old Westbury
Coordinator: Duncan A. Quarless, Jr., Ph.D.
Tel: 516-876-2734 or 2706
E-mail: quarlessD@oldwestbury.edu
Partner Institution: Suffolk County Community College
Coordinator:  Candice J. Foley, Ph.D.
Tel: 631-451-4302
E-mail: foleyc@sunysuffolk.edu

NORTH CAROLINA

Linda Dykstra, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Behavioral Neuroscience Program; Department of Psychology
214 Bynum Hall, CB 3270
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3720
Tel: 276-744-7619
E-mail: ldykstra@unc.edu
Web: http://spire.unc.edu Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: North Carolina A&T State University
Coordinator: Mary Smith (Biology)
Coordinator: Margaret Kanipes (Chemistry)
Tel: 336-285-2160
E-mail: smithma@ncat.edu
Partner Institution: North Carolina Central University
Coordinator: Greg Cole
Tel: 919-530-6034
E-mail: gcole@nccu.edu
Partner Institution: Johnson C. Smith University
Coordinator: Tim Champion
Tel: 704-378-1155
E-mail: tchampion@jcsu.edu
Partner Institution: University of North Carolina at Pembroke
Coordinator: Robert Poage
Tel: 910-522-5745
E-mail: bob.poage@uncp.edu

Allyn C. Howlett, Ph.D.
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Department of Physiology and Pharmacology
One Medical Center Blvd.
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
Tel: 336-716-8545
Fax: 336-713-1545
E-mail: ahowlett@wakehealth.edu
Web: http://graduate.wfu.edu/PostDoc Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Winston-Salem State University
School of Health Sciences
Coordinator: Teresa Conner-Kerr
Tel: 336-750-2193
E-mail: connerkerrt@wssu.edu
College of Arts and Sciences
Coordinator: Azeez Aileru
Tel: 336-761-5899
E-mail: aaileru@wssu.edu

PENNSYLVANIA

Yvonne J. Paterson, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania
Department of Microbiology
3610 Hamilton Walk
323A Johnson Pavilion
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6076
Tel: 215-898-9160
Fax: 215-573-4312
E-mail: yvonne@mail.med.upenn.edu
Web: http://www.med.upenn.edu/pennport Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Delaware County Community College
Coordinator: John Agar
Tel: 610-359-5082
E-mail: jagar@dccc.edu
Partner Institution: Lincoln University
Coordinator: John O. Chikwem
Tel: 484-365-8143
E-mail: jchikwem@lincoln.edu
Partner Institution: Rutgers University at Camden
Coordinator: Daniel Shain
Tel: 856-225-6312
E-mail: dshain@camden.rutgers.edu

TEXAS

Gayle R. Slaughter, Ph.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
Department of Cell Biology
One Baylor Plaza
Houston, TX 77030-3498
Tel: 713-798-6644
Fax: 713-798-6325
E-mail: gayles@bcm.edu
Web: http://www.bcm.edu/diversityprograms/iracda Link to external Web site
Participating Institution: Prairie View A&M University
Coordinator: Gloria Regisford
Tel: 936-261-3165
E-mail: gcregisford@pvamu.edu
Participating Institution: St. Thomas University
Coordinator: John Palasota
Tel: 713-525-6918
E-mail: japalaso@stthom.edu
Participating Institution: University of Houston Downtown
Coordinator: Jerry Johnson
Tel: 713-221-2720
E-mail: johnsonj@uhd.edu

Jenny Brodbelt, Ph.D.
University of Texas at Austin
1 University Station A5300
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Austin, TX 78712
Tel: 512-471-0028
Fax: 512-471-8696
E-mail: jbrodbelt@cm.utexas.edu
Web: http://core.cm.utexas.edu Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Southwestern University
Coordinator: Emily Niemeyer, Ph.D
Tel: 512-863-1721
E-mail: niemeyee@southwestern.edu
Partner Institution: St. Edward’s University
Coordinator: Eamonn Healy, Ph.D.
Tel: 512-448-8467
E-mail: healy@stedwards.edu

VIRGINIA

Paul B. Fisher, Ph.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University
Department of Human and Molecular Genetics
1101 East Marshall Street
Sanger Hall Building, Room 11-015
Richmond, VA 23298-0033
Tel: 804-828-9632
Fax: 804-827-1124
E-mail: pbfisher@vcu.edu
Web: http://www.healthdisparities.vcu.edu/?id=1346&sid=10 Link to external Web site
Partner Institution: Elizabeth City State University
Coordinator: Ephraim Gwebu
Tel: 252-335-3232
E-mail: egwebu@gmail.com
Partner Institution: Virginia State University
Coordinator: Leslie Whiteman
Tel: 804-524-5722
E-mail: lwhiteman@vsu.edu
Partner Institution: Virginia Union University
Coordinator: Anthony Madu
Tel: 804-257-5614
E-mail: amadu@vuu.edu

Related Information

This page last reviewed on March 20, 2014